Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

To fill in the blanks

For the record, “Motivations” was designed as a trap, and an eye opener. For the first part of that, I am happy to say, it worked quite well. For the second part, Well, ‘There Ain’t No Justice’. Part of that was my not accounting for the targets to play the victim card so well. I underestimated them in that regard and due to that, I relinquish the field.

But not without placing my own words in the public sphere. I am not going to carry this fight forward seeing how those that wish my efforts ill, won’t listen to logic, reason or honesty. Those are the only weapons I have to use in this case, therefore, no chance of winning, nor is there a chance that I could hold my own. I have kept my side to a small sphere, trying to keep the peace until recent. I know that the story isn’t complete, when viewing just one side, and to date, really only one side has been seen. I am also quite aware of the ‘three sides to every story’ analogy. I now present ‘my side’ and I leave it to those that have been following this to come up with the third side; “the Truth”.

First let me describe to you my world as of November 2011. I had been laid-off in late October. Looking for work and collecting unemployment. Not much to go ’round in the financial department. The Patcom Idea was born of TL’s Summit call. I had a running dialogue with Nye at that time, not online, but by phone. I had mentioned I would like to attend but finances wouldn’t allow it. Nye offered to send me a round-trip ticket so that I could attend, stating that my opinions and ideas would be greatly appreciated. Seeing how I don’t fly anymore, that whole TSA thing (and one reason I won’t do the touring thing anymore, but not the only reason; my hearing being the other.) I said I would rather drive. So travel money was sent to me (one way, the rest to be given at site. Understood, “you don’t really know me and I could skip out” was what I recall saying to Nye at that time. Note: most all conversations were by phone or text, I don’t record conversations, and the texts from that time have long since been deleted.) I don’t recall the exact figure that was finally passed to me, but I can say, while sizable, it was not enough to cover my travel. I had to dip into my personal finances to cover the trip completely. And never did I bitch about that fact. I felt I was doing something good for the community, something that needed done, no matter the costs.

While at that event, I offered to be the liaison/representative at the Summit. My reason being, I was unemployed, had no anchors like family at home, and lived closer to the event. I also have no need for hotels, staying in the SUV, keeping travel costs down there as well. I was ‘elected’ by the core group to fulfill that role. I do not recall any ‘election’ but I figured my offering was considered my vote, so wasn’t asked. I was informed of “election results” in group (Self, Nye, Cavanaugh, Wonderdog, and Pickdog) and the goals of what I was to accomplish were roughly hammered out at that time. Representative to the Summit was primary, delivering what information we had discussed in group to the Summit. Secondary was as Representative to any Patcom I was to attend, and support to be provided if available and as needed, to be determined by the treasurer (Cavanaugh)

I left that event feeling like I had met lifelong friends and like minded people. Not one of us was happy in leaving, and I recall a few tears from some as well.

Upon returning home, I took the time for my opinions and observations (an after action report) and continued trying to promote through the blog other Patcoms. Roughly a month later, Cavanaugh laid plans for his Coastal Patcom. Again, I was offered travel money to attend. Again, I had to dip into my own money to make the trip; again, no complaints, just stating the fact. While there, it was again decided that I would continue to carry the flame for Texas. There was a raffle set up, but so few attended that the items donated were boxed up and sent with me to carry to China’s event in Indiana. Again, because I was closest. At the end of the event, There was a mechanical break down: Wonderdogs truck puked an alternator, and much of the money went to buying him a new one. I helped install that alternator as well. Yes, I wanted travel money, but I was not so friggin self centered to leave a man stranded on the beach due to it. It should go without saying that I would have been stranded myself if I hadn’t received any travel money as promised. (I was deep into my savings at that point, even having to sell silver coins to make the difference to get home.) I even had to get somewhere to hole up for a few days for the check to clear, both the donation, and the unemployment payment. Yes, I was strapped that tightly then, and still no bitching about it.

