Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Hibernation

is for the damned bears. It sucks when your thoughts grow further than “Berries, roots, get laid, Sleepzzzzz” (not to say that they don’t include those, I am male after all and while not hormone laden and in rut, T’ain’t ded yet either.)
Long story short, Ol’ man winter is really kickin’ ass around these parts. This is my second day off work due to being unable to traverse my drive off the hill. We had a “bit” of snow yesterday while at work and that piled on the frozen stuff on the hill and by the time I came home, slicker than snot! Lazarus is stuck, the temps dropped over night to sub-zero and what was ‘stuck’ is now frozen beyond recovery until the rains (if the weather man is right) tomorrow. Tonight is supposed to get down into a balmy north of the arctic circle -17 so I ain’t even gonna try to get out until that goes its merry way. I’ll just stay at home, keep the fire burnin’ and hibernate for awhile. But that doesn’t keep the mind from churnin’ away at things.
I could provide links to many of the things I am reading while down, but to be honest, it just gets to the point where a body is just chasing ghosts with all the information we have available. I love the internet, and hate it at the same time. Un-regulated, it provides oodles of information and good learning (so long as you are smart enough to realize that there is also a 90% BS factor in almost any web crawl.) and yet, I see that there are parties in favor going all regulatory on it.
Fine. Have at you interloping fucks. Ruin a good thing like you have ruined so many other good things. Keep it up and that habit will lead you to get your ass hung from a lamp-post somewhere.
But hey, thats just a pipedream on my behalf, right? Ain’t no group going to step off the porch until the stuporbowl is no more, the cheetos are gone and the beer is all skunked and flat. Then they might wake up and wonder “WTF? Where’d the good times go?”
Welcome to the party pal! Hey, I don’t care about any of that shit do I? I don’t really drink, I hate cheetos, and I have only watched the stuporbowl twice (and watched the bengals get their asses stomped by SanFran BOTH TIMES and in THE SAME WAY, stupid fuckers. )(give you an idea how long ago THAT was? LOL)
Well, it’s damned cold outside, that I can say with no hesitation. Its not cold in my hovel, again, no hesitation. In fact, I have had to crack the door and vents on occasion as it was uncomfortably warm. Even Voo, with his Texas fur decided that the snow was more comfortable than the Death Valley heat that daddy had in the house.(but not for very long each time. he cools off QUICK) I have food and more than enough to last me through this snap, I have coffee, and clean dry clothes, and enough space near the stove to dry out what gets wet while outside, including boots. I ain’t hurtin’ but damned if I ain’t bored outta my skull.
Which brings me to another prep, and one I have slipped on, obviously. Mind games or card games for one. Company for the other. Remember the rule of threes? There is one rule of three that many people leave out. 3 minutes w/o air, 3 days w/o water, 3 weeks w/o food, and 3 months without companionship. That last is entirely dependent on a persons mental state, but some form of companionship is essential for the long term, and some way of exercising the mind without getting into a mental loop is CRITICAL.
In my case, Dog was good enough for the companion aspect, especially with the way the mutt listens to me. Unfortunately, cabin fever is not friendly to either of us. He just wants to sleep when he is in, and gets frustrated at how slow I am walking in this frozen shit. (He has four wheel drive while I am a big lumbering hulk on a pair of stilts. I sink!) Least to say, walkies are a test of frustration for the both of us in this weather, and the rat bastard likes to nip to get me movin’. Pass I say.
I think I just need to dig out a good Heinlein book and ‘escape’ for the rest of the day.
Flame at will, or comment in general, don’t like talking to the walls of this blog.

5 responses

  1. wonderdawg

    Yep, was thinkin yes this morning might be easier to feed a fat gal than this wood eating fire box. Sure it’d be more fun under the covers.
    I’m like a reptile, ain’t doing nothing when it’s cold,crept staying holed up.
    Same here with dawgs, don’t like the heat I crank up at times, but like cold less, not out long before scratching at door,lol.
    Stay warm brother

    February 20, 2015 at 8:31 am

    • yup, just like a reptile. Stay inside and do what I can in there. Already fletched a dozen arrows, didn’t need to, but the old feathers were lookin’ worn and it gave me something to pass the time. `snort` “easier to feed a fat gal, than the wood eating fire box” Love it, and to say that idea hasn’t crossed my mind would be a good indicator that I am ready for a wooden box, not a house. And you know the covers would be much more interesting and fun.
      Staying warm is the easy part, staying sane, yeah, that takes a little more work. LOL But I am holding on, and still pushing forward so I guess somethin is workin right.

      February 20, 2015 at 9:17 am

  2. “snort”? You ain’t gonna catch no gal like that!

    February 21, 2015 at 11:40 pm

    • LOL not like I am even lookin’ but I have heard you make even ruder noises and you managed to trip K, so, I’m thinkin “no worries, when the time is right”

      February 22, 2015 at 7:40 pm

Leave a Reply

