Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

The Sickness, and rolling stones,,,,,

And the snow is blowing again.

Not that this is serious or anything, it only means that I have a period of “Get it done NOW” followed by a short time of “Hurry up and wait” while the weather clears. Not much to do when things are buried in snow and that period of hurry hurry is just getting things buttoned up so that nothing gets damaged or lost in snow, along with a stocking of the wood piles so that heat is available in places it is needed.

Yeah, I know, stock the wood on a daily basis and that won’t be an issue. The problem mostly arises in my lack of space to store wood in the camper. I can put enough aside for three maybe four days, but if I want more, I start cutting into living space and functionality. I have some outside, but I really don’t like using it too much as it isn’t seasoned to my liking, and is hard to burn. Worse comes to worse, it is there though.

But my morose feelings come back to something that has been making its rounds the last week. I initially saw this in an email, now it seems to have gone viral.  (and I wasn’t going to post about it as there are many others doing so, but it is relevant to my points here)  The “No Hesitation” Law Enforcement targets. I am sure you have seen it somewhere on the nets: No, it isn’t a hoax. Sick is the lightest term I can come up with for them. Claire put it rather clearly when she stated that no matter how a shooting would go down, LE would be exonerated ‘following protocols’, EVEN if they were have been found to use these targets for programming practice.

Why lie about it. I am sick of this shit. The Testicle Squeezers Affiliation having more Felonious personal on staff being in charge of ‘our security’ in airports (and soon coming to a transit system near you, to include the major highways) Blatant criminals in positions of power and I shouldn’t need to illuminate them as their actions speak far louder than my typed words in a dusty corner of the interwebz.  And now, blatant training tools.   I know that SCOTUS has stated that Police Forces have no responsibility to protect individual persons, but this shows just how far that evolution of separation has grown.   (Protect and Serve WHOM? is the real question isn’t it?)

And I could pull out far more examples of (as Claire puts it) how Certifiably Insane this country has become. While I know it isn’t the majority of people in this country, the examples are far more intrusive than should be allowable. Honestly, How did SHIT like this advance so high in our society, that it is now in control of the levers AND entrusted with ‘protection’? I don’t get it.

Nor do I have to like it.

And I don’t like it.

I am certain that you don’t either.

But what are we to do about it? Shout at the halls of power for “redress of grievances”? Seems that has been going on for sometime now and the whole she-bang is always minimized, marginalized, and ridiculed by the media on up. IF it isn’t out right ignored!

I have stated recently, that I can’t wait for the collapse to happen. I near wait with baited breath for that day so that the reset can begin in earnest.

I am probably not alone in that aspect.

I know that there are hazards with that process, and the vacuum that remains will quickly attempt to be filled by something, not always better than what left. I know this, and yet, I think anyway, that it really can’t be that much worse either. Maybe I am delusional with grief over watching the country I love being dismantled in my lifetime, I dunno. BUT, I do think that the trials and tribulations we see forthcoming are going to weed out many of those so weak, that they BEG for the insanity we are witness to now.

Fuck it. I say let those that can’t be bothered with basic functions like self defense or personal security , just drop dead. Maybe I am harsh and uncompromising on that take, but hell, I don’t like supporting parasites even when the types that ARE parasites; like ticks and fleas, for example.

Now I am NOT stating that we need to go out killing off those that would be leaches on society. Not at all. I figure if they are cut off from that source, they will do a fine job of killing themselves off, or setting the stage so that they get killed off by those that DO understand self defense and self security.

(Pause for sanity’s sake)

There is one thing that I still look forward to. It may never come to be, but it gives me a goal to work towards, even in the face of adversity. I want my shop and home built, and I want it set up in such a way that I am part of the community that others can turn to. Nowhere in that dream is it mandatory that I do the above, all on my own, with the exception of that house. The house needs to be more than a 24×8 RV. Preferably something with a foundation under it. And where it comes to be is beside the point, so long as I can garden and set up my shop/foundry.

Listen to me. Pipedreaming again. Maybe if I had started on this 10 years ago. My only regret in that regard is that I was pretty dumb about things like the economy and politics then. Oh well. Never look back, except to glean the lessons learned. Just keep moving forward, and maybe the moss won’t catch you.

So, while the snow is in my way, I won’t stop my efforts. I have things to do, and while none of them ‘corrects’ issues in the world as we see them, they will correct issues in the world immediately around me, and THAT is all I can do at this point in time. That will hold me until such time as I can make a dream reality, or the moss catches up to me.

8 responses

  1. Wildflower

    you just do with what you got. my shop is fulla discards reused for workbenches, tool drawers, storage, ectra….

    was going to be diffrent in the begining but as fortunes changed; forced to do it with salvage, discards, and other misc finds.

    as for the RV, go incase it with insulation and wood, add a roof, then add a shed to it

    there was for many years how people admire this encentriuc rich fellow on a log cabin in the certer of a magnificient mansion only to learn this cabin was the original home built and the rest asdded on over several generations

    maybe someday marvel at the “rv” “built into the mansion”

    only time will tell

    February 22, 2013 at 12:01 am

    • Need to keep it mobile for now, but the core parts will become parts for the house. Good appliances inside etc. Then may turn the box into a mobile machine shop, who knows. Open to whatever rolls down the pike when that time comes.

      February 22, 2013 at 9:03 am

  2. We just got fiber laid along Cleveland. Where that little, old, gas station is?

    February 22, 2013 at 2:34 am

    • Ack! I would so like to buy that place but not at the price the little ladies want for it.

      February 22, 2013 at 9:04 am

  3. anonymous

    I can’t believe I saw this either, those targets need to be brought to light to the media. Not sure they would do anything, but if this isn’t alarming, I don’t know what is.

    Wood pile – I saw a place in country where someone had piled their wood to form a small patio fence around the perimeter of their bar-b-que pit. Fire wood was but a few steps away – it was already cut and split for pit use.

    I’m a little jealous of your winter weather, I think it froze ONCE this past year, a few overnight hours and that was it. South Texas has very mild winters, but brutal summers – it’ll kick your a$$ if you aren’t careful or acclimated.

    February 22, 2013 at 8:24 am

    • Well, it is in the media, just not mainstream. The link I gave is alternative media and of course the gun bloggers are running with it as well.

      My dad used to do that with the woodpile in Ohio. Big outer wall of wood piled up three layers deep and that way he didnt have to clean snow off between the basement where the stove was and the wood. As the winter progressed, he would get thinner walls of firewood, but more seasoned as well.

      Actually, I went from your tortured summer to this weather all this year. Was outside of Austin/San Antonio area for the hottest parts of June July and August. Now here and acclimated again. My body ain’t real happy about it and even the dog occasionally gets that look of “what the hell were you thinkin?”
      We’re acclimated now and of course spring is right around the corner with the humidity of summer right behind it.

      February 22, 2013 at 9:12 am

      • He only does that (the look) because he’s a coonass! You never did tell me what they were asking! I’ll try to find out.

        February 23, 2013 at 1:52 am

  4. I think we are going to get our reset soon enough. Stay safe brother! And give Voo a pat for me.

    February 24, 2013 at 7:43 am

Leave a Reply

