Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Catchin’ up

Yeah ‘Rat, I am catching up.

Follow along as this is straight off the cuff and I have no idea where it’s gonna lead, if anywhere.

Been working a lot of late. Actual OT for that matter. Not a bad thing when my logistics is based upon my sole source of FRN’s, and my efforts. BUT, like has been said in many a corner of the spheres “ ain’t no one man an island”. It gets a tad frustrating to be able to get the things I need, but have so little time to do what I need to do with them. I just don’t see how some of the guys I work with can make it as a single income in family with kids. (granted, some of them are on the dole in some form or’nother, but even that is just subsistence levels)(also granted, few of them are trying to do what I am doing, let alone try more than just ‘exist’.)

Then Oblammy-oh-boy gets his panties twisted by proudly stating that he wants to give ‘Murica a raise!!!! Fuck you bammyboy! If’n they manage to raise the minimum wage to that level, I can garan-damn-tee you that there have been corporate heads sitting around figuring out what to cut, how to raise prices, who to fire, what sections to downsize, you name it; in response to that sheer stupidity.

“New dollar menu at McD’s. Cheeseburger (description) patty the size of a pickle slice, a squirt of pickle juice and a sprinkling of cheese sauce on a cracker. Enjoy the new normal, I’m Luvin’ it! While having it made by one of those Chinese robots that just so damned CUTE!

AH, but that just leads me to further scramble my ass into a hole trying to get my shit in order before such time as I find out that certain areas of this country are no longer financially viable. Like this one that is already on the verge of financial collapse. Far too many working for the state in various factions. Or working heathcare and we all know what a hit that has been taking lately. Around here, that hit has been hitting for longer as there are so many that are just soaking the sponge of the federal tit for benefits. Heaven forbid you need to go to the grocery store or any of the other chain stores around the first of the month. You will find the place packed with every form of zombie there is, and some will surprise you at how healthy they look; Damned near prosperous even.

Do I sound a little jaded right now? Hmmm, maybe there is something there that needs further investigation on my part. Like maybe the fact that I am sick and damned tired of watching the Taxes raise on my pay and my take home shrinking, while others get paid to sit at home and grow lard on their asses. Like maybe the actions of our ‘commander in chief’ over the last few years are clearly of the Cloward/Piven strategy to bankrupt this country(recall, Cloward and Piven were hired by the Clintonistas to come up with that plan. And now they are talking about Billary getting the next presidential slot. Good God what a mess this world is becoming. Heinlein had the term “Crazy Years” so right). There are also the facts of his emasculating the military command structure over the last year or so. His appointing a dedicated Federal stooge to the position of Attorney General that has absolutely no intent of following the rule of law. Or his continual statements of using his “executive order” to bypass the actual structure of Established Government Procedures. All this shit makes me so pissed off that I want to start doing things to earn that ‘terroreest’ label.

Not that I will mind you. I would rather just finish my end goals of building and furthering my independence away from a failed system so that when the time is ripe, all those zombies can just rot in place and I won’t have to worry about them. And of course I know that is a pipe dream from hell. When push comes to shove, those zombies are going to be looking for the meal tickets and that means people like me are going to have to be more than a little militant and a whole lot of medieval in response.

Like I used to preach at the patcoms,”Best get the hard shit figured out in your head now. You won’t have time to think about it when the time comes.”(among many of the other preachings I did at those events.)

SO Santorum (sp?) is saying that the collapse will begin May 16th ?I find that a little amusing, though not at all funny (and yes, there is a difference). First up, we are already seeing the signs of collapse in certain actions by the banks in other countries. Remember this, if you don’t have it in hand, it isn’t yours. That goes for money, gold (but I repeat myself), Silver (and again, I am repeating myself) etc. Get your shit out now. Convert it into something tangible that won’t be affected negatively by market actions. Lead is a good one, though even that is still trending to scarce right now. (tried to find any .22 ammo lately? Good luck!) But of course, this should have been in progress over the last 6 years or more. Beginning to prep now is going to be costly and troublesome. Ask me how I know? I fell behind the curve with all the running over the last couple of years. At least my experiences can pay off for me. I have a better feel for what works and what doesn’t.

