Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

enthymema

The year is waning into the slower colder months and I find that I am waning into a colder mental state as well. (but not a slower working state, quite the opposite)

It seems that there is much going on in the world, a world I am rapidly becoming quite disconnected with.  And I find, I am happier for it.   I have been quite busy the last couple of weeks, working for self and others, some of which costs me, and the other pays me, but for every dime in, I extoll it out for improvements of my little world.    I have recently acquired a water tank for my stead, I found the spring I have needed and managed to tap it and set up a collection point to go into the tank.    Digging 600’+ of trench to get a 2″ line to my place from the spring/tank location so that I can have the water where I need it, not hauling it.      The tank is located 30′ higher than my place so water pressure should not be an issue (excepting that it might be on the high side.   Not sure if the lines in my RV can handle it but I will find out what kind of pressure I have at the bottom BEFORE I tie in )   The spring is putting out just over a gallon/hour and is very clean.   I will put in a sediment trap before the tank as I found that it can get stirred up when it rains.   Not much, just some sand, but I would rather the ability to get it out easily without having to drain the tank to do so.    Granted, I will still have to do so to clean the tank on occasion, but that is for algae.   I will try to keep that to a minimum with chlorination, but to be honest, I hate the taste of chlorinated water.

Yeah, I know that I haven’t been very up on my blogging lately, my apologies to those that read me.    To be honest, that waning into a colder mental state reflects into my desire to keep this blog going.    I am not shutting it down as I know that there are still things that I need to say: I just find that I haven’t much to say that others aren’t already saying.    I am not on top of world events like I should be, but then, I am happier not swallowing that crap on a daily basis.    I check the drudge, shake my head, then go back to work.    It just doesn’t seem all that important when I have so much more to get done here.    I have stocked my wood piles (yes plural now) I have a septic system in place.  I am working on the water supply and will have it ready soon.    I have my power systems in place and able to expand if needed.    I still need to build my workshop but even that is getting closer to reality  SO LONG AS the world holds together.    And lets face it, It doesn’t seem that likely to hold together much longer.    I feel (and this has been spoken of by others to me over phone) that we are in ‘Crunch time’.

With that in mind, there are going to be large gaps in my blogging.    Maybe when the snows hit, and I am getting signal again while snow bound on my hill, the blogging will increase.   Till then, I can only say that 1) I am not done talking, 2) T’ain’t Ded yet!   3) I am hoping that all of you are making as much progress as I in your preparations for whatever is coming down the historical pike-way.

17 responses

  1. SnakeIN

    Really glad to see your post. Was beginning to worry about you. Obviously, I’ve been just as remiss in e-mailing you. Still have some pix to send. If you only have 30 feet of head, you won’t have to worry about excess water pressure. Can’t remember the conversion right now but I doubt you’ll have even 20 psi. You may experience a little drop in flow after the initial surge when you open a valve, but that should be minimum with 2″ line.

    September 24, 2013 at 3:07 pm

    • Glad to hear from ya Snake, Yeah, we are both remiss in communications. Best to text me if you need something quickly; the net and I are not very sympatico currently.

      September 26, 2013 at 3:23 pm

  2. That was all good news! I’m about to shut (slow?) mine down too. It is getting dicey. Stay in touch.

    September 24, 2013 at 11:36 pm

    • I understand what you mean. Most of my silence is just me not wanting to make the trip to a node. I get a whole lot more done if I can stay in place and focus instead of trying to squeeze a weeks worth of surfing into an hour or two. So many blogs and other reads that I have just let go the wayside.
      But I am happier for it. Less stress over the ‘current events’ and definitely less over the political dancing among some.

      September 26, 2013 at 3:26 pm

  3. Dio, I think we feel the changing of the season and we feel the need to finish up those before winter hits projects. The PTBs are going to do what they want and the “little people” should be good little serfs while our “betters” run the world. They are doing such a great job, I can’t imagine any rational person being concerned. /sarc

    wonderdawg checked in at my site and got his solar power system up and running the fridge and his basics. He also got his woodstove and pipe installed and just needs to finish up the heat protection for his place.
    I get a bigger thrill about reading folks get off the grid and becoming more self-reliant or going “Galt” than anything I read about the beltway and our “elites”.

