Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

The world as asylum

No politickian stuff today .

I had a 9mm round pass within inches of my head tonight, while pushing the gun out of my face. It was close enough I felt the flash burn on the side of my face, and there are bullet holes in my truck.

I don’t want to say too much as the other person involved is being held for attempted murder and wanton endangerment and there WILL be a trial.

No matter what else can be said about this year, I think most anyone can say it has brought out the absolute worst in society as a whole. I saw that first hand tonight; up close and VERY personal like. For what I think is the first time in my life, I have never been so relieved to see flashing blue lights. That a deputy was driving by was serendipitous, the local PD showed up several minutes later, in part from my 9-1-1 call and more from the deputy calling it in (IMO).

And I still don’t blame the gun. To place the blame on a inert object is psychotic. The real weapon is the mind behind the hand holding whatever inert object was chosen as the tool. In this case, I really do not believe the mind was all there. That doesn’t excuse the guys actions under the circumstances, but it doesn’t push the blame to the tool, either.

I’m alive and unharmed. But I won’t just let this slide either. Civility MUST be maintained, even when the world becomes an asylum. Maybe more so.

4 responses

  1. Call T. Don

    In light of any upcoming trial, do you really want to post this to a public site?

    Like

    October 15, 2020 at 10:18 pm

    • Thats all I am posting about it. No other details forthcoming.

      Like

      October 15, 2020 at 10:23 pm

  2. Call T. Don

    Oh, and glad to hear it turned out without significant bodily harm to you. My first thought was a default to logic and concern for you from here. Takes time for my empathy side to catch up sometimes. Came from the factory that way I guess.

    Like

    October 16, 2020 at 10:06 am

    • ROFL. no worries. In this day in age the concern to CYA tends to strong.

      Like

      October 16, 2020 at 10:25 am