I have read a version of what happened there from another person. The recipient of that mail forwarded it to me and asked if I was as confused as he was. We both were there, we both ate sandy food, we both received busted knuckles putting in that alternator, and we are both bothered by someone elses take on the event. I won’t post that nor mention the name as I was asked to keep that email and them out of the public eye. But I have to mention it. There is obviously some ‘revisionism’ taking place at some stage of communications. I can only make suppositions about the why of that, so I leave it as is here.

(Message to CC: If you really think my going to GS’s house to use his internet destroyed your efforts at Coastal, why don’t you make the short drive to his house, or if too lazy for that, CALL him and ask him. He is right out there on Padre Island, a whole hell of a lot closer to spitting distance to you than me. Making assumptions like that without proof shows how shallow this water has become.)

Then came the OVM event. I attended this one as well, not as ‘myself’ per se, but as a representative of the Texas Patcom. Before that event took place, Nye and I, in phone conversation, discussed selling off raffle items, if needed, to get the cash needed to make the trip. I told Bill at the time of conversation, that I had my reservations on selling any of the raffle items, but if need be,,,, This was repeated to Cavanaugh by phone as well, and his statement was essentially “I agree on not wanting to sell, but if Bill says,,,,”(paraphrased) While at the OVM event, I sold one box of 5.56 ammo, that had been donated by Nye. There was more ammo than that, but it was either .22 or 7.62x54r. There was no demand for the later. This comes back to bite me in the ass later in the year. Again, no ‘proof’ that conversation took place as I don’t record phone calls, especially with a trusted friend. (at that time, I felt just such )

While at the OVM event, I made arrangements with Harry to ride share to the Summit in Mercer Co. I had to drive half the distance, where I was picked up by Harry for the remainder of the trip but that would save me greatly in travel costs. I did have to re-arrange my ‘lodging’ as at all the events up to the Summit, I stayed in my SUV for the most part. This round, I used my tent (hammock actually)

The events at the Summit were recorded in an AAR by myself on my blog and others on their sites. The last day, when everyone split up, I went with the OVM and spent that night in a shared room with Harry (an OVM member). I was invited to dinner with the group and there we continued the discussions. At that dinner, I was asked questions about other Patcom attendees, to include Nye and Cavanaugh. I stated my opinions of them in the positive. At that time, I had a positive opinion of them, and no reason to think otherwise. I even defended Nye’s abrasive approach.

After that came a lull in the Patcom’s, at least the ones I could attend. I was not receiving any donations at this stage, nor support to attend others from the TX group. To be honest, I needed a break from all the travel and a chance to rebuild some savings doing side work here locally.

China Syndrome’s event in Indy. I received no support from the Texas Patcom to attend this event. I had even stated to them (phone calls) that I may not be able to fulfill that part of the mission. That was accepted, as I had attended Mercer Co which was the key event I had been elected to cover.

At the last minute, I was able to make the trip. Literally day of kick-off of the event, I received a cash donation from a local person that had been following the event. I was able to deliver the remaining raffle items (minus that box of 7.62, which was misplaced with all the moving around. This box was later given to Wonderdog in Texas.) and I carried the torch of Patcom forward. The event was pretty danged good, and even had some far travelers other than myself show up Blue drove from way out in the western states to attend for only a few hours then turn around and go back. Amazing! At the end of the event, there was a collection put together to help me out. I neither asked for it, nor insinuated to it, and I was quite humbled by the gesture. It definitely put me on more comfortable footing for my return trip home and I still thank those that gave for the effort.

One thing I need to point out to clarify the rest of this post: When I was on my way home from Coastal Patcom, I holed up at Pickdogs retreat in Central Texas. While there, I did a little job searching, just to see what that realm of the world looked like. I decided to come back to Texas at a later date. I even made arrangements for a place to stay with Pick at that time. When I returned to KY, I was given another truck from a family member (didn’t need it) and with some searching and found an RV that the couple wanted to trade for a truck. Serendipity, but it worked. Now I could make the move to Texas and find work so that I could raise the money to build my house in KY. That was the plan anyway. It took a couple of months to raise the money to make the trip there. I had started researching how to extend the Patcom towards the Central part of Texas as well. Establishing contacts of interested parties ,etc. This was going to be a two fold move, and not just to better my financial status. (the unemployment payments had stopped after the Coastal Patcom)

Some of that time was documented on my blog as well. What was not documented was the failure by myself to establish the Patcom movement there. Several reasons, and not one is good enough by itself to hold water. I also make no excuses. I failed, and that’s that.

