Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Let it rain!

Had a conversation the yesterday with Rhino at work and mentioned that I just need to sit down with the box at a hotspot and type out whats on my mind.  No dickin’ around with “well, that didn’t come our right, DELETE” or any of that.   Just spill my guts and let the words flow.

Here goes.

Been watching the dialogue of late and while it, on the surface, seems same ol’ same ol’, it isn’t.   Watch the dialogue coming out of the mouths of the press and you see on thing, look into the dialogue coming from the freedomista blogs you see yet another.   But if you watch the whole she-bang, there is a actually a conversation taking place.

it is not necessarily a conversation that is going to lead to good things.   For one, there is that whole “racist” issue rearing its head again.   I don’t give two shits if the man is racist or not, but reading his words (and those of Porretto) I don’t see racism, I see honesty.   And if a man can’t voice an honest opinion, WTF is the point in living?  As for the whole welfare/black thing, yes it was designed from the get go back under LBJ.  But it doesn’t just reside amongst the blacks.   There are many welfare families around these parts that are most definitely of a Caucasian descent.  The situation is the same though.  No motivation, and the prisons are full of the younger ones.

And then I read shit the like of this ‘sheriff’ what this said.

I have to wonder, is there an actual movement in this country, or is it more likened to a bowel movement; removal of waste products?   And if the latter, which is the waste, and which is the actual body?   US or THEM?   Well.   I see that there are even more headlines that are creepin’ out of the woodwork and while enough by themselves, I see a dialogue coming out that is designed to instigate more class warfare.   The noted headlines are those that show how many working people support how many welfare people.   I see headlines discussing how many distrust the political machine. (53% don’t think either party represent hem.  DUH!)  I see even more militarization of LEO units. (hey, gotta employ the Vets somewhere!, and at least with .mill hardware, you don’t have to re-train them.) (Yeah, I know, it isn’t every vet or every LE.org either, but there trend is there.)

And then, history is straining to repeat an old tune.  One from almost exactly 100 years ago.   I am only waiting for the assassination of one Kaiser by a Serb and the whole she-bang will be an exact repeat.  (well, not exactly, we have better tech now, which really only means that MORE people are gonna die this round, and in likely even more horrible ways.)

And of course the economy is really starting to tank out, despite the statements to the contrary from the talking heads on the east coast.    One of the things I have personally noted, and that I saw a headline about on the Drudge just this week: Temp employment is up and on the rise.   Why?   Hell, as a former employer myself, I can say that contracting a temp is a hell of a lot easier with far fewer headaches than taking on a full time, or even part time employee.   The actual cost per hour may be more, but the overhead is far less (no HR needed, less accounting needed, and if you lose need of the temp, no layoff’s nor the overhead of unemployment ‘benefits’ to cover.)   While it is understandable, I can also say, as a temp, that it is quite frustrating.   You never know if you are going to have that job tomorrow.   It’s like Damocles sword, and that thread, especially in this economy, is looking quite minuscule and pathetic.  As has been stated here, and in conversation with others, that frustration, and the rising cost of just getting to and from, will eventually lead myself and others to figure it being cheaper to ‘just stay home’.     While I wouldn’t make any money staying at home (I would, but not as consistently) I would have more time to raise the garden (less money on food) would not be spending nearly a third of my pay on fuel (more money for other needs) and would have much more time to accomplish things that I tend to rush when I have only so many daylight hours at my disposal.

No, I am not done with the wage-slave place, YET.   I still have things that require me to have access to a steady flow of FRN’s right now.   But soon,,,,,

And if the economy keeps up it’s downward spiral ( like it can do anything else except speed up!) that time will come sooner than later. (and I think many have had similar thoughts in their own world.)

Update on the Homestead.   Water is nearly completed.    I need only run the 2″ line down the hill now and cap off that end.   I won’t be installing it into anything other than a spigot right now.   The house needs built first.   I am also getting to the point where I am thinking that the shop, despite the political/family issues it would cause, needs built, pretty much yesterday.   I am slowly developing a clientèle where that shop will become self sustaining.  Doesn’t matter if what I am doing in there is building machines for energy production, or gun-smithing, the end goal is to have a self reliant form of work, not dependent upon the whims of someone in another state (IE the current temp position)

