Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Frugal Heat Redux

Yuppers,, not much to talk about.   So much going on in the world, and seems that some still want to continue the infighting when there are more important things to deal with.  Thanks Toaster for your words, I agree wholeheartedly.   Been some time, glad to hear you are still out there and kicking.

Anyways, I had the stove all built, installed it in the Beast, and realized, I yet again, over-engineered my project.   The search was on for another piece of salvage to get creative with.

Here is the start of that one.

Forming up

Forming up

In comparison, here is old and new for your inspection.

Older on left, newer on right, Bigger is better but thats TOO damned big!

Older on left, newer on right, Bigger is better but that’s TOO damned big!

I worked some parts a little differently this go-round, like the door, which I hammered to shape (note the rounded edges)  and I didn’t make the hinge nearly as robust.   Also the coffee pot ledge is just two sections of 1/2″ round stock tacked into place level with the top curve.   Works well too.  Here it is a little further along.

Details details details    Gettin cozy with metal and welder

Details details details Gettin cozy with metal and welder

And for final comparison between the stove I just made and the stove that carried me and the Voo through last winter.    There is only 2″ difference in diameter, but that makes a world of difference in the total size.

New on left, old on right,  bigger is better, but not TOO big.

New on left, old on right,
bigger is better, but not TOO big.

There is also a 6″ difference in length so I can burn larger logs.  More fuel, means longer burn time or higher heat levels  depending of course on how open the dampers are.  (there is the one on the front, and one in the flue to slow draw)

Burn in was a complete success!    I had the damper wide open and the initial charge of kindling actually had the back of the stove glowing cherry red.  That was before I even put ‘real wood’ into it.     The draw of the flue is perfect.   I then put in the real wood, closed the damper to about an 1/8″ from the door face and let things go for a bit.   Within 10 minutes, the large amount of smoke (new and cold wood) was tapered down to a clear bluish haze and the heat was very consistent.   I placed a quart pan of water on top and within 15 minutes was starting to simmer and 5 minutes later was a rolling boil.

Well, stove is installed and the fit is just right.    I did add some reflective plates around the stove to keep heat away from walls.  This wasn’t so much an issue with the old stove, but I don’t want to take any chances.

(Sorry to keep bouncing around on topic, Jamie,    You have to realize that I usually have MANY irons in the fire, it just depends on what one I am hammering on, and on what day it is.  LOL)

3 responses

  1. We had a smoker that we once built out of real large OD pipe. We mounted it on an old 3,000 lb. axle, which was over loaded and swayed. We called it the “big ugly”. The lid was almost too much for a 225 lb. man to lift, and we had to add counter weights. LOL!

    But it cooked like crazy. The wall thickness made all the difference in the world. It’s still around, and will be for about the next thousand years! Maybe you can adopt the same name for your new creature. 🙂

    September 3, 2013 at 3:47 pm

  2. Spud

    Ain’t thet a cute lil bug ! Sho nuff righteous bro…

    September 4, 2013 at 2:50 am

  3. Dio, Don’t wory about bouncing around. I do that a lot myself on my Blog. From trying out a new stir fry recipe to testing a new camp stove, making beer or a getting things for set up for my portable solar generator.

    September 4, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