And on that note, an update on my energy crisis. LOL.

I picked up the blades for the Wind Generator two weeks ago. I ordered the PMA this week(will be in Monday). A new charge controller is on the ticket for next week. So long as the OT keeps rolling, my schedule will accelerate on getting all of this together. I even found a place here local that I can buy my Golf Cart batteries. 6V 255A/Hr batteries. I won’t tease you with the price, but I won’t be picking them up en-mass either. My whole plan is a little here, a little there and keep the ball rolling forward for as long as possible. (and the biggest hindrance to that is the state of the economy, which is NOT in my control obviously.) I figure once I have the battery bank built up, I will then switch from what I have now, to what I am building up. I don’t want to drag down good materials with old stuff that is on the verge of failure. (and I don’t know that it is, but why risk it, Especially when the cost of replacement is factored in!)

As for the buildings, That is also moving forward. Granted with a slight change in plan, but still forward. I don’t want to jinx myself and tell all the details at this stage, but I will be in the house sooner than the shop. There is a method to my madness and one that makes the transitions much more doable and affordable. Part of the reason behind such a move is that the RV was something of a pain in the ass this winter. More so than last winter, even with the larger stove and better skirting around it. As it stands now, the RV is on the short list. I can’t afford to keep dumping money into it for such short and minimal returns. (don’t ever forget, run your little world like a business. You may not run in the black all the time, but eventually, things do get easier.) Nope, I would rather put that money into a proper foundation and solid structure. One that I don’t have to worry about freezing pipes or loss of certain essentials (like a toilet!) to cold weather. And, I plan on salvaging some of the parts from the RV to complete the house project.

But about the shop. There is an option I have that I am digging into that may make the shop a reality even sooner. Again, don’t want to jinx myself with admitting details, but it will be an additional money venture if things pan out.

LOL,I think I need a GF or partner. At least someone to keep wood in the stove and the Voo company while I am working my narrow butt into a bind. Not that I am even contemplating that right now, but there is a niggling part of me that would like to have some one to take up some slack on my part, not due to lack of doing things, but lack of time to do it in. There is A LOT of shit to get accomplished and I am only one person. Ah, but this is a self inflicted wound in a sense. I am a hard person to live when times are good, I wouldn’t inflict myself on another when things aren’t so good. And I kinda like ‘hermit on the hill’ status. Keeps the goof-offs and thieves at bay as they don’t have a clue if I am serious or not about shooting first.

About the Voo, for those of you that like the mutt, and I know some of you by name. He has taken to living with my Dad and Cousin during the week while I am at work. He only comes home to get fed and sleep. (and I am certain that the feeding is optional as both of the family members spoil the boy rotten with treats and scraps.) Admittedly, I feel a tad guilty about all the time away. He has never spent this much time apart from me since he came into my life. And I know he misses all the ‘walkies’ like we had in Texas and Indiana. Heck, we used to take 3-4 walks a day in Indy. It doesn’t help that the shop I work in has three shop dogs either. I would take him with me except for the fact that he always wants to be the dominant dog, AND he hates car rides with a passion. (strange mutt!) I definitely don’t want to have to clean dog puke out my truck every day just to pamper the boy. (speaking of the mutt, He is curled up on my feet while I write this. Not exactly comfortable for either of us, but he is content to be close. Yeah, he misses his daddy during the week.

Did I mention that I am reading a new book? How Round is your Circle. Damned good book for those of us that never had the chance to go to engineering school. Interesting stuff in that one. Note: I never cease to learn new(to me) things. The day I fail to learn something new is the day they bury me.(and that is debatable as well: What’s on the other side? Guess I will learn something new even then. LOL)

