Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Messiah mutts and whirligigs

Welladay, its been a fun week. Weather that would make even a cockroach sick, what with all the ups and downs, snow then rain then ice then snow then sun and ,,,,,, Least to say, my current power system is NOT at all happy about the way things have been going, and well, that makes me not so happy either. Especially since the little genny tossed a breaker and is not putting out any juice right now. I will be tearing into that soon enough to rectify it, or McGyver it, or sumpin’. That whole adage about “two is one and one is none” thing really bites. ( I hate to run the 4k unless I am also running tools)  Guess that is why none of us like to hear it. Its called the truth. Fortunately, I have other options for charging my laptop and phone and the remainder can sit idle while the batteries slowly trickle back to a state of charge I am comfortable with. Its cold enough outside, that the fridge stays cold for days so I am not worried about that. If worse comes to worse, I have that big ice chest outside and that is partly underground for additional insulation and in a well shaded spot so perishables will be ok. So long as the Coon’s don’t find it. But that’s why I have a Voo, Right? (LOL, actually, Jack-jack will do the guarding, while Voo snores inside.)

Speaking of the Voo: He made his first attempt at “The New Messiah” last week.

IMG_0830

IMG_0831

Long story short, it worked for a couple of days but then the original spirit decided to teach him a little humility and pulled that rug out from under him. I ended up having to wade in and pull his miserable butt out, and that made for a short “walkies”. He was rarin’ to go, but my butt was cold. Silly mutt!

So, progress has been made towards adding to my power generation system. A few more pics for your enjoyment.

Genny head 1Genny head 2Tail shaft detail

Yup, thats a bicycle part at the heart of the twisty bits, typical of many of my creations. It fills the bill quite nicely. Bearings to make the turns smooth and light, hollow through and through to make routing of wires simple, able to be grommeted to keep the wires from rubbing metal, weldable, oh that list could go on, but you get the picture. I am expecting the PMA today while this is posting.(foul weather patterns in Missouri delayed shipment. Foul weather? In February? In Missouri? Naw! Couldn’t happen! LOL) I left the front of the head open as I don’t have the dimensions of the PMA to build a bracket for it. I have all I need to make such, but don’t want to have some slippery-slidey thing with lots of adjustments that could get all wonky hanging 50′ in the air and weather. I want things nice and solid, then I will weld that to the frame and we will be ready to raise hell a tower. (don’t ya just love all my teknickle turms, LOL)

Like I said, that day is gonna be fun. Radios will be in use as the Jimmy is the mule doing the pull and I do want to be the one stuporvisin’, not the one playing with the throttle. Yes, this will be a team effort of family and friends, not just the lone hermit with a grudge and a gun. ;-P

A little info on the PMA for some of the readers (Spud!) Yes it is a three phase generator, but that is not to say that is a line level generator. It will put out some serious voltages and or currents depending on load and of course that reaches a balance at some stage and that balance is what charges batteries. Being three phase means that I can have a longer run of thinner wires to my battery bank before pushing those electrons through a rectifier bridge and making them do a different trick; march in a straight line. That sine wave is nice the electrons to travel, but it doesn’t do me any good at this end. Now, I learned something new over at the MwandS site about how to install the controller. While it looks backwards, I can see the benefits of it. I am running direct to the batteries, and the controller is on a ‘side band’ and controls the actual voltage level of the batteries, not the inputs. The inputs are always under load that way. I am going to give it a full month to see if that changes what my batteries have been doing, so stay tuned for more info on that. (and of course, if’n any of ya have done such, feel free to drop me a line and fill me in on success/failure.)(note; this setup will only work if your controller has a diversion/dump cycle on it. Most dedicated solar controllers do not.)

So, hopefully, next post up will be scenes of me and the Voo slippin’ around in the mud, playing with cables and other rigging attachments raising a mast with a big whirligig thingy on top that make electricity.

Until then, If’n ya wanna bitch, bitch; but I plan on doin’ sumpin’bout it. And I am, slowly but surely. I can’t fix the weather, but I sure can adapt my needs to tap into the weather I have.  Y’all take care till then.

4 responses

  1. Talked with my buddy in KY today. He filled me in on your weather. Sounds like you’re having a great time. Did Voo bless you?

    February 10, 2014 at 11:41 pm

    • Yeah, wonderful weather with about as much conviction as my first GF. LOL. and yes, Voo blessed me. He blesses me everyday with his wonderful dog smells. ( ewww!)

      February 11, 2014 at 5:55 am

  2. Spud

    Nice Dio, the 3 Phase set up is a smart route to go ! What sort of commutator are you using betwixt the genny and mast ?
    I feel for you freezing up there at the North Pole heh ! Been a frigid winter !

    February 11, 2014 at 4:58 am

    • Sadly, no commutator. I am setting up a stop to keep rotation limited to near one full turn and the feed will go straight through the mast. The only commutators I found lacked the amperage rating I desired. Maybe later I will make one. But the shop needs done so that I have use of the lathes.

      February 11, 2014 at 5:53 am

Leave a Reply

