Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Fairweather only

And that is NOT acceptable.

What am I talking about?

Of all things, a bloody bow, go figure.

Had everything dialed in yesterday evening, even checked the ‘loaded’ arrows. Nice tight group at 35 yds. Happy happy me.  

This evening, went over to Cuz’s house to shoot a few rounds and some bull session time, everything started good. We even shot a couple through paper, just to check: bullet holes with no tear.  I was a touch high on my ranges, but dead in line.  Simple fix, just adjust the sight a hair lower by range.

Then the temps started to fall.  Was above 60 when I went there, and was above 60 the day before while sighting in. By the time it was 50, I was hitting low and right.  As the temps fell further, that shifted to low (lower) and left.  Both of us looked the bow over and could find nothing out of whack.  Rest is sitting good, everything tight, nothing obvious. I then shot one of the broadheads at his request and damned it that thing didn’t plane all over like a curve ball from a major league pitcher.

Back to the porch and the paper.  Hard tear at a 45ºdown and right.  Not three hours  before was shooting bulletholes.  Quick check again showed nothing.  Set the bow inside on a couch across from the stove and sat outside discussing it.  Half hour later, paper shot again and another bullet hole.

This is not acceptable for a bow I intend on hunting with.

And I have to accept that I got what I paid for, IE, someone else’s problem became mine.

I haven’t made up my mind on the direction I will take on this matter as yet.  But something will be changing.

I have seen something like this before, where slight temp changes induced shifts in form.  It was on a car, and as it warmed up, a perfectly machined head would ‘warp’ just enough to cause coolant leaks.  Drove us nuts until we replaced that head with a factory unit.  I wouldn’t be surprised if this bow had been dropped at some point and stressed the riser and as temps drop, exacerbate the stress.  If that is the case, a new bow would be the frugal rout instead of trying to find a new riser from the dealer. This bow is long long time out of production, and the newer models are all the parallel limb style. (I may just break down and buy that Bear Wild I had my eye on and then attempt to sell this one off. A thought, but I haven’t  decided yet)

More later,,

 grumble mumble cuss cuss cuss, grrrr.

Leave a Reply

