Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

On a different string

I gotta ask (rhetorically anyhows): So libtard, how is it that volunteerism doesn’t work? 

Let me tell a little story first.

It was early afternoon and I had a pot of coffee brewing.  Stepping out on the porch, I smelled a grass fire.  Nothing new this year, its been very dry all winter and the wind seems nonstop most days, but I wanted to see what direction it was in so I started looking around.

WHOO-BOY!!!! That things nearly in my yard coming down the hill.

I killed the pot and headed out the front door. I slowed only enough to grab a heavy rake and proceeded to the fire line, and started cutting a break.  Once I was sure the fire wasn’t going to get into my woodshed, I proceeded to call my dad and let him know what was going on.  I knew full well that he would spread the word faster than I and leave me to do what I could in the meantime. 

I continued making sure the fireline did not jump the creek towards my place (its dry in most places so could jump) and a few minutes later, here comes my dad, followed by my cousin (the smart one, not the waste case). Dad jumps out and pulls a Stihl leaf blower out of his truck and fires it up.  He starts blowing the leaves back into the fire creating a lean area in front of the fire line.  My cousin and I just start raking like mad a few feet in front of the fireline, making sure we expose lots of dirt.  We keep at this about 30-45 minutes and have a firebreak that extends from my place to a point alongside the drive, and for the most part, other than a few hotspots, the fire is dying.
Thats about the time the fire department showed up.  

They ran out a hose and took care of a few hotspots, but even they said it was a done deal by the time they got there.

So, there are some people that think it was not our position to take care of this.  Those same people would argue its the job of the fire department, or the police, or some politician, etc ad nauseam.

But,,,,,

If we hadn’t done something, that fire would have spread over several acres and been far more out of control by the time the FD did make the scene.  How much of that acrage may have contained homes or other real property?(quite a bit actually)

(There’s a saying in the CCW world.  When seconds count, a cop is only minutes away.  Applies to firemen as well.)

No one paid us to do this thing. 

No one asked us to step up and take care of the problem.  

No one from the city/county is going to replace the collapsed culvert in the road that  the fire destroyed. We’ll do that, without complaint or compensation.

That, is why I prefer living here vs back in the Cin-city.  Just fix it, worry about it later.

2 responses

  1. There’s no point grumbling and waiting for the guy with the wrench, because the guy with the wrench is you.
    Well done. Can’t believe nobody’s commented on this before now.

    April 19, 2017 at 3:38 pm

    • And thats the while shebang right there.
      Sadly, as shows in most all of my threads, comments are a rare thing here.
      Probably doesn’t help that my posting is erratic and sparse either.
      Good to hear from ya Joel. Give LB a love pat from Voodoo n Me

      April 19, 2017 at 2:42 pm

Leave a Reply

