Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

A book Report and thoughts

So I am a voracious reader, (among other intellectual ‘sports’) and I am also very frugal.

So, I saw a give-away of a kindle edition of Max Velocity’s ‘Resistance Uprising’ and jumped on it. (give away was over last weekend, sorry, gotta pay for it now)

Short take, as I am not done with it yet, is this: It reads like a military Mission Briefing/After Action Report. It ain’t gonna be for everyone.

On the up side, there is information in there that is quite useful. I am not one that normally keeps a notebook handy to take notes, but this is one read where I recommend it. Good information on vehicles, loose information on ordinance (for reasons to avoid attention, I am certain.) Great information on small unit tactics.

And it still reads like an Mission Briefing/After Action Report.

There are things mentioned that, while they would be great to have in a resistance situation, in all likelihood, the small units are gonna be sorely lacking. He mentions in one place that there would be a lack of AR’s that can handle the 5.56 round, and there may be some that can’t handle it, but most of the ones I have seen of late have the chambering for it as a standard. I don’t know if this is an oversight on MV’s part, or if its a continuation of an urban myth. Yes, there is a chambering for both .223 and 5.56 and it has a name though I find I am short on memory at this stage to tell you what that is.

But I digress. I think, in the situation potential that we have in our future, the name of the game is gonna be “runwhatchabrung”, not some fantasy of fearless vets coordinating other fearless vets with a handful of newb’s to coax into an “Awesome fighting force of Rangers, Force Recon, and SEALs” with equivalent firepower to the opposition. (minus Airpower of course)

And lets not even talk about that fearless vet thing. That is a myth in and of itself. I have never met anyone that faced the Elephant and didn’t want to shit his/her pants. You do what needs done, and worry about the facts later. Fear is just a sidecar passenger you learn to live with. Like a friend of mine has stated; “You do what needs done and leave the worry for later. If’n you live, No worries. If’n you don’t, No worries. If’n you get that ticket home, No worries. Worry comes when you start to figure out how to live without legs, or other key parts that make you ‘normal’.” Seeing how this guy was career military and did a stint as Boot instructor, as well as multiple tours overseas, many of which were NOT ‘war’ but some action to keep communism at bay; well, I’d say he has his dope on the rope about fear and worry in action. (and none of this is intended as a dig on MV, his words have value, but his words may lose an audience due to their dryness)

What I am taking from the book, is what kind of actions would someone in my position be able to provide for an effort as described by the book. I am not going to be able to run kilometers, in full battle rattle and then hold my own in a prolonged firefight where full auto is the name of the game in the opposition arsenal. Or worse, get into a prolonged fire-fight then have to didi mau kilometers to an extraction point. I am in good shape, for a civilian, but I don’t hold any illusions about that situation. It leaves me to think about what a person like myself could do, to help level the playing field. Guerrilla style obviously.

And then I see images of stolen rocket launchers attached to compact pick-up trucks.

Then I see the infighting amongst bloggers and I shut my trap again.

That isn’t to say I don’t have any input, I just don’t post about it. Meat-space only, thankyaverymuch!

But what is one to do in the meantime. Build networks? Well, been there tried that, move along; easier to herd cats.

Keep key contacts and a certain amount of discretion in comms. That seems the only answer if one wants any longevity in the game we are embarked upon. (and yes, I know that this is actually building a network. This is the basis of ‘cells’ which I think is gonna be the key to success.)

Run with that thought with me for a few, if you will. I know local is the current logic option running the spheres. Great thought, but are you taking it past the local food situation to the local enterprise situation? Are you finding those locations where they have resources like plate steel, machining equipment, torches and tools? Are you getting with the owners and finding out where they sit in the political thought sphere? What about doctors, veterinarians, pharmacists, other people who have access to chemical supplies, or fuels, or, well, you name it. All of this stuff has been on a local scale despite the recent (30 year) run to Centralize commodities and services. There are machine shops even around here, some are even way back up in the hollars (like mine will be.) Heck, in some cases, its even easier to find these things out in the sticks, than it is in a city. I know you aren’t going to find any rough cut lumber mills in a city, but they are about a dime a dozen out my way.

