Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

More bow stuf

Managed setting up three groupsbof arrows that work for my set up, one feild point for practice/comp, one for recurve only, and a set of three that are strictly broadhead.

Then I went through the whole re-ranging my slider sight.  Found something interesting while doing so. This setup of now and arrows responds quite similar to a 30-30/7.62×39 ballistically though on a shorter scale.  The first range is further apart than the next two marks, than the next two are the aame width apart, and the last mark is WAY up the scale.  So the 10yd is further from the 20 than the 20 is feom the 30.  30, 40, and 50 are noticeably similar then 60 is way near the top of the scale.  And the mid marks are like lookingat a slide rule: kinda.  The mid mark is closer  to the 10 mark than the 20 on the low end and a whole lot closer to the 60 than the 50 on the high end.  The spread is much tighter in the middle of course. 

The arrow just falls into the target at 60 yds. Very similar to the way a 30-30 seemingly falls out of the sky after 250 yards.  Lots of speed and energy out to that, than ‘Woof! Tha’s enough o’that.’ The AK round is nearly identical in ballistic reaction to the 30-30.

I guess my preference for real honest to God feathers over vanes has a little to do with that. Maybe tomorrow I will throw some of the vaned arrows down range, just to see if I am right.  I still have a half dozen I never fletched up (hell, I ain’t ever shot ’em at all) so I have more playing around I can do.

Anyways, I thought it was interesting to see the ballistic picture show up so distinctly on my scale.

P.S.: And yes, I checked the broadheads for matched shooting to the FPs.  They shoot just a hair higher, but dead on track (pun intended) as the FPs.  Granted, the FPs are on 31″ shafts while the BH are on 29″.  Only a little difference in weight, but that means a little faster as well.  

Leave a Reply

