Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Been one of those posts

Was writing yesterday and was ready to post when heavy thumbs hit “delete” instead of “publish”.  It’s curious as to why those buttons are side by side and not separated.  

Things that make ya go ‘hmmm’.

Anywhoos, I jinxed myself by publishing “Lack of ain’t the problem”.  Since that post went up, we have had, almost but not quite, a drought in these parts. The water table has dropped low enough that my water tank is not filling as fast as my usage.  I have had to adjust my usage so its not an issue, yet.  If this dry spell doesn’t shift soon, I am going to have to supplement my water supply in other ways.  Hauling water to my tank is not fun, but it is do-able. There is a publicly accessed spring on the other side of town that never goes dry, and if need be, thats one option, I have a couple of ’em.

There is a silver lining though. Fact is, my tank had a couple of small leaks (and that dropped the level low enough that I got worried) but without having to drain the tank, I have been able to repair those leaks. Those plastic tanks are tough, but stray turkey shot does put a hole in ’em.  The one disadvantage of a tank in the middle of the woods is that it may take an occasional hit when hunting season is in full bore.

For those curious, I used a Permatex product

This seems to work quite well, but of course, its too early to be truly convinced.  I was happy that it bonded to the inside of the tank even though it was damp.  A little scuffing with sand paper and it grabbed hold pretty well.  I did drill out the hole where the shot went in, just to make a better surface for the epoxy and to give it a bit more body.  I left a mushroom head of epoxy on the inside to further resist ‘blowout’ once the water level gets back up.

Now, where’s that book on Cherokee rain dances?

Leave a Reply

