Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

dawdling till the war with weeds can continue

I don’t like mowing when the sun is high in the sky.  Its 5pm now and the sun is still ‘too high’ for my liking.   Mostly, I don’t wanna get burned up by it while I am busting my hump ‘for free’: no income for this crap, just home duties that we all take on.

Picked up a couple gallons for the ‘stash’ to feed the beast so should get through a couple of months before that needs replinished.   She gets thirtsty, but we don’t do this all that often.   I spend more on the ‘beer thirty’ stuff than the gas anymore; even with gas being $3.25/gallon.

Trying to have positive thoughts on ‘mota-sickles’ as they are called around here.   Gotta watch it while driving too: I already rubberneck vehicles carrying kayaks, and now I am rubbernecking the two-wheelers again.  ( I think I always have, just noticed it again today.)   Too many distractions, right?    But yah, that urge for speed, wind, and sounds is calling me again.  The sirens song of open pipes on a v-twin: so much different from a vertical twin or inline four,,,,(I’ve had those too.  Did a LOT of riding back in my post Marine days.   Killed a few bikes learning the hard way.)

More akin to my internal frequencies I think.  

Kayak race this Satyrday.  Start line time for my bracket is 10am.  My bracket this year is “Seniors”,,, ROFLMAO,,,,   55+ and I just made the grade.   Probably gonna get my butt stomped by some 70yo retiree that has oodles of time to play and stay in shape.  ‘S’all good,,,  Won’t be the first time.   Not like I am in it for the win: just wanna get out and have some fun and meet people that like the same things, even if they are hard lefties (usually, go figure)  We at least have the common ground of ‘Kayak’, and can use that.    No need for political drama when you are discussing hull shape advantages or the finer art of Greenland paddles; both in use and making of.  Just as long as they leave the “better than thou” at home.   Had one of those at a race and they made quick enemies all around.  Doesn’t matter if I am paddling a couple hundred dollar used boat and they are in some 8grand speedster, as long as they don’t act ‘I’m all above that’, look down the nose, snootish snob.  We both still have to sit to shit, and shit doesn’t smell like roses, no matter how much more you are worth.

And while I am not in it ‘for the win’, I do intend on doing a might bit better than I did last year.   I took 7 of 9 last year.  I would prefer to be at least in the top half this year.  And I am taking Lyssa for her speed factor.   BlueJean is just drag-assed enough that I would be harder pressed to make that happen.   I had considered taking NORDKAPP, but she isn’t ready yet.  still has this gaping hole in top and I put her up so that I could concentrate on getting Selkie done up for Brudda B.  (Which is progressing nicely now that the weather is a bit more considerate for outside work with epoxies and glues. I hope to be able to deliver her when we first go camping this year.)

Ok, its getting on that time where I need to fire up the whirling guillotine of weed death.  

And mamakat wants foodies,,,,   gluttonous feline,,,,

more laters, keep on livin’

Comments are closed.