Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Scattered showers with 100% chance of BLISS

Started off on a rough foot. One of those “I know this is good for me, but dangit, just not feeling like it today,,,,”

BUT, like I keep trying to tell Burnout, “don’t quit, keep sloggin’ even when you feel defeated.” and so I pushed out, spent a minute getting a feel for the water, then turned east and paddled on.

And some Angel was thinking of me,,, Found this in the first 100yards.

Click to embiggen

Yeah,,, that feeling I had of “I dunwanna” vaporized and I had a shit-eating grin on me face.   I know it wasn’t directed at me in particular, just someone putting up something sweet to the world at large.  It sure hit home with me today,,,,

No power paddlin’ today, easy does it was the key.  only paddled about 4 miles in total, never exceeded 4.5 and I think that was from some following waves giving me a push: I sure wasn’t pushing,,,,

Average speed was low 3.xxish,,, with lots of sitting in place and checking things out.

Like this

I found that cool as shit and my pictures do it no justice.   The big rock on the right is surrounded by DEEP water, and the channel between,,,, I pushed my paddle in as far as it would go, and didn’t hit bottom.   Waves coming in formed a zig-zag pattern, almost herring bone like and fun to paddle through.

Lots of slow rolling swells today, LOTS of boat traffic and thier wakes, so there was some choppy chaos as well, but nothing BlueJean doesn’t laugh at (Hell, I think she would laugh at a tsunami wave,,,,)   New skirt made a world of difference in my drystate.  Everything from nipples down was bone dry (other than sweat that is)  Even after THIS,,,,

only lasted 10-15 minutes, but what was outside of that skirt was flat drenched.  Head and shoulders dripping water wet,

AND I WAS IN HEAVEN.  (honestly, the feeling was like that of a Baptism.)

After that little soaking, my relaxation levels were near the “find a shore, bust out hammock and take a nap” level,,,, I could have easily fallen fast asleep sitting right there in that kayak, I was so relaxed.

But I didn’t,,, enjoy it consciously, keep paddlin’ and smell the flowers.   And there were plenty of great smells to soak in .  Blackberries are blooming, some honey suckle are starting to bloom out, the wet pines along all the shores, clean water smells: BLISS!!!

Paddled for another hour after that little shower before taking a little break for hydraulic pressures.  Sitting there smelling, watching soaking it all in, when I heard the low rumbles in the distance.   The actual storm is so close, I can’t make out the thunderhead, but the clouds are that streaked grey/silver of high moisture climbing to the stratosphere.   

I’ll paddle in rain,

I don’t paddle in electrical storms, unless I get caught by surprise, and then only enough to get off the water.

Load my stupendously relaxed carcass back in the kayak and make for the put-in.   As I was putting BJ on the Buff, the temp started falling fast and the winds were picking up.   GOOD TIMING.

I only wish my descriptions of the day didn’t feel so inadequate,,,   Definitely a case of “Shoulda been there” and I do wish you could all join me ‘at church’,,,  More people need to do as similar as they can, and maybe things of this world could be different.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.