Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

catch up with me, while i catch up with the world

 

 

startt

 

And just what am I up to now?   LOL    Been busy as hell the last few days.   There are only a few months before the weather starts to turn cold, and I am not (was not) prepared for it other than having a wood stove for the camper.   Well, I had a couple of other issues that needed addressed as well, so in my usual fashion, It was time to kill a few birds with a buckshot load of energy.

First thing I needed to do was clear some trees for sunlight issues.   I was able to get a decent amount of sun for keeping the batteries tended, but only by cutting into my usage.   I was down to only using the laptop every other day and even then, I was dipping the voltages far lower than I would like.    So, down come three trees, move the RV forward about 25′, and re-level, then do something with those trees.

The above posts are not from those trees.  Those are from a mess of Locust trees that were downed by a local mining company about 5 years ago.  My Dad and I went out and picked up the whole lot of them but those 4 were cut to certain lengths for use as posts, not firewood.   The intent here, is a woodshed.   Not a huge one mind you, but measured out, I estimate that it will hold 2 cord or near enough to say boo about it.

 

 

IMG_0704

So far so good.   The only power tools in use are an impact driver for the screws (yeah, Try and drive a nail through seasoned Oak planks into Locust posts.  Go ahead, I dare ya!)   and a chainsaw.    Y’all remember my Compound miter chainsaw from Texas and the water tower right?    Well, its back in service for this job, but most cuts are pretty straight forward.

The top is all oak, poplar and something else, but haven’t figured it out.   The sheeting, that you can kinda see in the next pick is from an old above ground wading pool that someone pitched on the side of the road.    I hate it when people do that, but hey, it didn’t stay ‘trash’ for long, nor on the side of the road either.

IMG_0705There it is,  I am working on leveling the area under cover and then will put gravel there.  You can kinda see the woodpile I started from those oaks I removed earlier as well.   (it’s behind that smoke in the pic)

The smoke you see is a godsend.   Gnats are the worst pest in the world and they always want to be in your eyes.    That little smokey pile of old bluejeans and green cedar branches is the key to getting work done out here.  As long as that is smouldering away, no gnats, no mosquitoes, no sandhornets, no BUGS!   It makes for a productive and safer day.   You aren’t swatting at bugs with tools in hand.

Now.   Here is the real point of the post.

Cost of woodshed.

Nada.

Wood, salvage or tree timbers that only needed cut.

Roofing material: Scrap

Well, I will be honest,  there are a couple of costs.   Fuel hauling the wood, and the fuel for running the chainsaw.   The rest of it is all labor.    Not counting the gathering and sorting process, total time on the shed is roughly 10 hours.

And I didn’t need to get permission to do it!  (and lets be honest, why is it, that we should have to ask permission to build on our own property anyway?  And for those that want to argue the ‘merits’ of it, please hold your tongue, as your arguments will only show how beholden you are to the whole myth anyway.)

So, its back to swingin’ an ax and sawing up more wood.  But I have to say, God bless chainsaws.    I can’t even imagine cutting down trees without one. (and it blows my that they did it without chainsaws not even a hundred years ago!   Truly tough people then.  Much tougher than us nowadays.)

11 responses

  1. anonymous

    I agree, why should anyone have to ask for permission for building a permanent cover for a wood pile? The city and states are getting in everybody’s business. Several months ago, my wife was contacted by city who was requiring that her cattle water tank float valve required a backflow preventer (just in case water went the other direction back into water line). She asked them if she removed them, the issue was settled – yes. Not a big deal, as with drought, she has to go throw a hay anyway, so turning the water on and off isn’t a big deal.

    Still though – a water tank. Outside, open air, ground level. Not only do they expect a backflow preventer, they want to have us pay for a YEARLY inspection for it to boot. WTH . . .

    I have one of those big crosscut one hand saws and even 20 years ago when I used it to cut the trunk of a big downed hackberry tree, my tongue got sunburned – it WAS hard work! Dad told me to oil down the blade every now and again and it helped – a little. :^)

    June 21, 2013 at 12:09 pm

  2. OUTSTANDING Dio! That’s the sort of project costs I like. A little pocket change (which is about all I ever have available anyway!) and a moderate investment of sweat and time! Looks good too, great job. Thanks for sharing it with us Dio.

    Yeah I’m like you when it comes to people throwing things out on the roadside, really ticks me off. But if It’s something I can use in a current or upcoming project…it’s coming home with me. My wife used to think I was a dysfunctional pack rat, she doesn’t think that way anymore!

    June 21, 2013 at 12:21 pm

  3. Dio, I have getting electric power tools for the yard I hope to power via my future solar setup. So far I have an Earthworks rototiller, lawnmower, a small 18 volt battery powered cultivator and a 14 in chainsaw. I figure at the worse I can run them via the gas generator if the solar is not powerful enough. Just another idea for power.

    June 21, 2013 at 7:57 pm

  4. Wildflower

    nice looking rustic woodshed there!

    June 21, 2013 at 8:56 pm

  5. wonderdawg

    Looks good, add covering on 3 sides and will have close to what I’ve lived in since Oct up until a couple weeks ago when the dogs an a possum decided to have it out under my bunk..fortunately I was almost finished roofing the main structure and vacated the 3 sided dwelling at first light and said words over the now deceased possum,,,,Progress, little or large as long as it’s progress, anyone can sit and whine,,,,

    June 23, 2013 at 11:21 pm

    • Dannyboy53

      “anyone can sit and whine,,,,”

      Exactly right wonderdawg! Getting back to basics for 2 or 3 generations would do most people in this country some good although I figure some (or rather, a lot of them) would not survive. As I see it the main benefit would be (besides better health) they would learn to start THINKING for themselves.

      Accepting challenges and overcoming them will do that to people! In my opinion men like Dio make a good example of this.

      June 24, 2013 at 9:25 am

  6. Wildflower

    will voodooo get a doghouse so you can move into it?

    June 27, 2013 at 5:47 pm

  7. Spud

    Couldn’t tell by the photos , but have you provided for run off ?
    In my woodsheds ,I usually put runners under the first course of split wood to allow air and keep ground moisture out.
    It’s all good Dio !
    We miss your regular posting fer sure…

    July 5, 2013 at 10:12 am

    • Runners in front and on sides, back is on slope already. Bed of gravel 4″ thick and I am placing the wood on top of old well pipe to separate it from the gravel. As wet as it gets around here, even that may not be enough to keep the ground pieces dry. But, do what I can.

      July 6, 2013 at 11:04 am

      • Spud

        Should have known better than to even ask. Couldn’t see em so I had to…assumed this ain’t your first go round of such lol.
        Hell it took at least 5 cord up at our Idaho Homestead. Bit cooler and longer winters there tho.

        July 6, 2013 at 11:11 am

      • Recall, my house measures 8×24 currently. It doesn’t take much to heat it and that insulation (expanded foam type) really rocks. I just have to insulate windows, which are my biggest issue as they are single pane RV windows. Later, when the (real)House is built, I will have better, and likely, fewer windows to worry about, and more insulation in the walls and ceiling, while still only heating a small space.

        July 6, 2013 at 11:38 am

Leave a Reply

