Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

busy

Been quite busy this week. I made reference to ‘being busier than a one legged man in an ass kicking contest’, and believe me, I feel it. The pic below is actually one of the lighter weight projects. The stove cap for the new pipe. I did upgrade that pipe to 3 1/2″ and the daggum thing works pretty good now. No more belching.
cap
And we have been getting more wood from the hills. This is a load of hickory we picked up. I split it later. One truck load equals half a row in my “hillbilly woodshed”.hickory This monster was this mornings project. Doesn’t look like much in the pic, but that beast weighed down the truck to near danger levels.(and thats the dad cutting through one half, I had to take the pic so you can’t see me cutting through the other half.)log1 and back home unloaded, and I am trying to split these into smaller chunks that I can use. That first bust is the hard one. Once you have it in half, the rest of the splits seem like magic in comparison. log2 Out of order of course, This is the finished stove door. 1/8″ groove welded to the back side you can’t see for the gasket, the damper is a 4″ disc of stainless I had laying around. The handle is actually the top of the propane bottle in reverse welded to the 1/2″nut and the plate. There are 6 1″ holes behind the damper that you can’t see. I am working on wrapping a spring to attach to that handle to cut the heat but it works for now. It doesn’t get TOO hot, but it will warm your paw if you aren’t careful. stovedoor

There are pics that didn’t get taken unfortunately.  This has been first heavy harvest week.  Beans and Corn in and everyone has been jumping around to the different gardens to help each other out.  The pressure canners have been ticking away, and there have been more than a couple meals of beans and cornbread to go round.  Not much meat, but then we are burning through some serious carbs this week, not so much the protein.   I say first heavy harvest as there has been a gleaning of cucumbers and tomatoes all this month, as they ripen.    Potatoes will be soon, and that is one big field that everyone in the family uses.  That will be a fun day.   I can see at least a couple potatoes used for skeet again.   Always someone shooting their mouth off about being good shots and that leads to ‘testing’, and more than a few laughs.

Would stick around and talk more but there is more that needs done and while the days are long right now, it still seems like there just ain’t enough daylight.

Its been busy.

7 responses

  1. theelectorretards

    Nice place…….. must be nice to live in daddy’s basement!

    July 26, 2013 at 7:49 pm

    • Spud

      No shame in electing to live with family…
      however one does wonder about Electing to call oneself a Retard….

      July 27, 2013 at 8:26 am

  2. That is a LOT of hard work! Soon we will all have to be living with family either taking them in or us going to them.

    July 27, 2013 at 11:38 am

  3. Dannyboy53

    We are expecting at least a couple of our kids to be moving in here with us…if they can manage to get here. Gotta do what you gotta do but it is frustrating that so many people are not preparing for the inevitable after so much warning ahead of time!

    Good job on the stove Dio, I’m sure there may be more modifications as time and usage continues. But that’s what makes (near) perfection!

    July 27, 2013 at 12:27 pm

  4. dio, My Dad has been helping me to stack up all my wood. I’ll be able to swing buying my little cast iron stove for the house next month, I’m so excited! All that will be left to buy will is the stove pipe and installation. I need to get some hard wood that burns slow to go along with the wood I bought that buns hot and fast, but I’m working a barter deal for some apple and cherry wood and it will need time to dry.
    Unlike “some people” a major reason I settled in Idaho was to be close to family. They might be living in my basement or RV but they have some good skills and they can work if TSHTF!
    If the world doesn’t blow up I will get a pretty stove for the house and move the cast iron stove to my shop in a year or two.

    July 27, 2013 at 6:51 pm

  5. wonderdawg

    seems some people living in someone’s head….

    July 28, 2013 at 6:46 am

  6. Not everybody can be a damned carpetbagging Yankee POS. Huh?

    September 14, 2013 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

