Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Weekend of GrRRR!!!!!

been working on the Encryption thing with another Patriot, working out the bugs that reared their ugly heads.    I will be updating that page as soon as we get some successful communications going.   One of the biggest issues that we happened upon is the 32bit vs: 64bit processor.    Some items function just fine in 32bit, but are completely useless or nonexistent in 64bit.  That makes things interesting in how you can actually use the system, or how to actually receive and decrypt messages.

I am taking lots of notes and will get something a little more usable up as soon as I can.

Another aspect of that weekend of GrRRRRR: 7 days without direct sunlight makes ones battery bank weak.     I had one battery completely crap out and start pulling the entire bank down, even running the genny, I was watching the voltage drop.   Luckily, I was able to pull the battery and get it prorated.  It was only two years old and the replacement only cost $25.   Now things are starting to look normal, for lack of sunlight kind of normal.     I still want to set up a gas engine powered alternator.   That will be much more fuel efficient to charge the battery bank than running a generator for 120VAC to run a battery charger.   It seems like there are too many conversion inefficiencies in that latter process.

Ah, but a weekend of GrRRR followed by some damned fine country cooking on Easter Sunday?  Makes it a bit more bearable.

And all of this is just more water under the bridge of Prepevolution, par for the course in Prepology.     Of course, solar really is better in the southern climes, I know this so am looking into some other alternative sources.   I am going to have a large need of electric power in the future and I need something I can rely on: And I don’t want a Grid tie at all.   Still looking at adding wind to the mix and keeping the solar of course, but I would like to add microhydro in as well as we have lots of  moving water around these parts.   Not a prime location for it where I am at, but there are others near’bouts, that would do.   Maybe go into joint effort with a neighbor with a better layout for that.   On the down note there, part of the problem with the solar IS all that moving water: because this area is nearly Rainforest in nature.

Anywhos, I just keep on keeping on, as best I can and take the hits and roll with ’em.    Time may not be on my side, but I wont let that little issue slow or stop me.    Keepin’ on.   Talk laters.

5 responses

  1. Wildflower

    try building human size squirrel run cage hooked up to generator

    for texans to run in cage, try using a covered pit trap

    April 1, 2013 at 12:43 pm

    • Hell No. Not that I am above the idea, I just don’t wanna have to feed ’em!

      April 1, 2013 at 7:37 pm

      • Soffitrat

        Hey!

        April 2, 2013 at 2:13 am

      • Wildflower

        just feed texans with texans cut up and barbaqued

        April 2, 2013 at 2:17 am

  2. Lay off the squirrels!

    April 5, 2013 at 12:39 am

Leave a Reply

