Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

And here we go,,,,

Not sure if this is the start of something cool, or the beginnings of my sanity finally slipping.

image

image

The pics were taken fairly early on while the light was good enough for the camera, so it isn’t that far along in them. I am almost complete on one stick; only three more to go.  Well, the top Mount and the hinged base, as well as what is appearing to be a complete overhaul on my welder.  That poor beast is acting all funky and giving me lots of fits. Luckily, for me, it’s all Miller backend so the parts are pretty ubiquitous.

I figure I will have it ready to lift skyward by mid-August, beginning of September.   That’s a good time as then is the dry season and duldrums with little to no air movement.  I really don’t want to get this thing part way up without anchors set and get a windy condition spring up on me .
Good thing though, it’s much more rigid than the 2″heavy pipe I used in the current tower.  I haven’t tested it’s “spine” yet but I can feel the rigidity when I am moving it around.  (I plan on testing spine in a similar fashion to how arrows are tested.  Support it on the ends and hang weight from the center.  I am hoping for 100# or better before I see any serious flex.)

A little detail in how I am doing this. I made a set of jigs by mounting two sections of 3/4″ plywood together and making all the measurements and cuts while they were together.  That way they are identical  to each other. Using one at either end, and an old belt to keep things snug, I started welding at the top.  As I progress downward,  I move only one jig.  The diagonals are also cut using a special made jig so that the angles are parallel to each other. (Really really wishing I had a chop saw for this, but gotta make do with what I have. )
Seeing how my welder is mucking up, I know I am going to have to come back and fix pin holes. I will use my torch for that.   Definitely need to fix my machine before I start on the other sticks. (And the welder is where my sanity is slipping. Damn thing acts possessed!  New liner and it just won’t feed cleanly.)
Hey!,maybe I can have this thing done and flying before Prez Clinton starts WW3. 

Leave a Reply

