Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Some thoughts about,,,

Fast futures n such from Sarah

Good advice about teaching the kids, but something more about us greybeards is where my thoughts went while reading.

Back at the beginning of the Covidiocy, I had a 1926 southbend engine lathe that I sold,,, In hindsight, worst thing I did, but at the time, seemed like the right thing to do,,, Anyways, the guy I sold it to was a machinist of the new order: in other words, a computer programmer, not an actual machinist. Most of those going through those schools now don’t actually machine anything, they use computer programs to take a design from CAD and adapt it to CAM and the ‘robot’ does all the actual cuts.

Well, this guy was ‘seeing’ that there were steps missing these days and wanted to learn the old ways of doing and when he saw my machine listed, decided that was the way to go. I can’t argue his logic since mine was quite similar when I started that part of my self-education. Mine was more along the lines of ‘someday, maybe, these computers are going to become irreplacable and the machines will stop, but the demands won’t’: sort of “The Postman” inspired thinks, (read the book if you haven’t,,, Interesting spin on AI in there,,,) Fact is, there were ways of doing things that the machines can’t replicate because there are more steps involved and holding features that aren’t readily adaptable to automation. The automation makes machine work of fine dimensions scalable like they never had back when; that doesn’t mean they are all things that can be done by the click of a mouse though.

Metal casting is another of those things that can be automated to a point,,,, Even making the patterns can be done through 3D printing, but making the molds??? Still need the sandcrabs for that in almost all cases. That was another aspect of my self-education that I went through, and in three cases, ‘saved the day’ since the parts I cast were not available for love or money, or if they were able to be found would have been so exorbitant in cost as to make the unit being repaired, essentially worthless without it. (that last was the side cover on an old motorcycle. The old unit was gouged and cracked from an accident. a little bondo and some creative hammer work and the old case became the pattern for the new. Some milling work for the faces and tapping bolt holes,,, New case for a whole lot less than a replacement of a 30YO bike.)

Sarah states that we need to teach the kids “multiple streams of income, paying hobbies, critical thinking,’ etc etc. I totally agree, and I try to do this with those ‘kids’ I work with since I am not aroung yung’uns’ that much. (other than Bub, but he is 4: a little, short attention span, high energy generator that isn’t ready for that sort of thing, yet,,,) The real problem with those I have access to, is countering 12 years of mal-education and mis-information. We need to get to those that are just entering the ‘system’ before the damage is done.

And I see signs of ‘public’ education starting as low as 3 years now,,, Pre-K stuff, one even touted as Pre-Pre-school,,, and State ran, so my hackles went into spasm mode when I saw the sign. That aspect is geared to those that are so overwhelmed by the state of the State, that they see it as an option to ‘daycare’ so they can make more money to keep paying the system that is destroying their very lives,,, But its hard to explain that to someone so indoctrinated into the myth and not wanting to open their eyes/mind to that reality.

I dunno,,, Its a daunting task to raise one kid, let alone an entire generation when “the system” has been so commandeered and hacked for exactly the opposite,,,, Francis points out exactly how this played out over the last hundred years. Ugly, truthful, and completely reversible IF, and only if, the FAMILY sees the issue and sticks together. (and my banner for the Tuttle Twins books is a good start for those that are seriously looking for options,,,,)

Alright, enough jof me on my ‘favorite soapbox’ and onto living me life as I see fit. Maybe bump into some stranger and have another eye opening conversation and start the conversion of another ‘future radical’ against the state. Or just paddle along some shoreline and watch the world as it really is, being itself and nothing else. I’ll take either, with a grin on my face, at this point.

One response

  1. Nice work today Dio. It’s certainly a strange new world we’ve found ourselves in. I’m glad my kid is grown – it was hard enough navigating parenting in the 90’s and early 00’s, I can’t imagine what new parents will be going through in the decade to come.
    On the skills vs. machines, you are on the mark. I grew up with a father that was a master craftsman in woodworking, who’d learned the trade from a handful of older German immigrants. Later in life I went to work in a HUGE commercial cabinet & fixtures shop and MOST of the “journeymen” employed there could run ONE machine. Most of them couldn’t actually build anything. That was nearly 20 years ago, I suspect it’s much worse now.
    It’s gonna be an exciting ride over the next decade!

    Liked by 1 person

    June 10, 2023 at 11:06 am