Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Yeah, and, uh, r u gonna finish?

A beginners guide to off grid living
Ht to Joel

I have read a few of these “guides ” and the one thing I seem to always take away from them is; “this person has never spent more than a weekend living like this”.
Off grid living is a challenge, it’s not cheap, and it is never ever finished. It is a constant job, that never seems to get done, and evolves on a constant and unpredictable basis.
It’s also a lifestyle that fits my personality type very well.  Via the Myers-Brigg personality test, I am an INTJ.  I have had others read that description and even they have said that it seemed to be written about me specifically. (Obviously wasn’t,  but it’s very much on target) and with that description in mind, others my find an answer in questions they have about me.
I digress.  I keep watching from a distance, this tiny house movement.  To me, a smaller dwelling only makes sense. Better efficiency in energy needs, and in living arrangements.  A tiny house focuses you on your needs vs desires.  You don’t really need all that junk that can be bought at the box store.  It’s intended to fill space and when you have a small space, well,,, In that sense, it’s efficient at saving money as well since you won’t be buying a lot of crap.
It also is efficient for maintenence : a little clutter looks like a huge mess in a small space, and incites one to do something about it.  And it takes so much LESS time to clean up.
But a tiny house is not for everyone. I reckon more than 2/3rd of those running that route, will abandon it within a years time, another 2/3rd remaining will sellout in 5, and the remainder will be diehards. (Like me!)
And that’s just the dwelling.  The off grid side demands even more attention to detail.
It ain’t a hunting cabin or a weekend rental.  This is my home and it has to work, everyday,  all day, and in all seasons.  That means work, and far more than just tweaking things.  Firewood, water quantity and quality, energy collection methods, etc etc etc.  And it needs knowledge, and a willingness to keep learning about many different, oft interrelated, subjects and disciplines.
For practical matters, living off grid should be done as a group.  More minds and bodies, more experience,  more resources to be spread out, but much more resilient in case of illness.  Finding said group is the challenge as myself and a few friends have found out, with second biggest challenge being ‘where’.  That is pretty much why I chose to do what and how I am doing. The where was serendipitous, like several things have been of late. It’s also one of the reasons I blog about it.  Hopefully others can benefit without the mistakes I have and likely will make. I have pretty much concluded there will be no group venture at this location.  Even with some interest shown by others, I have not seen any wherewithal in them. In addition,  I am far past the point of being able to relocate to another group without great sacrifice.  Granted,  there may came a day where that may happen, but I don’t kin to the thought of all the loss I would suffer first.
Besides, I tend to be a loner for most things, hermit if you will.  FYI the I in INTJ stands for introvert and it took a long time to “get over it” and I need to get away and recharge my personal batteries from time to time.

Anywhos, I found the article to be a tad misleading, almost a sales pitch and believe the author is a real estate sales person.  Seeing the above ratios I  mentioned, there is a real money to be had if some were shady about the reality of off grid living. 
Jes sayin’.  Not in an approving way either.

4 responses

  1. Spud

    Took the test….INT J-T
    I tells ya, we should group up lol
    Only just close enough to help each other out…not too close ha ha
    I found myself choosing grey quite often, simply because it depends on whom I’m dealing with and how well I know them, or trust them 🙂

    September 7, 2016 at 11:52 am

    • I think there are more than a few of us on this side of the aisle. Seem to be very heavy in the engineering fields as well.

      September 7, 2016 at 12:49 pm

    • I took that test when I was in mgmt at Ashland Oil. We even had a week long class on it and how it applied to daily life. I had always been skeptical of personality tests, but the description of me was so eerie in accuracy, I was convinced there was something to it.

      September 7, 2016 at 1:01 pm

    • LOL. Hey Spud, just took the online test (last time was paper form in ’94) and came up with INTJ-A. That last letter had me confused until I saw results. Makes sense with my managerial past.

      September 7, 2016 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

