Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Ya may have guessed,

But I have pretty much written off that story for the now.  It has merits, but with the shift in my living arrangements, my interest has lagged.  (A good reason I don’t write professionally, I would hate it, I am quite certain.)

Good note of things though, my lungs are coming back on line with a quickness, my resting pulse rate is back in the 60bpm range, and my BP is back where it should be.  I ain’t 100% yet, but, having the time and a pesky blue-eyed mutt, I am getting there. Sadly, the tick infestation this year is outright horrid, so we havent been in the woods as much as Voo would like and prefer.  Just walkin’the drive and roads, and maybe the woods if its really super wet out.  Still have to give myself and Voo a good looking over and will still find a few on me.  I ALWAYS find ’em on Voo but he gets out in the brush no matter where we walk.

Work is there to be had and I am getting to the point where I may need to turn some away or lose myself in the ratrace again.    Not quite yet, but  I see the potential approaching.  I aint bitchin about it, believe me, but getting back in health and having way more daylight hours to play in, is inticing enough that I don’t wanna give it up.  Still need to get the shop up and that will take a decent amount of sweat equity on my part (not to mention a obscenely large amount of FRNs. Well, at least obscene from my perspective.) Biggest thing of that is the concrete pad.  I have actually been able to start cutting clay out and laying out a block boundry.  I will cement those up when I get it laid in, then will work on the funds for several yards of ‘crete.  All else will be as hill jacked and recycled as a large portion of my house was.  (Its amazing the quality of stuff you can pull from old barns that the yuppies no longer think is cool and now want off their property. And they oft times even PAY you to get rid of the stuff! LOL)

As things are progressing in my wayward, vagabond, mercenarian subcontractor lifestyle, the shop MUST take precedence. There are at least two of my customers that would happily pay me for machining/mekaniking work to facilitate their businesses.  Funny thing is, I weld at one place, that sells what I weld to the other place where I am framing small buildings.  Those buildings incorporate my weld jobs to make semi-portable kennels.  And I just collect the pay and let them deal with all the headaches of customer support.  
(Yeah, it may be a figurative prostitution, but my customers are happy and I am as well.  They stop paying to my satisfaction and I walk away; my performance becomes lacking, they stop calling. Easy peasy and that is what a truly free market should be like.)

Anywhoos, for those that keep checking back on the story, currently it is MIA, and its not hopeful of return.  Stranger things have happened, but this one hit the skids for too long IMO.  My apologies.

2 responses

  1. Snake

    The story was nice (damned good, actually) but it pales in comparison to ongoing health and survival. keep on keeping on.

    April 28, 2017 at 12:54 pm

    • Keeping the old pump and bellows going definitely seemed higher priority to m’self. While the death of the story is most definitely on me, looking back it was also from lack of response. Even a ” think this section coulda been worded better” would have been nice inluie of the crickets I was hearing.

      April 28, 2017 at 1:43 pm

Leave a Reply