I was also not able to find work above minimum wage. That bothered me as the distances to drive out there would have ate my wages in fuel costs. No win situation. I worked for Pickdog (also documented, but not the reason) to raise the money to move my butt back home where I could at least be closer to my intentions for the long run: my house and a workshop.

That move home stopped in Winfield TX for a time. Blown engine. Again, Documented. Yes, there were donations to help me get back on the road. While I was working on that dilemma, I was also picking up sub-contract work through the city there. It was during that time the falling out happened between Nye and myself. In a nutshell, what I can figure is, Lack of Communication. Nye was being attacked on his blog and was offended when certain persons didn’t come to his defense. I was unaware of it until AFTER I was attacked in Texts and online. No phone call or text or email prior, asking why I didn’t help out; just straight into attack mode. He even managed to ‘reason’ out that I was influenced by MVB through some rather loose affiliations. (Obvious Moniker, a guest author on my blog, had extended editing services to MVB. That simple extension somehow apparently meant that I was in MVB’s employ and a plant against the Patcoms) Those texts WERE copied and emailed out. Not to try and win favor, but to cover my ass in that situation. I had seen how vindictive Nye can be when he wants to silence a blogger; I really didn’t want to be on the receiving end of that. I even went so far as to change out my blog form, format and content, just to distance myself from the antagonism.

When it came time for me to leave TX (travel money built up) I was given a choice. Home, or the Indy Patcom group, whom were inviting me there at that time. I wanted to go home, as can be attested by a Ghost, but my father told me to hold out as the work scene in KY had become even worse. I went to Indy.

While in the Indy Group, the accusations of theft by Nye started coming in. That was also when I found that Cavanaugh was not willing to defend friends, amongst friends. The theft accusation was over that box of ammo. Later it was expanded into my ‘stealing hard earned money from patriots’ by taking donations. (note: I do have copies of those texts and just how twisted the thinking is). And since then, I have seen that ‘illusion’ of theft extend into Cavanaughs thinking.(as noted in that email I am not at liberty to publish. GRRR)

What happened in Indy will not be discussed here. Least to say, the members that were founding that group, including the host of the host site, did not have final say in how that came apart. It was not due to internal conflict though. Due to the nature of that, I am not at Liberty to discuss it publicly.(this can be verified through China, though he will likely take the same stance of not discussing it in detail or in public other than verify it came apart by outside influences)

I was heading back home again.

That trip home had me working my tail off, mid trip, to put a transmission in the beast. No donations this round, all a loan from a family member. I didn’t feel posting a plea for help was ethical at this stage: My Patcom torch had sputtered out and I was retreating back to my homesite.

That was 4 months ago. I had not posted anything about that time; I just didn’t see any reason to open old wounds. I have maintained contact with the other three people that had much to do with the build up there. There are no hard feelings about what happened. It bites, as we really were making progress towards the goal. My silence on that could be misconstrued as guilt, if someone were looking for such. I leave that as a mental exercise for the reader.

4 almost 5 months now, I am back on my property trying to build my homestead. 8 since the last accusation and attack. I thought that the slander and accusations would cease. I was shown that such was not to be when I was emailed to let me know that Nye and Cavanaugh were back at the slander again.

I had had enough. Time to lay out a trap to show the world just how messed up that little circle jerk is.

(and by the way CC, I changed that font from red to yellow to make it easier to read on my home page, NOT to show you as ‘yellow’. But if you want to take it that way, Freudian reflection and all, hey, more power to you.)

So, now my side is out there. I made some mistakes in trusting people, but at no time did anyone hold a gun to my head: My mistakes are mine and mine alone. I am done with this, I am done with the “Patcom” scene. I learned that while there are many good people out there, there are some that are only in it to make themselves into something they are not. I have lifted that lantern, and the progressive mentality I see (The “it’s not my fault, I’m a victim!” kind of horse shit.) is the same as what you see on the Television. Only this is real life and supposedly downhome conservative people, and that makes it much harder to swallow.

