Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Wow! Has it really been two months?

Time is just whippin’ by while building this house. 

Not much to post about and no pics this weekend. Moved/moving in and handling all the fiddlin’ little stuff. Moved the power system guts over and mounted the panels on the roof, ran some basic lighting so I can continue workin after dark, and getting insulation in, a little at a time.  Nuttin real exciting.  About the most exciting thing, for me anyway, was acquiring a newer RV stove/oven.   Lil four burner gas stove. That is settin for now while I get some other stuff in place but it does have a home.  I am looking for a tub, and likely will have to bite the bullet and spend a stoopid amount of money on some silly plasticy thingamabob. Srsly! $250-400 for a plastic bathtub shaped SHELL!?!?!?   I’ll tellya, when I saw those prices, it took all I had to hold my Grinch alter ego at bay. Even the fainter hearted Scrooge side flared up in righteous anger.  Mehbe I am showing my age, or maybe I am just showing how much of a flint hearted tight assed, pinchin pennies till Lincoln squeals, money miser I have become: dunno, but those prices border on rape in my book.  (And don’t even get me goin on appliances like washing machines.  Gonna get an ol wri ger washer n be done with the whole debate.  Set in a wash shed, with line dry outside, good to go.  Was good enough when I was a kid, can be good enough now )

Anyways, back at it, bunches of little stuff, baby steps, but the journey isn’t finished yet.  Talk atch’ll later. 

10 responses

  1. SnakeIN

    What about a plastic stock tank? 50 or 100 gal makes a fine tub. Farm store sale under 100 bucks.

    October 25, 2015 at 8:25 am

    • Like i mentioned in WD’s comment, you guys have got me to thinkin. Want a tub because there are times where a good hot soak is more important than just gettin clean

      October 25, 2015 at 11:39 am

  2. wonderdawg

    Was going to mention stock tank, or 30×48 shower pan @$99. @HD…..check big box stores for scratch and dinged stuff, big discount on minor damages. Craig lists…

    October 25, 2015 at 10:17 am

    • Been looking. Had a chance at one at the big box store, checked bank account, and watched that chance blow right by me. Grrr. Stock tank?, You guys have me thinkin somethin here. Keep eyes open

      October 25, 2015 at 11:38 am

  3. Peter

    You could weld a coupla three 55 gallon half sections together and line it with fiberglass. Sure, it’ll be ugly as hell, but it’ll be watertight. Then you can wait on finding the right tub at the right price at your leisure.

    What about a scrapyard? You might find an old-timey cast iron tub that needs a coat of enamel…

    October 28, 2015 at 11:29 pm

    • wonderdawg

      Fiberglass resin is $$$$$$

      October 30, 2015 at 5:16 am

      • Indeed it is. Looked recently and dropped my jaw. Different reason than the tub but jeez, rape was a term that came to mind

        October 30, 2015 at 12:41 pm

    • Gonna hold off on that path. Don’t like working with fiberglass in any form and definitely not with the cost of resin these days. Working on an option now, may document it later if’n it works well

      October 30, 2015 at 12:37 pm

  4. coming along very nicely!!!

    November 3, 2015 at 7:48 am

    • Thanx. Maybe give you some ideas for your place?
      Say hey to the missus for me

      November 3, 2015 at 9:19 am

Leave a Reply