    I’m starting on my last 55 gallon drum for long term food storage. Rice is the last drum and I think I will fill it before the end of the year. I think the 55 gallon drums are a great idea for long-term food storage. For one person the drums equals about 3 years of long term food. The four drums will fit in an area of 6 feet by 3 feet wide by 3 feet high. Not to bad for over a 1/2 ton of food that cost less than $800.00 including the barrels.

    September 25, 2013 at 12:12 am

    • I love the 55 gallon drum Idea. No way I can implement it right now as I have all these other projects going on. I sank 4 more posts for the smithy shed today. I will be putting up the roofing on that soon, and the walls will be temporary installs. I want to be able to take them off in summer months. Forges get rather hot ya know. Some of my current projects are of the ZeroBudget type. I have found that a person can actually do quite a lot with nearly zero expenditure if they are only willing to put forth some effort to find ‘deals’ or what another tosses away (though still good)

      September 26, 2013 at 3:22 pm

  4. Spud

    Hey Mountain man, nice hearing from ya’ll !
    Same here , just getting ready for whatever comes down the pike and working to make a living.
    You should have between 10 & 12 lbs. of pressure. Possible is just over 13 static.
    Stay safe and be happy !

    September 25, 2013 at 5:17 am

    • Thanks for doin’ the math for me there. I am guessin’ that if I want more pressure, I need a larger feed pipe (since I can’t gain any on the head department) Well, 13 psi is better than needing to run a pump to get into the house. I can always tie it in prior to the pump in house and the pump will supply the pressure for showerin and the like. one way valve between it and the storage tank and I won’t have to worry about overflow and I would still have that extra sitting there ‘JIC’

      September 26, 2013 at 3:14 pm

      • Spud

        Increasing pipe size will only increase volume, static pressure will remain the same. Though you will have less loss of pressure thru friction…

        September 28, 2013 at 4:08 am

  5. wonderdawg

    Same here as being too busy to scan the blogs much, but amazing how much more seems to get done without the Computer or boob tube on. Last couple days of wet weather has filled my 1000 gal water tank to overflowing which served to flush the floating residue from inside of tank. As Jamie said, I have my solar partially operational and will add to as can and putting in cool walls for heater this week….Had to break out the long pants and shirts couple times, so will be needing soon enough….reckon some of our ears may be burning this weekend from over Tejas way….lol….stay safe bro, write when you can, always worth the wait..

    September 25, 2013 at 10:57 am

    • had a fire built over a couple of nights, its headin back into that time again.
      and absolutely it is amazing how much one can get done when the idiot boxes get turned off. No radio signals for crap up here (unless ya like 24/7 preachin’) so I just turn the Itunes to shuffle and let it roll. Keeps me from settlin’ down and bein’ lazy.

      September 26, 2013 at 3:10 pm

      • Let’s see… the Hatfield’s and the Ma…? …the who? 😀 LOL! Not even radio! BTW, the old water well (up front) looks like good agua after all. I’m stunned. (what is it they say about my blind relatives and acorns?) Submersible and solar will be going in soon! We miss your ugly face around here.

        September 26, 2013 at 11:03 pm

      • Yup, not even radio, not really. Nearest good station is over several ridges and not in line of sight to me. Local radio is religious and seems like its ALL just preachin’, not even gospel music. No thanks.
        Glad to hear you are making inroads on the off grid stuff. Good sunlight there, you should be fine. And plenty of water too.

        September 27, 2013 at 11:12 am

  6. Slacking as usual I see! LOL. Same here a little Drudge shows the bottom is rapidly falling out. Local Fox news shows I really need to get out of Indy,no longer safe at tall.. Found that damn pipe,cut bad spot an spliced it for now. Gonna lay in cts flex line in a couple weeks. Hang tough Bro talk at ya soon.
    China
    III

    October 10, 2013 at 8:04 pm

    • The Soffitrat

      Is it called slacking? I bet he wishes it were. 🙂

      October 18, 2013 at 5:14 pm

  7. Soffitrat,i know he’s hyper and would find something do,even if there was nothing to do!
    China
    III

    October 22, 2013 at 11:43 am

    • The Soffitrat

      China, I agree. Finally heard from him today! After how long??? And you are spot on. He’s staying busy, which we knew. And had good news, too.

      Soffit

      October 28, 2013 at 4:32 pm

Leave a Reply

