Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

For Us, the living

Far too many times in my reading of late, I have felt the irritation of separatism being espoused by fellow patriots. Don’t take it wrong, there is good advice being passed on as well, but the unwillingness to accept that not all are “on the same plane” galls my bearings just a bit. What do I mean by “not on the same plane”? Pretty simple: not all of us
here can afford to shoot 500-1000 rounds a week to practice all the various concepts around a battle rifle. Not all of us are physically able to PT beyond a certain point (IE I can work a 10 hour day and still walk my dog in the hills, but my knees don’t allow running of ANY sort and no I can’t afford to have the surgery to fix the issue). Even so, we (specifically myself, as I can’t vouch for all) are not out of the game nor should we be critiqued negatively. We still prep as best we can on a monetary system stretched past breaking. More than a few of us have taken steps far past simple preps and actually occupy our personal redoubts (James Dakin being one such, myself another, Wunderdawg another ).
Let me explain it another way. I have quite a bit more to do before I am willing to “go Galt” completely and yet I am constantly on that march. My day does start at zero dark thirty and continues to “can’t” which tends to being quite close to that zero dark point more than a few times a week. There are many things I work on that never get more than a brief mention, if even that, and it all has an end goal that represents the closest thing I feel, to a ‘working retirement’
And when the weekend rolls around and I am coming out of the woods, led by a happy mutt, a brace of squirrel in my bag, and I see that blueish smoke from my flue and my wind genny working and 3/4 acre already tilled ready for planting; well, I realize that all the hoopla is just that. I have to wonder just how many of those pushing the gun work can claim what I live. I have my days such as that and realize that no matter what happens in the bigger world, I and mine will be just fine. I may not be in the greatest shape after 46 years of adventure, but I am still operative and I will defend what I have made with my life.
And that is enough for me.

2015/01/img_0806.jpg

6 responses

  1. Spud

    Don’t count me out yet Bubba. Not totally recovered but able to function now.

    January 28, 2015 at 2:11 pm

  2. good to see you Dio. stay safe!

    January 29, 2015 at 12:14 pm

  3. Like the terrain, Dio! Something we sorely lack. PM me Pick. (Use Soffitrat1 instead of the former). I was lazy and got picked off of the old one.

    January 30, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    • Well terrain is one thing we have in abundance ’round here. Nuff that we have to stack it up. That and rocks, lotsa rocks. Hell, we grow the damned thingsevery winter . the tillers just love all the new rocks every year. LOL Hereshopin that all is ok and that K is better. Miss y’all.

      January 31, 2015 at 10:20 am

      • And we miss you as well. K is doing better. Much better now. Still have 6 wks of another procedure to endure.

        January 31, 2015 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

