Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Friday update, sorry for the lack of posts.

Alright, I guess I can fill y’all in on some of the ‘excitement’ I have had of late.

I essentially retreated home after the last group I was involved with went through an evolution.   Not going to be blame anyone person of that group for it nor go into great detail here.   Those involved know the score and that sometimes, things just don’t work out the way we would all like them too.

So, Retreating back to my property in Appalachia, I had a rather adventurous run.   what should have been a mere 8 hour trip (5 hours in the Jimmy, but the beast moves a slower pace) ended up taking almost two weeks.    While in transit through a large metropolis (thank Universe for that small favor!) the transmission burned out on the beast.   Through the grace of Universe, close friends, and a willing family, I was able to take care of that situation in such a way that was merely “a tad exciting” and not the high stress situation it could have been.   Oh, and just to inform some, YES, a GMC Jimmy CAN and WILL pull a 10.o00lb vehicle.  No, she didn’t like it, No, she didn’t really want to stop when needed, and NO, I didn’t exceed 25 mph in doing it; But it was the best course option available to me at the time to get the beast off the highway.  CheepChinee tow bars work amazingly well, and far better than a tow strap in this case.

So, There I was, stuck in a truck compound with a partially disassembled RV, a loaded SUV, and a VERY bored Catahoula Cur for a week while waiting for the rebuilder to finish his side of the job.    Obviously, not much to discuss other than the fact that I did manage to keep the Voo occupied enough to not eat the house from the inside out.

Now, as a dual edged sword, I would not have been able to accomplish the things I did if I had not met certain people through this blog and Patcoms, but on the other hand, I would not have been in the situation at all without the same reasons.   T’ain’t bitchin’, just observin’.      I would also be lacking some great experiences if I hadn’t made this journey as well.

Anywhooo’s, on with the trip.   Transmission installed, filled checked and adjusted; the Voo and I are rolling (not at all his favorite pastime, just so you know.)  I left out late evening, as I didn’t want my little caravan going through metropolis traffic hot times, and drove well into the night.   Stop and let the Voo mark yet another area in his wide open world and spent a few hours downtime before hitting it early enough to miss high traffic times in yet another metropolis.

So far so good.

40 miles away from my property, I started hearing this odd tapping sound.   Not constant mind you, just when I let off the throttle. and not at idle either, just on the decel.   I stopped for fuel, checked fluids, checked for anything loose, nothing seemingly out of the ordinary.

Long story short, by the time I pulled into my area, that tap had become a full on knock, and not just on the decel.   I was determined that, no matter what, the beast would make it home, even if I blew that motor.   Literally, by the time I pulled into my drive area, it was moving like it was powered by chipmunks, not horses.    The bottom end of that motor had come apart and the connecting rods are knocking around like loose bones in box.

It’s done.  Finished.  Kaputte!

And it will sit right where it sits until such time as I have my shop built and I can pull it out and rebuild it. (or, If I happen across a diesel engine, swap it for something more intune with that chassis)  I don’t need an engine to live in the daggum thing; Heck, I lived in it for months on end without need for an engine.  There are ways of taking care of those things that need movement.  I won’t go into detail, that whole 5th amendment/self incrimination thing.     Dunno if its illegal, but better safe than sorry.  One point that I am going to work on is making a gas motor driven alternator to charge the battery bank,  There are still enough cloudy days in our future to justify that, and a small engine will burn a whole lot less gasoline than the Onin on-board.   I so rarely use the genny for anything short of running tools, that I don’t want to run it just to charge batteries.  (and that Onin will later be moved to a permanent location attached to the shop as ‘backup’.)

I am now rambling.  My apologies.

Well, I finally managed to get a dozer on property to clear off the area I plan on building.   Rocks.   Lots’o’rocks!     But anyone familiar with S.KY is quite aware of the rocky nature of this area.  And in some ways, that is a good thing.  I can use those rocks for things on property.    That makes some things cheaper to handle, but tougher to handle for gardens.   Oh well.   Gonna take some time to get a garden prepared anyway so rocks are just one more thing to handle.

