Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Frugal stuff n more

image

image

image

Doesn’t look like much, but this is how I am doing hot water for the house. That little pump only pulls 500mA and at its loudest is less than a whisper, but the little thing moves water!  It has a head of 15′ so if/when I decide on using a solar collector, it will be able to get to the roof as well. Note the t-stat o. The side.  That is attached to a copper rod that reaches to the center of the tank, I haven’t tested the whole set up yet, but I have tested individual pieces and it worked pretty danged good.  I will have the whole finished this weekend and will update with my findings then. (Note: the ‘coils’ are actually installed below the stove top in an air cavity, no direct contact with the fire but still VERY hot.  I used silver solder for those joints.   In hind sight, I would preferred to have used stainless tubing coiled about the flue but available resources dictated my choice)

Conversation from work. Got ta talking with a co-worker about the current excuses for humans presidential candidates and he was all about Trump.  Well I had some points about the Donald that caught him.  Like how the Clinton’s were at his wedding, how he donates to both sides of the aisle, etc etc. Dude the brought up how D is the only one harping about stopping immigration.  I said, “uncontrolled immigration is a self correcting issue”.  Funny look from dude.  “Think about it.  If these Wahhabi lunatics keep coming in, people will reach, and are already damned close to, a boiling point.   When the boil starts, real Americans will fight back, and not just against Jihad, but all of ’em.  When that starts, what remains after the dust settles will be the correct solution.  Ugly? Yes. But the truth. ”
But I have to get back to work on the house. Hot water and the last of the insulation, whoohoo, go me!  Laters.

2 responses

  1. Robert Dudley

    Details , please on pumps brand and specs. Sound like a good one for solar.

    December 12, 2015 at 4:00 pm

Leave a Reply