So there you have it: the why I am being quiet on the webs (busier than I can even describe) (and not much to talk about that isn’t obvious to anyone that isn’t already in the loop). I hate to say it, but its time for Dio to concentrate on Dio and the things that will keep Dio alive when the times get even harder. I will be doing a post about the wind Genny install, but that will be in a few weeks when all the parts finally come together. Wind Gennies don’t do to well at ground level (and I wouldn’t want those blades within 5′ of curious dog noses either) and the tower is going to be the most interesting part of the post (in my opinion)(teaser: y’all know my fascination with bicycle parts? They come into play again.) I am sure there will be many many questions about why I did such and such, or didn’t do such and such, but I leave that for the comments section or emails or phone calls to those of you so inclined. What I can tell you about now is that only those items mentioned were purchased outright. Reason being, it was cheaper for me at this point to buy, vs try and build up the materials to do it myself. The tower head (where the PMA mounts up) is all scrap material that I scavenged and am welding up. The tower poles are pipe that I am purchasing from a client, but I will be cutting them into sections that I can dismantle if things get to that point.(as well as being easier to transport from the purchase place. The sticks are 24′ in length! Kinda hard to strap to the Jimmy) Even the guyline cables are going to be made by yours truly after I get all the hardware in place.

Till then, y’all take care of yourselves, stay safe and keep a weather eye on the future. Its gonna get hairier soon ’nuff if’n current trends continue.

EDIT: A reader pointed out a mistake to me in my facts.  Cloward/Piven wrote that strategy a long time before the Clitonista’s. The Clintons did award laurels and accolades to them while in office though.  That image  of them all in the rose garden made my confusion.  Thanks much J for the correction

11 responses

  1. Sorry about the font change mid post. Can’t fix it right now due to being on break at work.

    February 3, 2014 at 9:46 am

  2. The market is down over 300 today. If you are up just 2, you are doing better than most people in this country. Hang in there, buddie.

    February 3, 2014 at 5:33 pm

    • Hangin’. But not ‘hanged’ as yet. Sure they will get to taht eventually.

      February 5, 2014 at 9:34 am

  3. Dio, That’s life.! When you got the time you ain’t got the money and when you got the money you ain’t got the time. I think you are smart to focus on the house and not upgrading the RV more right now. It’s an okay backup but you will feel like you better getting four walls up on your Doomstead.

    You might checkout DRMO at your local military base for radio antenna towers. The basic FM radio antenna can be erected by a couple of people in about 10 minutes and it’s basically a series of hollow aluminum tubes (3 ft. sections) that lets you set the height up to 50 feet. Easy to put up and take down in case of high winds. They can handle about 40 mph winds if you keep the guy lines taut. If you find a (MSE) line of sight radio ant. in the 10 meter or 30 meter version that would be a good choice for your Windmill as you can go up and down via a crank and it should make any repairs somewhat easy if not simple.

    February 3, 2014 at 10:55 pm

    • Yup! That ‘holy trinity’ I always talk about; time, space and money, ya usually have two and a serious lack of the third, take your pick as to which is short.
      DRMO would be fine but I am trying to keep the materials common so that others can duplicate if they want. More details of that coming soon

      February 5, 2014 at 9:37 am

  4. Good to see you are progressing nicely Dio! Look forward to seeing you and Voo in the future.

    February 4, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    • Voo still perks his ears when I say ‘Uncle Mark’. We will see each other again, I can only hope the circumstances are as peaceful as he last time

      February 5, 2014 at 9:39 am

      • Yup. I think things will hold until our next get together. Stay safe and warm.

        February 14, 2014 at 1:33 pm

  5. wonderdawg

    I liked the second font better, easier on the ole eyes. Hearing lots of chatter as to the fall coming Mar/April…that the fed is close to bankruptcy in that Germany after servral attempts at an audit on 450 metric tons that the fed was suppose to be holding, now has called for the return of the gold…uh,oh, bet VooDoo not in misery over the circumstances, sound like he got the best deal

    February 4, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    • Noted on the font.
      Yeah, other than my booting him outta that house at zero dark thirty into the comd doghouse, he gets the sweeter deal. Free food and free run and no job. What a welfare dawg! ROFL

      February 5, 2014 at 9:41 am

      • Still not worth a shit, I see. Oh well… look at his owner. 🙂

        Does that comd doghouse stand for Command Post (for dogs)? If so, there’s no doubt who the CO is. Colonel Voo!

        February 5, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Leave a Reply