I leave it to the reader to determine who is telling the truth, or if neither side is. At least try to see whose “story” is based in reality and not self-delusional feedback.

It’s time for people to figure out who the real Carney-man is.

 

 

 

18 responses

  1. Thank you Dio!
    At least we have one side of the triangle now.
    I must admit I have been curious without judging.
    I have been surprised but still do not judge anyone.

    July 18, 2013 at 5:46 pm

    • See Sea

      That’s right, you have ONE SIDE, which is all you’ve ever had. Some people are smart enough to let sleeping dogs lie, but not our boy Dio. “Sick smart”. Oh, and as Dio himself pointed out, this canned response came out withing 5 minutes of a text exchange, he having “sprung his trap”. Well who is it that is trapped, I ask? Not I… Maybe one who had to go to such lengths as this? Ever wonder why? Dio will not get what he wants out of this. Keep sweating, “brother”…

      July 18, 2013 at 7:04 pm

      • Craig, I did not have any side before this.
        I do not talk to folks much.
        What are the other two sides of the triangle?

        July 19, 2013 at 4:37 pm

      • See Sea

        The other two sides were (mostly, except for the occasional jab) kept out of the public sphere. They will not be put in the public sphere, because that is exactly what Dio wanted his “trap” to do. The “performance” he was waiting for.

        July 19, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    • I only want people to make up their own minds. If things had been left alone, I wouldn’t be at this again.

      Hope to meet up with you again in the future, I guess it depends on how the world treats us both, eh?

      July 19, 2013 at 11:48 am

  2. Spud

    I had gathered as much and pretty much voted with my feet so to speak Dio. Even tho I did not attend any of the meets, the bloging pretty much had me form an opinion as to the type individuals present at them.

    Keep Bloging Dio, out of the lot you have value to share…

    July 18, 2013 at 7:05 pm

    • Like I said to SnakeIN, I don’t plan on stopping the blog. I apologize as I know that some don’t want any part of drama’s. I hope that some will understand why I was so compelled this go’round.

      Oh, You were right on that stove pipe thing. The 2 1/2″ was not enough and the whole thing started burping after I finished the door and dampers. Learning curve for me, and now I have to get some 4″ pipe. No biggie, I still have a few months till I need it, and I will need to remake the passthrough in the roof. Better to find out now then when trying to install it on the first winter blasts.

      July 19, 2013 at 11:46 am

  3. SnakeIN

    Thanks for the way you handled the IN breakup. And for others…I was there and there was no discord among the players, just an unfortunate outside influence. Spud is absolutely right, you have much value to share so I hope you keep on keeping on. My biggest regret is I had so much more to learn from all the IN participants.

    July 18, 2013 at 7:54 pm

    • I try to be as respectful of privacy as I can. What happened is between those of us that were there, and no one else.

      I don’t plan on shutting down, and I apologize to certain readers that don’t want to read the drama. I had to bring this mess out and expose it for what it is.
      Stay in touch. And Voo sends you and Jayne a big sloppy one.

      July 19, 2013 at 11:42 am

  4. Dio, I have read about many people’s words and deeds. I listen to all and follow none, but seeing how some people have treated others in the last 12-18 months in the so-called “Patriot comunity” has been an eye-opener and not always pleasant but better turn learn now than when things get a lot tougher. While there have been a few bad apples I have also been impressed with how generous people can be to others. In my opinion it seems to break bown that about 75-80% of most people are pretty good folks, 10% are assholes and 10% are complete sociopaths. Given enough time everyone will show what they really are especially when times get tough!

    July 18, 2013 at 8:48 pm

    • Yeah, some real eye openings for myself as well. Heck, some of ’em broadsided me. Then again, I did meet a lot of good people and they made all the traveling well worth the effort.

