Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Welcome to the burn

Back at it again today. Hot n humid, adding to the extreme local ambient temperature with both electric arc and oxy/acetylene fires.  Goal today is to build a two fold part.  It will end up as the hinge but until then, it will be a much better jig for building the remaining truss .

image

image

 
Note, I cut down that first piece and a majority of it will be underground. It currently stands at 5feet and I want at minimum, 3 feet below ground, 4 preferred.  Gotta dig a hole soon, yay :?.
Some of the welding I am doing is not arc, but gas.  Not brazing mind you,  but old school torch and filler rod style welding . I bought a book a few years back from Lindsey Publishing (now retired God bless him) on aircraft welding.  The airframes in question were the likes of Stearman, Waco, and Cessna.  Yup, old canvas n dope biplane types.   Maybe a bygone era, but the techniques are still very useful.  And done right, better IMO than a MIG weld. (TIG is similar and likely better, but I don’t have easy access to a TIG unit.) Here is a sample of a gas weld

image

Oxy acetylene weld

Note the tanks in the back ground. They got a new set of wheels this week as well. 
Commenter (and technical advisor, former owner of my Chinese 3-1) RDP  wrote me and was relaying to me about heat shrinkage and the like. I actually had to use that trick on this small section.  When I was done getting the deep welds done, the danged thing had tightened up like a boa constrictor and had to be hammered off.  I used the butterfly attachment on my torch, heated the opposite side from the welds to lemon yellow (just shy of the point where it burns or welds) and then let things cool off naturally.  Now it slips on easy-peasy.   Now I get to cut it in half and it will be my end jigs while I build the tall sections. Still using the wood and cross pieces, but I don’t think you can have too may anchor points when building something 10’long.
After the truss is built, I will do some further work and add hinging on two legs, and a bolt point on the third. That Will be the hinge to raise this monstrosity.  Still a ways to go yet. 
As for my MIG welder,  it’s running better, but it ain’t right.  I believe one of the coils is breaking down internal and losing stepped voltage.   The amperage comes and goes, leaving me guessing if am going to be able lay a good bead or a line of birdshit.  Hey, it was pretty much free (needed some TLC) and has been with me over 10 years. May be it’s time to retire what has been a very useful tool. I am just not looking forward to laying out that level of cash right now (but I will because having a welder makes creation of other things so much simpler.)  Looking at a couple of different units and researching possible rebuild parts for my current unit.  Once I have all my research done (while working full time and babying my current welder) I will lay out what needs layer out to continue forward.

image

Just call me Burn-E

4 responses

  1. Spud

    No problem with the gas welds, you get practiced at it and the welds will rival a tig weld. Looks to me like your travel rate might be a little fast. The ripples will get more uniform and penetration will be better at a slower rate of travel I’d expect.
    Built a lot of expansion chambers back in my two stroke racing days lol. Back before you could store bought such things.
    Your pitting likely is from the galvanized pipe ( guessing ) from all the white residue. Try grinding the galvanized layer off.
    Just don’t be breathing too much of that phosgene off gassing when welding on galvanized stuff.

    August 6, 2016 at 6:03 pm

    • No doubt! Found that out the hard way back 6 years ago. Felt like he’ll for a week. Now I use a repertory if it’s not breezy, and I never weld on galvanized indoors.
      Thanks for the advice on travel speed; I weld high speed at work (30volts CDC at close to 300 amps on 12 gauge sheet. Travel rate is in feet per minute. I run through a 44 lb spool of .045″ wire in a day and a couple hours. ) so shifting gears takes a couple of runs .

      August 6, 2016 at 8:16 pm

  2. Robert Dudley

    Yea gas welding is at a much more relaxed rate 🙂

    August 7, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

