Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Compromised comms, the new norm

ZeroHedge had a recent article about the NSA being able to hack EVERY Iphone, easily and in an undetectable way. Reading the article, I was using my Iphone and started getting a really shitty feeling about that fact.

‘First off, ‘Terroreests’ aren’t going to go out and get a high tech smart phone to do clandestine work, they are going to go with cheap ass throw-aways that likely have no records attached to them, and they are likely going to use them as triggers far more than they would comms. The fact that the NSA is targeting the most popular (or one of the most popular) smart phones out there shows the fallacy behind the statement of “for the public safety” in the mission statement. What it really means is that they have every reason to distrust the American public because they are in the final stages of a complete overthrow of this country.

Where do we go from here? That is the one question that I keep hearing in all of my conversations behind the scenes. Hell, I think the answer is obvious at this stage. It can only go in one direction and that path leads to a lot of heartache and pain for all involved, on both sides of the argument. And the fact that the asshats leading us in that direction are likely not prior military shows a serious lack of planning on their part.

Don’t get me wrong, its going to be a tough row to hoe. Many are going to perish. But I think in the long run, the current path we are on will come out to a much brighter future.

I can hear some of the arguments now. “What about the tanks and other armor? What about the air superiority?” Phisshaw! Yeah, it will give a decided edge to the opposition at first. But think on this: In the current Sandbox, which has been taking place for the last 10+ years, we, Americans, have had the decided technological edge from the get go. Why are we still fighting that war? Not (just) because the PTB want it so, but because a single guy with an old bolt action MilSurp rifle and a lot brass can do an incredible amount of damage to that tech as well as moral of the troops. And one guy with a piece of unexploded ordinance can do serious catastrophic damage to equipment, troops etc. These things are a daily occurrence over there, and no matter how many hellfires we drop on them from Drones piloted by some high ranking bench warmer in Nevada, they continue to grow in force while we continue to lose that war. (I am guessing that the brass never learned a fuckin thing about ‘Nam. But then, most of the brass in place now never saw much beyond Desert Storm before the current fracas.)(Note, I was a brat running around diapers at first, then with a toy M-16 when Nam was in vogue. My lessons learned are from reading history, and talking to Vets of that era.) The only upside to now from then, No Draft. But then, why do you need a draft when the economy is so shitty, that people would rather face bullets “just to have a job!” I have heard that the recruiters are having a harder time filling billets, not due to lack of recruitment, but lack of education or skills. Hmm, I see a trend here, and one that goes far beyond the mere ‘National Security” debate. But I digress.

Here is where I sit on all of this. What I do, I keep to myself for the most part. What I webcast is stuff that I have no issues sharing information about. It is NOT all that there is to me, and that can be attested to by others that have met me.

Remember this guy?
SargentSchultz
Enough said about that.

Where this becomes a problem is the simple act of communications. We have had this discussion at other times, and there is still a lot of thumb twiddling going on as far as I can see.

We need a code book. That is the best I can come up with. Not a code book for everyone though. Just something simple between specific groups that can be kept within that group. There should be enough overlap that with several codes going, that information could be transmitted, albeit slowly, between the groups. But so much better than having every single point of your life subject to analysis by the NSA, just because you couldn’t keep your private life off the one piece of equipment you thought you could trust. (sorry, but a unit that has several different modes of communication, is like a revolving doorway to the nets. No matter how tight you are, something is going to get out. My biggest bitch about it is the damned camera. No way to know if it is on or off and there are TWO of them on the newer Iphones. I can watch what I say, but body language can give many clues about what a conversation is really entailing.)

I have a lot more to say, but I am not comfortable saying it at this stage. Especially not in a public format where I have no control over whom sees it.

I am just waiting to see what Apple does now that the cat is out of the bag. Kinda like when people found out that the phones were sending out personal information without their knowledge. Apple had to back peddle fast to keep from losing ground in the public domain of cellphones. Maybe this will get apple off its ass to do something right.

I have my doubts though. Same as last time, it will be a band-aid at best and good cover for the next travesty done in the name of ‘national security’.

And I am building a Faraday cage for my Iphone. I won’t need it often, but there are times where I want that thing as blocked up as I can get it and I don’t trust the off-switch. (kinda hard to pull the battery as well.) Seeing how I recently upgraded and had to sign another 2 year agreement, the redtape of changing out to a different phone is against me. Though, if push comes to shove, that Iphone ends up in a faraday cage permanently, and I get a cheepy toss off for comms.(and the fact that I am already researching a cheepy toss off says push is coming to shove.)

Oh, and Happy New Years. Welcome to the new normal, all thanks to this guy.6a00d835349ad569e2013484826604970c

 

Papa Romeo: 10-65

5 responses

  1. sparks31

    There are a few of us working on things…

    January 1, 2014 at 9:18 am

    • `As I am aware, and I am not at all disheartened by. What does deflate my hope is the lack of thought by most others on this very critical subject. I will be putting more thoughts forth on it soon. Nothing to use, other than thoughts on security and creativity. I leave the actual codes to those that make them.

      January 1, 2014 at 1:37 pm

  2. SnakeIN

    NSA vs smartphones is just like some areas banning .50 cal rifles because “only terrorists would need a rifle that big”. Strange that there has never been a terrorist incident involving a large bore rifle.
    Keep on keeping on

    January 1, 2014 at 11:09 am

    • “but they can shoot down planes with those things!”
      un-huh, and I have a bridge in Arizona to sell ya.

      January 1, 2014 at 1:38 pm

  3. Soffitrat

    You guys are touching on an item of critical import. I still have my ‘old’ phone. It’s in the bedroom charging. Then the battery comes out for a half day. While I travel? Batteries are the key to those old ones. They are making them more difficult to find. Alternatives are important to have. Also nom de guerre’s. Alias, Smith & Jones. Still, when everything is said and done, I put up nothing (in public) that can defeat me.

    January 1, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

