Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Quittin’ early today

The humidity is driving the heat index through the danged roof.  The sun is starting to get to that angle where it’s bearing down on my work site.  (Note: my dad’s house is oriented facing west-southwest. Don’t recommend this unless you live further north.  My house is oriented on the cardinal points and I have very little issues with the late sun beating my house into submission during the summer months , while in the winter months, that sun shines right under the roof and helps warm things up.)
Anywhoo,  here are some pics to show my progress

image

Before heat stressing the warp on the top leg

image

After. Top leg only

image

How the two joints will lockup

image

Roughing in the diagonals

Ya gotta look close at the two pics  showing the warp and treatment.  At some angles, it was blatant.  I wanted that all straightened out before continuing with the bracing.
It’s getting closer to completion.  I was going to start working on the top piece today, but can’t recall if I used 2″ or 1 3/4″ pipe for the pivot point. (Oldzhiemers  is kickin’ in LOL) It’s not critical right now and that is something that can be dealt with after I pull the old one out of the sky.  I can then handle all the changes on that end and make sure everything works together.

Notice I am forgoing cutting angle in the braces on this run?  Getting lazy as well.  I think this will work just as well, and it gives me a little more meat to work with for the welding side of it.
If any of my engineer readers have anything to add or contradict, feel free to comment.   I haven’t committed to this plan just yet

2 responses

  1. Spud

    Actually I believe that method might be more rigid. Might pop a weld when it flexes, but will lesson the chance of a main tube failure ?

    August 14, 2016 at 4:24 am

    • That was along my thoughts as well. The smaller pipes’ integrity is not as compromised as an actual cut would. It isn’t as pretty, but I don’t care for pretty over function.

      August 14, 2016 at 7:57 am

Leave a Reply

