Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

NPR Rasputin and You

I set up a car stereo system in the wall of my house sometime last year; y’all might remember seeing it when I was showin’ off my bookshelves n books. 

Sadly, the reception around these parts blows.  I mostly use the system with memory cards loaded up with music, or Bluetooth with my phone.(technology can be so friggin cool!)

But occasionally, I want to hear whats going on in the world.  Of the three stations I can receive, two are NPR.  One Ky central and the other KY south east.  One is on a 30 second delay from the other (which is handy if you ‘didnt quite heat that last part’ correctly)

I HATE NPR!  The  spin on pretty much everything they carry is so glaringly obvious to an individualist, it is enough to make me want to puke my guts up. But i listen to the enemy network just to get a broader picture even if I know its all spin and propaganda.  (And knowing is half the battle.) There are some good programs on there, like fresh air, where they highlight music from obscure artists.  That is how I personally discovered Sam Bush a few years back. (While hauling a sound system to a gig in Asheville.  Only station available was NPR.) Fell in love with that genre (new grass) and Sams mandolin playing in particular, on that trip.

Anywhooos,  sunday night, while I was laying out the frame for a new wing on one of my models, I had NPR on, mostly as background noise, but down low so I didn’t have to actually HEAR the shiite. Thats when it hit me.  The mix is perfect, if you want to hypnotize a person.  The slight bump with points at 200 hz and 400hz, peaking at 250 and another around 1khz for clarity is similar to the kind of mix I used when I was running MC the few times I did.  It brings out the ‘warm feeling human’ tonality that gets attention and holds it. The lower freqs are for the warmth and are harmonic to each other, the 1k bump is harmonic to 200 and 250 (4th and 5th order conversely) addiing clarity to the warmth, or as we liked to say “sibilance!” when testing mic’s.  The best way to acheive this mix is with a 7 band parametric EQ with hi/lo pass/cut filters, and 3 sweepable mids.  (What most radio stations had BEFORE 31 band graphics became so cheap.  )  These were coming back into style as I was leaving the sound scene and I absolutely fell in love with them.

I listened pretty closely for a few, then pulled up a conservative talk radio site on the phone and listened to it for a few.  Definitely a different mix; one intended for clarity only.(the added benefit of a smaller range of frequencies for broadcast)

Why?

A warm voice gives the ‘mommy’ feel, where a clear voice insinuates command or a fatherly figure.  Even the Female conservative talkers use the latter settings.

Think about that for a minute.  Add to your thoughts the current trend of ‘safe spaces’ and that ilk.

Rasputin was an advisor to the Tsar of Russia just prior to the Red Revolution in 1917. He was a hypnotist, among other things, and had full command of his boss as far as history has been written.  Add that to your thoughts as well.

Things are not what they appear.

There are insidious things happening behind the scenes, and there are people that know full well what they are doing in such scenes.

I am thinking that maybe, just maybe, I need to work on certain certs and get BACK into audio but as a radio tech, not a roadie.

2 responses

  1. Snake

    Wow. Have read up on subsonics (weapons) and subliminals (hypnotics), but never considered that the universally “schmoozy” sound of NPR announcers was a calculated measure. This is like a slap up side the head. BTW, I worked AM radio back when that was the only place to get top 40 rock and roll. 3-5 band EQ was a new big deal. You cranked up the “thud”, set treble about 3/4, and the mids , eh, about middle (who cares). Add a pinch of reverb to taste.

    March 29, 2017 at 4:47 am

    • And it was probably an old spring ‘verb unit. The ones that sounded like all hell breaking loose if you bumped into them. LOL the analog stuff is “still cool” . Would love to find an old tape echoplex unit, just-cuz.

      March 29, 2017 at 4:51 am

Leave a Reply

