Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

R&D, or how failure is a learning tool

Have had the VAWT test rig in the air since last Sunday. Quite disappointed honestly.  Oh, it whirls on a whisper of air, but it’s speed never reaches anything approaching usable. This may be due to the blade width (not wide enough) angle of blade (incorrect/excessive stall angle) or any number or combination of factors, like not enough blades for this design or ,,,

Well, it’s fun as heck to watch though, mesmerizing even.  But, I am not one trifles so it will come apart while I figure something else out.  I am toying with the idea of the blades ‘slipping ‘ on a pivot so that the angle of attack shifts around as pressure is applied to the blade. More pressure on the ‘up’side and the blade shifts showing a smaller profile to the wind. I had thought about this for this unit prior, but my desire to keep things as simple as possible withheld me. I am still hesitant to try it because of my lack of dedicated workspace and the fact that the slip joints ,while mechanically simple, are complicated to reproduce accurately without my shop being functional. (Excuses excuses Dio, shuddup n get ta work.  LOL . I haven’t quit on it yet, just setting it aside for now )

So, sliding this pot toward the back of the stove to simmer a while longer. Serendipity may bring it back out front again soon, or not; will see. I have more information to work with now and that will start to spin up newer thoughts.  My muses never truly rest, they just get to romping in the back rooms of my mind, mixing things up, finding new angles, and then slipping it out to the front for me to see.  Most of its trash, but occasionally, ,,

Talk at y’all more later.  

Leave a Reply