      July 19, 2013 at 11:39 am

  5. See Sea

    Poor, poor Dio. Being “ostracized” again I reckon. But shall we all recall who it was who opened this can of worms? https://diosworkshop.wordpress.com/2013/07/11/motivations/

    One has to wonder just why someone would open that can, when others were content to let sleeping dogs lie. Except for the occasional, non-specific jab. Ulterior motives? Dio sure has been adamant about “bringing it to comments”. Rather hypocritical, seeing as how he works his “voodoo” behind the scenes for the most part…

    July 18, 2013 at 9:18 pm

  6. Did Detroit really file bankruptcy???

    July 19, 2013 at 4:03 am

    • Yup they did. Soon it will be states.

      On another note, I recall with fondness the first time Dio landed at the retreat to hole up while checks cleared and he could travel back to KY from the Coastal Patcom. I was more happy when he came back to stay for a few months. All I can say is he is welcome at the Double 00 at anytime.

      July 19, 2013 at 7:22 am

      • I would love to come back and I am sure that Voo would as well (He told me that he and that damned Roadrunner still have words to discuss. And he is soooo much wiser now, He would get that skinny bird this time!)
        Not going to happen for some time yet. At least until after I manage to get this stead built on my end.

        July 19, 2013 at 11:37 am

    • yes they did. Somehow, I think the world is unsurprised by that though. Kind of the “Duh!” moment in the uppermidwest/great lakes area.

      July 19, 2013 at 11:26 am

  7. wonderdawg

    Well, typed a long comment and it got gobbled up due to taking too long to compose…not gonna do again… but, I feel the need to state my side of story as I was in attendance of both Texas Patcoms and traveled several hundred miles each way for each event and at my own expense. The exception being while at the Coastal event, my alternator died and Bill Nye insisted it be bought with funds from the previous Patcom, I declined several times but he kept insisting so I accepted and I appreciated the offer, although I would not have been stranded otherwise as so stated by others. Dio and CC both installed for this ole man and that was also appreciated….

    I also was the one that suggested we send the raffle items on to China for his PATCOM via Dio and help with his travel expenses instead of holding a raffle between the 6 or 7 in attendance at the Coastal event. I was also the one suggesting Dio as the representative from the first PATCOM and help with travel expenses and their were no nays and all were in agreement. Since then, I have helped Dio and others in the community and will do so in the future as I’m able and inclined to do so,

    I don’t know why and frankly no longer care why Dio, Pickdog and I were outed several months back by Bill Nye…I thought the PATCOMs were a wonderful thing and fully support the cause, but these ego explosions or whatever has caused me to reprioritize my time and resources.

    I lived in Texas for over 30 years, my kids are Texans, I love Texas and the Texans, but I crossed the Sabine back to my roots and I’m an outsider now and and maybe even a gypsy as I travel with an ole dawg and a camper on my truck. NOT

    I wish nothing but good outcomes out of Texas PATCOM 2013 and all attendees….but I also hold Dio in high esteem and as a good and trusted friend. He has shown me no reason not too….His post as far as I’m concerned is spot on. That’s my story for what it’s worth.

    July 19, 2013 at 3:19 pm

  8. It was a pleasure to meet you at the National meet in Penn.

    I got out of blogging and even a lot of face to face contact here at home because people in the whatever you want to call it community just want things their way or the highway. Even the suggestion that the organize among themselves for themselves by themselves with no input by myself was met with, “your trying to take over”!

    WTF, Over.

    It is the main reason the Marxists are winning. Even the most foaming liberal is willing to subjugate their desires to further the collective goal. Check out the “anti-war” movement. Not so much as a peep out of them on Libya or Syria because it is “their” boy in the ‘house.

    Getting “patriots”, be them tea party or other types to work together is like herding cats. It will not end well.

    I have nothing to say about any of the people you a feuding with. I never met them, don’t care about them. Never cared for drama, an avoid it at all costs, because my time on earth is short and I don’t suffer fool gladly. Say what you will about me over the intertubes, I don’t give a fuck. There are very few people on this planet who I care about what they think of me, and none of them have a website.

    Best wishes Dio. Hope you find the peace and happiness you deserve.

    Toaster 802 formerly of Green mountains homesteading

    August 30, 2013 at 3:53 pm

Leave a Reply

