Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

So there I was,,,,

Out on the road again doing little Gospel plays for Marv again, trying to build up a nest egg to finish the homestead up.  Further preps you could say.

Blam, the BRICS hit us broadside (well only if you hadn’t been paying attention) and the dollar plummited to less than currency in Zimbabue overnight.   At least the cast members have family or distant relations in the town we were in.  Most of ’em anyway.   Not so much me or my late lighting guy:  Funny how being white of skin can be so detrimental to your health when toilet paper becomes more valuable than the cash in your pocket.

SO, here I am, 1100 miles from home, basic bugout bag (hard to get some of that stuff through airport terminals so it was left behind) and white enough to stick out like a neon sign in a road house in the desert.  Least to say, I move at night a lot.

But weapons??  What does a body do when firearms dissappear as soon as the body hits the ground and you aren’t exactly armed to the teeth?   A Mora knife, and a Gerber Multi-tool aren’t exactly formidable weapons (The Mora is quite lethal upclose and personal, but I like a bit of distance in self defense)

Here is where things get ‘Interesting’

PVC!

That little beauty is made from a section of 3/4″ PVC pipe, and some Paracord (you do carry paracord in you preps, right?)    I heated the pipe over the coals of a campfire one night after I found the pipe at an old construction site.  Once the pipe was soft enough to bend under finger pressure, I flattened the ends from center out using a couple peices of 2×4.  After cooling for a few minutes, I started heating small sections and applying bends using  my thigh (covered in a towel) and a wet rag to speed the cooling process.   I chose the horsebow as my end product since they are very compact and powerful, and I only had a 5′ section of pipe to work with.

Arrows I made from some old river cane that were pretty dry already and some hardwood twigs to support the nock and whatever I could find for a point.  Broken glass works well for knapping quite similar to  flint but much more fragile.   I “glued” all of the parts together by melting old soda bottles  in an old soup can and dipping the parts in the melt before assembling them.  Fletching is just a split feather tied on using paracord guts and more melted plastic to fix the ends.

Smoothing the shafts was the hardest part really as the lumpy sections of cane can really rip hell out of your hand shooting off the knuckle.   I started by trimming those parts down with the mora, then using the back edge to bring them near finished.  I then found a chunk of sandstone and proceeded to get into a zen like state smoothing out 6 decent shafts.   The rest I already described.

Shooting the bow came as a bit of a shock.   I had read about the practice, but reading and doing are two completely different things.   This little bow pulls somewhere in the neighborhood  of 55-70# @28″  My shoulder is telling me all about it .   The heavier of the six shafts fly almost as well as my old Carbons do from my Store bought unit at home.   And that knapped glass broadhead leaves a wiicked wound in animals.   I haven’t had to track down a wounded animal for very far; they bleed out pretty quickly.

For field-expedient, I am VERY impressed, and given my druthers, I think, If’n I survive gettting home, that I will have to make another one with a slightly longer draw  and keep the old store bought one for teaching others how to shoot.

Back to getting back home, take care!

 

(This little piece of fiction inspired by Youtube videos by  Backyardbowyer and many others.    I just had to experiment and am blown away by the fact that something so ubiquitous as PVC can be made so VERY useful in a less than optimal Urban survival setting.   Yes, the bow does pull somewhere north of 55#  and easily punches arrows THROUGH my target out to 30 yards.   I would have to purchase some testing equipment to give accurate measurements, but this $3 peice of pipe easily outperforms my $200 bow.)

11 responses

  1. wunderdawg

    Man I was like WTF, where and what did this squirrel done and went and did now.lol. definitely had to read til the end. PVC bow, helluva deal, got s to try, plenty of pvc abd cpvc left over from plumbing house, watch out Rufus and Buddy, Robin Hood in the making, run.lol. speaking of plumbing how’s water line project.

    March 24, 2015 at 10:55 am

    • Previous post shows the progress on water. Nearly done, just have one joint that keeps wanting to leak that should be finalized this weekend.
      If you want to try the PVC bow, I highly recmd watching Backyard bowyers vids on youtube. He even has three books (maybe more) out on amazon. I plan on getting at least one to help support him and his efforts even thiugh most of his info is out there for free

      March 24, 2015 at 1:34 pm

  2. Love that terrain!

    March 24, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    • We have plenty, I’d say visit and bring a dump truck and you could take some with you! ROFL

      March 25, 2015 at 6:23 am

      • Yep. I’ll let the boss drive. That ought to really get you rollin!

        April 2, 2015 at 9:21 pm

  3. Hope all is going well. We might be heading near you soon.

    April 2, 2015 at 9:23 pm

  4. PVC bow! I’m gonna check out Backyard Bowyer, thanks!

    April 4, 2015 at 6:08 pm

  5. Nice work! That is a sweet little bow.

    June 20, 2015 at 1:22 am

    • Thanks Nick, Its good to get a shoulderslap from the guy that inspired me. This is the first one, there are several others that I have built for self and friends lately, but that one is still my favorite by simply being the first. (one always remembers their first time LOL)

      June 20, 2015 at 9:16 am

Leave a Reply

