Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Busy’s

Not much to talk about this week.  Only thing worth mentioning is that things are rolling along at a a steady pace but nothing that pics would really show. Installing insulation still sucks ass, no matter howya do it, and that is really all the news I have about the homestead. 

One note to mention.  Went to pickup more insulation this week and the pelrice had raised almost $20/pack since last week (doing things paycheck to paycheck now so things are slowed up a bit)   My first reaction was to just leave and look elsewhere, but I decided to look around a bit first.  All materials that I had bought over the last coupla months were up in price, BUT tool prices were down an equal percentage.  Hmmm??? Me thinks that with the merry season coming on quick, they are trying to reduce liquid inventory and make up the difference in material inventory. Smart thinking but shit timing for me. Too bad I am not in the market for tools right now or I would jump on some of these deals (and may yet if I see something worth the expenditure).  Anywhoos, I went out to the truck, dug out last weeks receipt and went back inside to talk to the management. He saw things my way, amazingly and gave me what I needed at last weeks prices.  Whoo! That helped muy mucho grande. My budget can’t take a 25% increase in costs easily. (That being the bump in materials cost with a matching reduction in tools). 

Anyways, t’is the seasson for corporate gouging and they are already trying to reach for black friday profits and with the shape of our economy, I can’t blame’em. Heck, I am trying to find the best ways to keep as many FRN’s in my pocket and get more to go with them. Same process, different scales.   That is just the name of the game in capitalism; and I happily call myself a ‘greedy capitalist pig’ LOL. 

Y’all stay safe, warm, and dry; winter is coming on fast and she looks like ahe might be a mean one this year.  More laters.  

3 responses

  1. wonderdawg

    Fortunately Lowe’s and HD are about 1/2 apart and they match prices…have gotten drywall $3 a sheet and studs $1 cheaper by comparing price. Independent yard gets all my framing business, they deliver no charge and cheaper than both the big guys .
    Pisser at the grocery stores is down sizing container size and charging same price as larger size. I guess some don’t notice…fucking soup cans are size of vianna sausage now….
    Stay safe bro, voodoo settled in to New digs yet.

    November 8, 2015 at 6:49 am

    • Yah, that smaller package same price crap is everywhere. Most don’t notice IMO because they are buying on an EBT. At least thats what I see round here more often than not.
      Yup, voo is settling in. Me making breakfast on the stove in mornin’s sure assisted that factor. (He is SOOOO Fat now. And I can’t keep him on a diet around here )

      You have a distinct advantage over me with the box stores; the isn’t a HD within 120 miles of me. Lowes, we have three of and they won’t price match the local guys very often. I do have two DoiT best Hrdwr stores near but they are often higher but I have noted better quality as well. And they deliver for a flat fee of $15 where the L word place charges 5% of load minimal $40.
      I do a lot of shopping to make sure I stay in my budget realm to say least. 🙂

      November 8, 2015 at 8:43 am

      • wonderdawg

        Yeah, saw that most recent pic of Voo and didn’t recognize that big dawg. Rufus, thinks he a house dog now, gotta push him out and if it’s raining or thunder oh hell no he ain’t going out, big pussy,lol. Even tho he’s really gray muzzled now, he still acts like a pup at times, even initiated wrestling match with Buddy, who’s a ball of energy
        Neither look underfed either. Speaking of Rufus scratching at door now.
        Stay safe, looking good.

        November 8, 2015 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

