Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

As the world churns, these days of our lives,

(Ht to Spud for the thought provocation)

All of you that have been around these digs awhile know some of my history.   How I was involved with the Patcons at the start, how all of that fell apart, and my subsequent retreat back to my land and my turn around here. No need to go into details or point any fingers,,water under the bridge as they say.  

But I have never quite gotten over the failures.  I know what this country was like while I was growing up and the last 20 years have seen changes like quick silver on a Teflon slope. The failures of the Patcons , as far as I am concerned,  were due to individul approaches.  Each of us wants freedom, but the very definition of such is nearly as elusive as the act itself.  No individual will have the same definition as the guy next to him.  And there are some that don’t really want freedom, but power.  And those are the ones that continually rip the freedom movement apart as well as those that seemingly “just want a hobby”.

On WRSA the other day, CA had the tagline”Let everyone sweep in front of his own door, and the whole world will be clean.” – Goethe.   That tagline says oodles about my take on what freedom is.  Ironically,  freedom in its purest form is quite restrictive, you are free to succeed or fail, as long as the only one harmed by your choices is you.

Meme’s that I keep running in the background of my head. 

And it harm none, do as ye will. (Wiccan rede)

To thine own self be true, (Shakespeare )

“I won’t be wronged, I won’t be insulted, and I won’t be laid a hand on. I don’t do these things to other people and I expect the same from them.” John Wayne

Simple libertarian doctrines, each with much heavier backlines unspoken. The NAP, Non Aggression Principle, does not mean pacifist, it just means I won’t start anything. It does mean I sure as hell will finish it though. That’s the sweeping that Goethe insinuates in the above quote.

So, how does all of this tie in to soap operas? It doesnt, not really, it’s just the fact that it took one of my readers to point out that I was being suckered in to the latest chapter of a soap. I stand on my opinions about both of the front runner candidates.  I haven’t mentioned any of the others because none of them have a chance in hell while the MSMs control the narrative. But, it’s all kabuki theater as others have said.  Even I  have said “they wouldn’t invite me over for dinner, nor I them, ” so why do I care what their opinion is (or what they say it is, ’cause chances are, they’re lying.) HRC is obviously power hungry, sociopathic, and terminally dangerous with a list.  Trump is eccentric, egotitistical, and a showman, interested more in his image than the job at hand (as seen by his rapid apology over a misrepresented incident). 

Kabuki theater, all of it.  The fact that out of 350 million people, this is the ‘best’ we get to choose from, come’on, you’re jerkin’my chain here, right?

As Henry Rollins has said “you aren’t  fit to run for office because you aren’t full of shit enough nor able to spew enough shit to get elected”.

It used to not be like this. We used to have statesmanship in our political types.  And we have immortalized those statesman in word and deed and in icons.

Kabuki theater.  Soap opera.  Like sitting through 3 hours of a Russian opera without vodka; agonizing torture that would make you willing to admit to strangling kittens if it would make the pain stop.
So, a thank you to Spud for dragging my feet from the fire with a simple tongue in cheek comment.  Thank you bro, I’ll get the first round when we finally meetup.

2 responses

  1. guy

    I won’t be wronged, I won’t be insulted, and I won’t be laid a hand on. I don’t do these things to other people and I expect the same from them.” John Wayne

    Sorry I know this is an old post, but I like this one better, “Fill your hands you son of a bitch!

    November 7, 2016 at 6:06 pm

    • That may be a saying we all use soon’nuff. If they would pay attention to the first saying, we wouldn’t need the second (double in tendré intended)

      November 8, 2016 at 11:07 am

Leave a Reply