Here is where things get funky, YOU, can do the leg work on this one by yourself. At the Vet’s getting Fido ‘fixed’, just start up a small conversation about healthcare with the Vet and see where that person stands in the political sphere. You don’t even have to play the hard core conservative here, just roll with the conversation and see where it takes you. What you learn on the other hand from that conversation will tell you whether you should pursue that person as an asset, or list them with the rest of the zombies. Rolling your conversations on the fly like that is also good practice for when you have to be the ‘loyal progressive shill’ as cover later down the road. Yeah, I am suggesting a certain amount of dishonesty here, but I think that such is acceptable in light of our current world standing. SO long as you remain honest with yourself, that is. And yes, having conversations such as those will make you want to get home and soak yourself in bleach and scrub your mouth with lysol.

I want to quote a sayin’ from my Corps days.

Adapt

Improvise

and Overcome.

That is the name of the game in our days. We are not going to have that all purpose multi-use Remington 7000 Full-auto Chainsaw/Shotgun on hand when the shit gets sticky. We will have what we have and a full load of grey matter at our disposal, and that grey matter is what is gonna turn the tide, if it is able to be turned.

And you will have to accept less than perfect in most all cases. Like I mentioned, we will have what we have. That is not necessarily a good thing. What you have may be nothing more than the clothes on your back, a pocket knife and determination.  Think about it,,,,,,,,

All of this goes back to a post I did last Christmas about “Personal Insurance Policy” The further side of that is finding assets within your sphere of influence that you can vet and hopefully pull into your network. You may even find that you are not alone in your efforts and can broaden the scope of your ‘network’ by combining efforts.(Note, I intend to reprint that Christmas post again this year, with some addendum I find worthy.)

 

(side note:  this is the 100th post on this blog.   yay me!)

5 responses

  1. Spud

    As a part of the “Sneaky Snakes” we also learned to adapt, improvise or quickly became overcomed…. Those lessons it seems are never forgotten. Even if I was just an Army puke lol

    Hey, The other day Amazon had those cheap assed “Military tent stoves” on sale for under thirty bucks. Didn’t really need one but thought , wut the hell for that price !
    Needs some TLC here and there , especially in the door department but a bit of extra metal and a different latch and all will be good. Cain’t hurt to have another cook stove or extra heater around. Metal is so thin that it’s almost instant heat from just a few small twigs.

    Congrats on the 100 th, May we be so fortunate that we will see the thousandth….

    November 29, 2013 at 3:03 pm

  2. The Soffitrat

    Oh, honesty! Oh, reality! You’re killing us with that stuff… The type of ‘stuff’ we don’t see in the blog world. It’s so rare that most don’t know it when they see it. Most are so far out there that they really do believe in Superman and Lois Lane.

    Congrats on the 100th. Took you long enough! LOL

    November 29, 2013 at 3:38 pm

  3. Anon.

    Ah yes, run with what ya’ brung. love it Dio. There is so much B.S. on these blogs today that I give very damn few a minute of my time. A minute that I can use to further prep for an unknown future.

    I do believe that it was General Omar Bradley that made the statement “Amateurs study tactics, while professionals study logistics. That statement fits us all who want to prepare for a very uncertain future and sitting around our keyboards slinging SH!T at each other is just pointless and immature.

    November 29, 2013 at 7:29 pm

  4. Hi Dio,

    Very important advice you have given us here in this posting. Thanks!

    And thanks for all the practical tips we’ve seen in your blog over the past year. I always enjoy that hands-on approach that comes naturally to you, peppered with a well-read background for whatever you happen to be describing.

    Looking forward to the next 100!

    Tom

    December 1, 2013 at 1:19 pm

  5. wonderdawg

    Hey, re-read the blog post and comments you tipped me to and do believe you be right….what a loser,lol….next time over that way may have to drop down and pay a friendly visit…..hehehehe

    December 6, 2013 at 12:07 pm

Leave a Reply

