Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Yup, weatherman was right for once

Ol’ man winter came rip-roarin’ back into town over the weekend and jeez, was he pissed off.
All that work on the water tank put on hold for sub freezing temps and I lost all 350 gallons out of that tank thanks to not listening to the weatherman. The 2″ ball valve froze and characteristic of plastic and ice, one had to give. Much easier to break a pipe from the inside than out and the ice won the day, to my dismay. I haven’t finished the down hill side of things so the valve was closed. I went to put insulation around the exposed bits early sunday morning but the damage had already been done. I couldn’t even get to the tank until mid-afternoon due to all the ice from 300+ gallons spraying all over that little hillside below the tank.
Good news though, I now know what needs the most attention and from there can move forward.
The real fun with Ol’ man winter in these parts started today. All that snow that has threatened us but never shown up decide to come down in the first few hours of the day. Not hateful in my book, but a lot of the guys I work with figured that it was safer at home than waiting to drive home. By lunch, the shop was down to a handful of guys and my line was decimated. I went ahead and left as well. Good thing too, as while driving home, the weather shifted from snow to freezing rain. Thinking that getting off my hill come the wee hours is going to be fruitless. I am going to give it a few more hours to see what happens, but if the temp drops off like they are forecasting (and so far, since saturday, they are batting 1000) then that steep hill leading up here (that took three tries to get up before I succeeded, even in 4 wheel ) is going to be one solid sheet of ice and no fun to traverse in the dark hours of the day. It can be tricky enough after a good hard rain and the resulting washouts.

Well, whatever happens over the next 24 hours, I am safe at home right now, the fire is going, and I am even getting a trickle of charge from the panels since I cleaned off the snow. Wind is down or I would be getting that as well. That will pick up later though, or so they say. It is still nice to be be able to claim the independence of energy. That just keeps getting better and better as time goes by and I hear all the guys at work whining about the outrageous electric bills they have to contend with. Yeah, I paid for the panels and mill, and batteries, but the end cost over the last few years has more than justified the shift in lifestyle. It isn’t for everyone, that I can say with confidence, but it suits me just fine.
It’s winter, and it’s almost over. Then things can really take off again and I can come out of hibernation.

Leave a Reply

