Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

“Lack of” ain’t the problem

Water that is.  

We get more than enough throughout the year, the problem becomes more, how to keep things dry.  I am not certain about numbers, but have heard that this area is only an inch or so shy of being considered a rain forest area.  Keeping things dry becomes very important in such an area.  I have personally seen where water was so prevalent that it leeched the treatment out of treated lumber causing it to rot within a year of installation.

Ambient humidity like swampland. Mists that appear in hollows thick as smoke  (smokey mountains? Duh! ) (actually 100 miles apx north but close enough). Intermittent springs that pop up immediately after storms, spewing water a foot or two in the air.  And those ‘travel’ , sometimes at this point next time 10 feet away, or not at all, unpredictably.

Earlier this year, I had one of those springs develop UNDER my house.  We ended up digging a 6′ trench around the uphill side and installed 4″ drainage and a thick layer of three inch crushed stone in an attempt to reroute it.  In digging, we found that my house is located on top of a huge sheet of clay about 2’down.  The surface water coming down hill, accumulates on that clay and starts looking for easier channels out.  When you get a couple of inches of rain dropped on you in a short amount of time, that water builds up fast and  will find a way out.  That one time, it found a way out under my house, and made one helluva mess.  Luckily I didn’t get a bad problem with that spring.  Some damp wood, but it has dryed out since we put the drainage in.  Nothing warped that I  can see.  The situation could have been much much worse.  

Its not a bad thing to have too much water I guess, but it does require a certain amount of adjustment.  Keeping materials dry requires more thought and preparation.  Things like blackpowder, brake fluid, and even alcohol, are hydroscopic: They absorb moisture right out of the air.  Considering I don’t have any climate control in my home, I have to take extra steps in storing these items.  Even keeping guns clean can be ‘interesting’.  I found CLP is a no-no here because it absorbs moisture, causing the iron parts to rust.  Instead, I have to spray the parts down with brake cleaner after I clean them properly, then spray them with a silicon lube.  I use graphite for the sliding parts and everything seems to work alright. (Miserly note: buy 5b art pencils at office depot. Cheaper by far than spray graphite tubes.)

Heres something that the ‘Nam vets will probably recall as well.  Keeping your feet dry.  I haven’t had any issues, but one of the kids where I work ended up with a case of foot rot from wet feet.  Nasty.  There are other areas where that can be an issue too. Crotch, arm pits, as well as the hindside crack.  

Yah, ‘lack of’ isn’t the problem.

One response

  1. Pingback: Been one of those posts | Dio's Workshop

Leave a Reply

