Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Hot water, only,,,,,

Not just yet.  Through no fault that I can attribute, I am not in hot water right now.   Not the hot water of trouble, but the hot water of bathing.   I did get my tank less hot water heater in, alas, it is not to be just yet.   There was a little problem either in shipping or prior to, but the unit was damaged upon arrival.   And in such a way, that I wasn’t even going to shrug it off and attempt a fix

image

image

That is the gas inlet after the solenoid valve.  Yeah, pot metal, but looking at the brackets, this thing was dropped, HARD.  Pot metal will put up with a certain amount of abuse or we wouldn’t use it all.  This was beyond that.  The water side of things is all in brass so it held up. 
Anyway, long story short, Amazon rocked my world.  They not only credited my account, without having the product in hand, the CSR also directed me to another unit, same model, NEW, not used, and $20 cheaper.   I ordered it Thursday night, and it is scheduled to arrive SATURDAY, and that is not UPS, but USPS!!!!!!!!!  Watching the delivery status, it will be here, though I may have to wait til Monday to pick it up.  Seeing how its a weekend, and this is the Post Office,,,,,……I do have to return the old unit, but hey, they are even mailing me a return label for UPS to do so: that is what I call customer service.   NO hassles, just fix the issue in the timeliest manner possible.  Rockin!
Anyways, I will post more about it once its on the wall and working.   Looks like a good unit despite the cheaper part there.  The heat exchanger is top notch in appearance, and the simplicity of the whole system tells me that this thing is near foolproof (despite the cheaper part there).  I believe it will be well worth its weight in FRN’s.   I am anticipating those hot showers already!

5 responses

  1. Amazon has always treated me well.
    Hope you are not getting too much snow!

    January 22, 2016 at 4:41 pm

    • Actually, lots!
      Long time no hear! Hope you are feeling better. Know you had some issues recently.

      January 22, 2016 at 4:47 pm

  2. wonderdawg

    Wow, almost unheard of customer service anymore…….can relate to wanting the hot shower….the months I spent living in lean-to while building the house and get running water…..could go couple weeks with sponge baths til had to bail and go to brothers to shower(90mile round trip)…ocassional dip in cold ass creek wasn’t not the answer, especially I’m cold weather,brrrrr….just got through with hot shower few minutes ago and 37 outside temp sure feels good….no way, could I do a repeat of nearly a year living like Jeremiah Johnson,lol

    Hope alls good real soon with water works.

    January 22, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    • Heck, I am spoiled in comparison to your build. Living RV with running water vs lean-to campsite. But yeah, after a spell, sponge baths just do not do it.
      Water works are in the works so you will all hear about me spoiling my already spoiled self soon enough. LOL

      January 22, 2016 at 4:58 pm

  3. The neighborhood is about to smell better anyway. 🙂

    January 24, 2016 at 10:56 pm

Leave a Reply

