Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Book report and observations 

Bought Matthew Brackens recent addition to his line up (kindle version) and read it front to back in less than 24 hours.  Good damned read, period!  One his best with a huge amount of character development in a short amount of space.  (His characters always develop out well, but this is the first book where so many do very quickly).

There is also a historical bend within the story that he explains at the end.  Its actually quite important, not so much to the story, but to current events in the real world.  Make sure you follow up on it if you aren’t already aware of it.  I feel it may be a critical point in assessing future potential of world events.

Now, observations: phone conversation gelled up some of my thoughts.  A big issue in these parts is propaganda.  Part of the problem is NPR.  Its the most prevalent source of information in these parts.  Not everyone has cable or satellite, but everyone has a radio and NPR is about the only signal you can get consistently.  In fact, from my location I can get three different frequencies of NPR, each about a minute apart in signal delay, yet can get only one private source cleanly.  NPR being a college based system, and the take over of acadamia by the leftie/progressives, its little surprise that many whose only source of information is NPR tend to think certain figureheads are flat evil. I get my information through more sources and a broader spectrum of thought than just that one source. I listen at times to the shit (and it is shit) spewed on NPR, knowing from other sources how edited what is being broadcast, either through creative editing or just flat out omission, and have just one thought.  Clinton rules of engagement.  Any one who remembers the mess in the Baltic and what Prez Clinton authorized as legitimate targets of combat should understand my statement.

The only problem with that is it is not a cure, its just removing a symptom.  Like using a fever reducer while the body is fighting an infection.  It might ‘help’, but it won’t fix the problem.

With that last paragraph, we bring up the question of “Then what is the problem?”.  Its a little too late to bring up the myriad issues of that, but the key problem at source is people in general. Far to many want the easy fix.  Far to many want someone else to carry the burden of choice (burden of leadership). Far to many just want the reward, without the consequence of earning it.

I hear it often enough when discussing my place.  Solar and windpower, isolated water source, wood heating and natural cooling.  People want to know what they have to do to ‘reduce their footprint on the grid’.  My answer hasn’t changed in 4years: change your lifestyle.  You have to give up certain luxuries to gain the peace of mind of self reliance.  And its WORK, even after you get there.

They never want to hear that and more times than I care to think about, I have heard ‘well I can’t live like that’.  Nope, no you can’t, you quit before you even tried.  And it makes me wonder how that person is going to react when things really fall apart. My preps are dual natured; I prep for when things go loud, and for when things go quiet.  By that I mean for when (not if) the world attempts to suicide, or for when things break down so far, everything goes quiet.  I ha’jokingly say that my spread IS my retirement.  I know with all certainty that by the time I am of retirement age, there will not be any of those things that current retirees have.  No SSI, 401k’s pilfered, etc.  I fully accept the fact that my ‘retirement’ will be a working one, and my endeavors are towards that end: how to reduce my dependency on a system that is showing signs of imminent collapse.  Power, self produced/collected.  Water, isolated collection and storage as well as treatment (no flourides).  Sewage, is simply a septic system.  House is exceptionally well insulated and designed for airflow for cooling.  Heat is renewable hardwoods (with more than enough available for my needs)  I have a back up genny (3 actually) but have not needed them after the initial build.  I will need my Onan 4k for running my welder later and am keeping in mind that alternative fuels are likely to be needed to keep it operational.  

Lifestyle MUST change if seeking self reliance.  It is not optional.  The less the change, the higher the cost financially, but even with unlimited cash, there will still need to be some change.  You have to change the way you look at things.  Use, use up, repair, adapt, repurpose, etc etc.  You can not keep looking at the world and its materials as a disposable commodity if you want to be self reliant.  You need to learn skills that seem daunting at first.  And the more you learn, the more you realize you don’t know, and that you need access to others in some areas of knowledge/skill/ability.  

For myself, that “lacking” is in peoples.  I am not a people person, despite what some will tell you.  I ‘fake it’ well for short periods, but in most cases, 48 hours and I am ready to start slitting throats.  It takes a special type of person for me to claim as friend and accept for longer periods.  Knowing this, I have been investing in a “buffer” friendship.  He has the skills with the people and is acceptable to me as a friend and AND understands that I have a extremely short fuse when exposed to stupidity.

#########

Ok, this has turned into more of a rant than anything else, so I think I will cut it short.  First up, buy, beg borrow or steal a copy of Matts book.  Enjoy it and think on some of the scenarios he describes.  Some of its available online at his site but, believe me, those are just teasers. 

Second off, look pat the disruptive narratives from the District of Criminals and see what is NOT being talked about.  (Hint wha’s goin’ on in Europe.)

Leave a Reply

