Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

a little trip down memory lane.

I don’t dwell in the past, but there was a name that came to my fore-brain today that merited investigation.

The internet is a wonderful thing and extremely scary as well.   The information that you can find at your fingertips,,,     Well, lets just say, it would be very easy to, and is very easy to find  pretty much anyone or anything you need.    Hell, I know this and it still trips my shit up.     One of the ‘projects’ we had while in IT school was to find information about ourselves.   It could only come from online.   The level of scrutiny that can be applied to one person, at the click of a mouse, continues to amaze me.

For the record, no Shem, I am not stalking you.   Just recalling things from the Hill St. Coffee house and some very beautiful artwork by a very beautiful person.  Not like you will read this, but I haven’t forgotten those days.   Thank you.

Obviously, that last was for one persons eyes only.   But I have to think about all the people that we touch in one lifetime, the reflections we make in their lives, influence; good and bad.   I don’t know how much good or bad I have carried in my life: I rarely look back, and usually look back only to learn over the lessons needed.   I never retrace my steps. (though I do look back on occasion)

I don’t know if that is a negative aspect or not.  I am the eternal gypsy, and the road calls to me frequently.   Hell, the road was my home for many years, tour bus here, fly there, I saw the backside of many venues across this great nation.   (and I still have no clue what the front of some of them look like   😛  )   The third or fourth time around, I never knew what day it was, but I could tell you what city we were in by the dock we were unloading on.  It made for a long boring existence, but one that I will never forget.  Many good things took place on that road, and I learned a lot.  I met many great people with skills that still blow me away.

It’s a very small world as well.

“Seven steps to Kevin Bacon” is in reality, seven steps to anyone in the world ever.    Maybe not quite seven, sometimes more, but there really is not that much distance between all of us.

SO, to not sound too melancholy, and I know I am right now, I would like to think that everyone that has read my blog has at least one positive point that they carry away from it.   I hope that you all can carry that positive point on in your lives and adapt it so that your influence is positive as well.

And watch out what you sign up for on the net’s, no telling what kind of association you set yourself up for, or what database you will end up on.   (and I am so screwed on that note, being a blogger)

3 responses

  1. Wildflower

    internet is an unreal world that can drive one insane

    FACEBOOK is a definite example and so is TWITTER

    just turn off the internet in your house for a week in a home fulla teens

    rest my case…..

    February 8, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    • And have an armed guard nearby to keep them at bay! They would be at each others throats in less than 24 hours!

      February 8, 2013 at 10:21 pm

  2. Or just put them in the chili pot, WF.

    Don’t remind me, Dio. Hell! All of us are screwed. It’s just that most don’t know it yet.

    February 9, 2013 at 5:07 pm

Leave a Reply

