Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Semper Gumby

In light of my current silence, I have to reassure you that I am not dropping off the blog scene.  Not yet anyways.

I have been a busy little bee of late though and that is cause for my silence.   Luckily for you, today is one of those “humidity so high you need scuba gear to go outside” so I am at the library cooling down for a bit.  Sorta like taking siesta but not actually nappin’.  Poor Voo isn’t allowed in here so he has to find a mudhole to lay in.  Not that he really minds that but it makes for a stinky dog that I have to deal with later.

As for the busy lil bee stuff; some of it I can fill you in, some of it, not so much.   At least not in detail, there are some things about my life that the world just doesn’t need to know about.

First up, new project that is sucking up some FRN’s right now.  Short term expense but long term investment into the future.   Here is a teaser for you.

While that is bigger than I am building, it is the general principle.
The whole thing came about from a conversation with dad and sibling on fathers day last week. And the whole thing has been a snowball since. Lots of research in blades and options, but for the most part, I already have a majority of the materials needed. Those blades are gonna take a huge chunk, seeing how one has to order in quantity of 10 or more. I haven’t found anywhere that I can order single units from, but, seeing how it is a bandsaw and blades snap all the time, a small bit of insurance for the future. Granted, I can weld bandblades, but that sucks when you are in the middle of the project and need to keep moving forward.

AH, ‘but Dio, what the hell do you need a sawmill for?’ you ask? That is where I am not going to give a bunch of details, but for the record, it has LOG written all over it. And I won’t be limited to lumber purchases on other builds in the future either. Trees we have. As well as lots and lotsa ROCKS. Two very good building materials that still stand the test of time.
To boot, there is still room in the area for someone with the ability to saw timber into lumber as a financial move so this is definitely an investment towards the future.
The biggest hurdle I have at this stage is the length of the rails. I would like the thing to handle at least 20 footers. That is a lot of ironwork in my future if I go that route. I could use timbers as the rails system as well and ‘build as I go’. Dunno.

I am probably not going to be posting that much for awhile as things are starting to get hectic in my world. Its a good thing as there is much that needs completed and not much time left to me to do so. I won’t bring up the whole world situation nor the US situation as they are handled quite well in other venues an my take on them is marginal at best. I just know that at some point, this country is doomed, and all I can do is be ready. That means tools, shop and a secondary revenue source all laid out ready to go. (revenue being relative to goods, not currency) Whatever I do in the future, whether that be foundry work, machinist, welder, sawyer, carpenter, mechanic, ,,,,, I know that I will be ok, SO LONG as the tools have home to live in. I invest in that now, even if the majority of my investment is directly sweat and blood with a dash of cash.

Talk at ya more when I get a chance to come up for air.

 

One response

  1. This looks like the challenge you’ve been looking for. Great idea. Little competition (when the local home improvement stores disappear). And a great source of ‘revenue’ (as you put it) for future challenges. Good luck, Dio.

    June 21, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Leave a Reply