Another development is the beginnings of my Forge.   I did some testing of the ‘clay’ here and it is capable of handling the heats of the forge.  I have to process it to get it to that point but hey, It is sure a hell of a lot cheaper (cheap as dirt! LOL) than refractory cement.  I figure using the clay as the ‘cement’ and using all of the sandstone laying around here as the brick.  I will have to build a blower for it and I would like to make one that is human powered, but not one where I would need an apprentice. The  way the old blacksmiths built up the apprentice was to have the lil’ones pump that bellows all day.  Eventually they were big enough to deal with the hammers.    Not for me, I say.   I have other means of accomplishing the goal.  AND, with the intended purpose of my forge (smelting) I need a lot more air than just a bellows can provide.  Time for a squirrel cage style blower, and one that I get to get creative with in coming up with a power source for it.   Nothing as yet, but then, I am doing this in stages, and with little to no money involved.  (the shed being built around it is locust posts, just like the woodshed I built early last year. Cost: Free )

And one for the Voo Fans.   Dumbshit brought home half of a Groundhog this week.   Half was still on the rail-road tracks where it met its demise at the wheels of a locomotive.    The big dummy acted like he was in trouble for two days before I figured out what his deal was.  My nose told me for one.  Thank GOD! he didn’t bring it IN the house.   I’da hadta kill him for that one.    Yeah, feast or famine with the dogs, and Groundhog makes a hella feast for a blue eyed wonder of a mutt.  Especially when it gets ‘seasoned’ and ‘stinky’.    Well, most of the stink is gone now: a shovel took care of that (and a large rock on top to keep interested dawg-snozzes out of it) and the remainder of the stink is going to get a bath when I get home.   Oh, he is just gonna love that one, LOL.

ANywhoo’s, There is the thought of Dio for the week.   Yeah, I am all over the place today, but then, its raining and that hillside is slicker than it was last week.   I can wait to get up there for now.

 

 

10 responses

  1. How’d the bath go? Not Voo’s. Yours! I figure you probably got wetter than he did. 🙂

    April 25, 2014 at 11:19 pm

    • Yeah, it was a wet one for me as well. I would do what I did at your place and get him swimmin’, but the pond up here is full of sulpher and really makes a stink, kinda against the goal here.

      April 30, 2014 at 11:50 am

  2. What about the windmill powering the bellows? I mean not via electric but with a mechanical connection?

    April 25, 2014 at 11:23 pm

    • Possibly, I have a few ideas, all of them using rotary motions of some sort. Even thought about adding a resevoir up the hill to catch some ground waters to run a small undershot water wheel. All of that will have to wait though, too much labor involved at this juncture and thats labor I need to dedicate to getting the house and shop up.

      April 30, 2014 at 11:52 am

  3. SnakeIN

    I think your best blogs are when you just let it flow. Great update. And as you know, I’ve said before, that shop is what will help pay for the house and other necessary living expenses. Hope you can survive the explosion from those that would dictate your actions. Still hope to get a guided tour of the ‘stead one of these days. Progress for me is very slow but the improvements are there. Would you believe I’m down to 138 pounds? Finally starting to gain a little but frustratingly slow.

    April 26, 2014 at 11:25 pm

    • I find it hard to believe that you are having a hard time gaining weight with M and R doing all your cooking. I know everytime they cooked and brought stuff to me, I was suffering for it (in a damned good way, but pain is pain)
      Yeah, the shop is getting the focus now. I really need to get away from the wage slavery and start dedicating my time and energy on number one. I find I can get far more done if I am not focused on gathering up further worthless FRN’s and just doing what needs done. I found an amazing substitute for concrete by mixing the local clay with about 50% riversand (which we get frequently in the flood area down the hill) Mixed to a doughy like mix and it sets up pretty quickly. Slow fired it gets quite hard and weather proof as well. Especially if I fire it with green woods. More oily soot to bake into the outer surface.

      April 30, 2014 at 11:58 am

  4. Great post. Glad to see things are moving along for you and Voo. Kind of surprised he didn’t bring the critter to you right away.

    April 28, 2014 at 9:24 am

    • Oh NO! Take the critter to Dad? Hell NO! He won’t do that because he knows I am gonna take it away. And he won’t argue with me since the Backstrap incident down at your place. He remembers how quickly he ended up on his back with me in his face lettting him know, beyond the shadow of a doubt, who the boss of this little tribe is.

      April 30, 2014 at 12:00 pm

      • I remember that well. He is a smart boy 🙂

        May 1, 2014 at 1:30 pm

  5. SnakeIN

    Wow. Your mix sounds a like adobe to me. Possible outer coating?

    May 1, 2014 at 5:56 am

Leave a Reply

