Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Open posting reachout, and some other stuff too!

Well, I hope you all enjoyed Rusty’s efforts.   I know that I was truly impressed by the pics.   I have been talking to Rusty off and on the entire time (when he comes out to get a phone signal) providing advice and other things, and I had NO CLUE just how much he had actually done.  He downplays his work a lot in conversation showing just how humble he really is.   Believe me, this was an eye opener for me, not just in what he has done, but in the mans nature as well.  I am extremely proud to be able to call this man “My Friend”.

Now I know that I have been rather silent of late, for that I must apologize.   I have several posts written, but on second read, they just don’t ‘inspire me’ to hit the publish button.    They wait in the wings for when they have ripened up or until I just hit the delete button on them.

I have also been busy around and about the stead and with family in the area.   I mentioned harvest time was on us.   Not just for the food items, but one other action that I so rarely see brought up in prepper circles:  Seed accumulation.   Depending on what you are raising, you want to put away a certain amount for next years planting.   Typically 1/4 of your crop should go towards next year.   The beauty of this, you get to pick the seed that seemed to thrive the best, culling the rest.   Culling in this sense means cook’n-n-eat’n what you cull.   (or canning for later use, of course)  It may seem excessive, but there is always the chance that you get a ‘bad batch’ and have to replant.   Consider it yet another insurance policy.   The whole plant grow save action means that you can keep on growing with one purchase, IF you use your brains.   And I am all about working smarter, and being frugal.   This is just one more aspect of that.

I have some pics of our beans drying for next year, but of course, the phone is being particular about what I am doing right now (update download) so I can’t get them while I am tapping this out.    But I do have some info to share with you.   (these will be posted in the side bar for you to grab as you can.  )

FIrst up, “Seed to Seed” by Suzanne Ashworth

Must read for anyone that grows Heirlooms

Second:The Vegetable Gardener’s Bible, 2nd Edition by Edward C. Smith

I think that says enough about what it is about.   Get it anyway, great stuff on keeping your heirlooms, heirloom and not cross pollinated with hybrids.

And Third, more information than you can swallow in one read: Country Wisdom & Know-How

(I do NOT make any money through amazon, nor am I affiliated with any of the above Persons, or publishers.  This is just essential knowledge and a good source of it, that I wish to share with others.   )

 

Now, the reach out.   If you are like Rusty or myself, doing something to better your arrangements in a screwed up world, don’t want to take the time to set up a blog or what not, Feel free to send me a write up and some pics.   I will clean the pics of metadata(GPS location and the like), remove any reference to your location (some editing, but I will try to leave your words as intact as possible.) and then post your actions for the world to see.   Consider it a ‘brag’ of sorts if you will.    I am hoping that others can be inspired as well.  Not just by me, but by all the “Doings” other Do’ers as well.

And on that note, I am off to get back to doing things that need getting done.

 

8 responses

  1. wonderdawg

    Half a dozen independent farm stores within 20 miles of me that sell both heirloom and hybrid seed in bulk or small amounts and beat the chain stores big time and seeds are proven for this area and climate. Bought 2 sets of seeds from you know who as a peace offering, but never again, even if he has to sell all his guns. Close friend has 3 generation farm that plants big every year, hasn’t bought seed in years, other than some hybrid tomato plants. Some of his seed line goes back almost a hundred years.

    August 18, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    • See Sea

      You know what, that is about one of the most petty, childish, selfish, ignorant statements I think I have ever heard. Jesus H. Christ, get the hell over yourself! Yeah, I know I am supposed to “sit on the fence”, but fuck that, I can’t sit idly by when this kind of shit is being slung. Hey Rusty, why don’t you list all those stores within 20 miles of you? And “peace offering”? I call bullshit. You never once inquired about the other side of the story from me, the one who got called out as a “fence sitter”, then got ripped for doing just that, and when I got attacked, was asked to get back on the fence!!! And I doubt you asked Bill either. No, you just listened to Dio. Maybe because YOU profited from Dio’s shenanigans? Some 7.62x54r comes to mind…

      August 19, 2013 at 11:16 pm

      • Get over yourself you ain’t that special! I got shit to do and people to be. You want to sit and piss and moan life is unfair,. You are right life is unfair! So what will you do about it? Nothing it’s much easier to whine than get off your ass and do something. Of course Craig the man is keeping you down expecting you to follow the law that you only found arbitrary and capridious when applied to you.

        August 21, 2013 at 2:45 am

  2. Wow Craig that is what you got to say to a man that gave you a boat? You attack him on another site. We have all stopped by tried to help you and others in their endevors. On a post that has nothing to do with you. Obviosly we do not meet your high standards. Craig I hope you get what you deserve.

    August 21, 2013 at 2:00 am

    • Spud

      You took the words right outa my mouth Jamie !

      August 21, 2013 at 6:29 am

  3. wonderdawg

    First off, I don’t need your or Bill’s version of what happened, I was there at both Patcoms….or PatsyCons as they have turned out to be IMHO…as far as the can of ammo, $75-100 worth of ammo is not going to buy me off, maybe you, but not me…As to the feed stores, I could name them, but unlike you I prefer to keep my location unknown to all but the trusted and that surely no longer includes you. It doesn’t take a genius to google up any small rural town in the deep south and find feed and seed stores abundant…hell, they are 4-5 in the Slidell area and that’s a metro area, we drove by 3 on the way to my daughters, duh….AND as to the boat and traps, the honorable thing for you to do which I seriously doubt, would be to sell all of the traps, boat and computer you bought with donations and return the money back to all that contributed, except for me, I want nothing from your pathetic excuse making self…except I do hope you don’t hock the antique Cherokee silver/turquoise friendship ring I gave your daughter when you run short of beer or gigs next time. Maybe one day you may learn that being a giver instead of a taker brings good karma instead of bad….but I doubt it.

    August 21, 2013 at 6:34 am

    • See Sea

      So you don’t deny that is about one of the most petty, childish, selfish, ignorant statements I think I have ever heard.

      August 21, 2013 at 7:53 pm

  4. Guess you guys have seen what these chumps have tried to do to me. Good luck with that one. LOL! Hell! I never even met them! Dio, I’ll PM you. You were right. The two in Texas are just plain nasty (as demonstrated here). But then (and no offense, to you bro), that’s what we get with carpetbaggers & slugs.

    I had no idea. But I do now! It’s all good, though. I’ll explain.

    August 22, 2013 at 2:51 am

Leave a Reply

