Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

On hold, kinda

not much to post about this weekend.   Been working on the house, but at this stage, the progress is miniscule, and not very exciting to watch.  Little stuff like making sure that I have jackstuds in place where panels edge out, getting boxes in place for when we run electric, put up some insulation in the ceiling where I won’t have any electric ran, and installed two windows.   It was rather dark in there in a couple of places and those windows helped oodles.

Sourced my septic tank, and that will will be the next big project,  likely in a couple of weeks while we hopefully dry out  some.   Its been extremely wet here thanks to hurricane season.    Wouldn’t think so being so far inland, but thats the case.  Heck, I have had a fire going the last two days, not to keep warm, but to dry out the RV.   Wednesday, I went to bed and felt like I had laid down in a damp beach towel.  Not horribly uncomfortable, but not exactly conducive to sleeping well either.  Voo doesn’t mind it, his thin fur isn’t cut out for winter weather much, and he has been sleeping next to the stove the last couple of nights.   This may be a prelude to a rough winter, and I am glad as hell that I am in the dry now.   What I have to do, I can do no matter what the weather is like outside, and here, soon after the septic is installed, I will be installing a wood stove. (at which point, it becomes a working residence)

Sorry no pics this weekend, but know that I am still busier than a one legged man in an ass kicking contest.   Voodoo ain’t happy because it means less walkies, but he is really moving in.   He has even figured out which rooms are which and signals his needs accordingly.  Sleepies, lays in the bedroom.  Dinnertime, lays in the kitchen area.  Walky time, pester the shit out of dad by laying on tools or stealing wood.   LOL   he is just a big kid with simple needs.

More laters,  

2 responses

  1. SnakeIN

    After all that work, damned if I wouldn’t be sleeping in it already. Even on a pad on the floor. Glad you had all that help with the uncle and dad. Sure wish I could have helped some after all you did for me while you were here. Had third cancer surgery last week and don’t you know, lost another ten pounds, lol. Hospitals aren’t the greatest places for gaining weight. House is looking better all the time. I will make it down one more time before winter if at all possible. I’ll curl up beside Voodoo right across the door opening lol.

    October 3, 2015 at 9:16 pm

    • There is a critical point I want to reach before I transition over to the house: I am calling it “the shit” stage LOL. Once the toilet is in place and working, I move in and start disassembly of the RV. Seeing how I am staying with a 12vdc/110ac hybrid system, there are many many things that will be salvaged. And it will also be storage for those things that would just clutter me up right now.
      Another 10 pounds?!?!?! I am gonna have to call R and have her start force feeding you ALL of her special deserts

      October 4, 2015 at 8:39 am

Leave a Reply