Onward.   Things are going to start getting busy in my world now.   I have a full year of efforts to make up for my running around the country.   My only hope is that we have enough time remaining to do so.   So, my order of actions are to get steady work/income,  Start getting the shop built so that I can get my tools online to start generating income for myself however I can get it generated, and then I will start to worry about solid foundation living quarters. (and no, I don’t want my living quarters to be a part the shop.   There are too many smelly (bondo and other epoxy’s)or smokey(coal in my forge/furnace) projects I get involved in that I don’t want it a part of my “Home”.)

Lots to do, maybe my status will become the focus of the blog; who knows, this blog has evolved several times, and will again.

(for the record, I am not taking donations to compensate for the losses I have incurred over the last few weeks.  I appreciate the thoughts to those that would offer, but I must decline.)

16 responses

  1. Wildflower

    at least you are still “living and kicking”

    March 29, 2013 at 8:00 pm

    • Spud

      I thought mebe you had done abducted and ate him .

      March 29, 2013 at 8:17 pm

      • Wildflower

        without a baked potato like you?

        March 29, 2013 at 8:47 pm

      • Heh! I am harder to track down that that! LOL gonna be fun to see what happens when they come lookin fer me.

        March 29, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    • won’t leave this world until I can go out like I came in, screaming and covered in someone else’s blood.

      March 29, 2013 at 9:20 pm

      • Spud

        The two of us might just be the finest meal an alien ever ate Wildflower.

        March 30, 2013 at 3:32 am

  2. Spud

    To thine own self be true Dio.
    Only one man you can trust in this sad old world, you face him in the mirror every time ya look into it.
    Keep on keeping on.
    Look forward to more reinventing of the wheel !
    I likes that !

    March 29, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    • we’ll see about that whole re-inventing the wheel thing. Shop first. I may put up the lawnmower battery charger project as that is going to be happening fairly quickly, seeing how my battery bank is taking a hit with all the cloudy days we have been having. Solar is great, down south, up heres above the Mason-Dixon, not so much. (wind would help, but not cover it all with my set-up, and that is in the works as well)

      March 29, 2013 at 9:19 pm

      • Spud

        Sometimes by reinventing the wheel , we simplify that which has become much too complicated.

        March 30, 2013 at 3:29 am

  3. wonderdawg

    Glad ya home, Safe and Sound….Just consider the last year a learning vacation….took me 30 years to make it back home.

    March 29, 2013 at 8:40 pm

    • Hate to say it, but I am still not sure I am “Home”. I will make where I am do, but home is gonna be a bit more tasking than just a property and a shop. Oh well, this is where a majority of my family is, I guess it will do for awhile. And I am still waiting on those pics you talked about so long ago,,,,, Hint hint

      March 29, 2013 at 9:23 pm

  4. wonderdawg

    Well ole brother, as you well know, the weather since 1st of year has been sucking to say the least….was hoping to send a startup, during and dried in set of pics…almost there, although wet weather due in for the next 3-4 days….by this time next week, if weather co-operates and the ole body too, I’ll finally have a roof overhead….I’ll take some more this week and send what I have with a narration and you can polish it to fit…..and you and the now 2, that Jacks back have a home anytime a bit further south….guarantee there is no rocks…maybe a bit of gravel and sand, but no boulders….

    March 29, 2013 at 9:40 pm

  5. Wildflower

    meanwhile good practice to keep workshop, even a woodshed in diffrent buildings seperate from the home dwelling

    excess stone might come in handy for “chucking” with a homebuilt trenchbucket

    anything built, do it right the first time. trhe romans built buildings, some still in use today

    and ditto be said for their roads…..

    and a lot of my relatives live in kentucky….. start to sweat yet?

    March 30, 2013 at 10:10 am

    • “and a lot of my relatives live in kentucky….. start to sweat yet?”
      not really, seems a lot of people have meandered out of this area and left relation behind: self included only I am back now. Just don’t start quoting ‘squeal like a pig, boy’ and we are all good.

      March 30, 2013 at 1:35 pm

      • Wildflower

        try “moo”

        March 30, 2013 at 6:46 pm

  6. Take care of Voo and he will take care of you.

    April 1, 2013 at 1:20 am

Leave a Reply

