Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Building an insurance policy, are you?

I have been putting some thought into things of late and the book review the other day only added catalyst to that process.

This post goes out to all those that are prepping, but prepping to “split” when things get tight. I realize that up and moving is not feasible for all that are in cities or large suburban areas. Thinking that things will get ugly is part of what motivates the prep mentality, but have you thought past that “gettin’ outta Dodge” part? Hopefully yes. Much of what I have seen of late is a resounding ‘no’.

With that thought in mind, the rest of this post is about what kinds of preps you need to concentrate on BEFORE things get too far gone. The biggest prep you need to work on in that location to where you will bug out. Are you helping those at that location get things together NOW? Even if its only a weekend a month, are you putting time in to get things together? Are you moving some of your preps to that location, so that you don’t have to sweat it when the ball drops and the party is upon us?

On the flip side of that thought, if you aren’t doing the above things: do you really expect to be ‘welcome’ when you show up after the fact? I am not saying that you would be turned out, but don’t expect a warm family welcome if you haven’t been putting forth any effort, OR you are showing up with little to nothing to offer as tribute. Tribute being supplies or skills, or even just a solidly functional working human to do heavy lifting. Most groups that I have been near or around are getting things done; even if that ‘something’ is preparing a storage/cache. Some groups, such as the OVM are leaps and bounds ahead of others in preps and preparedness for when ‘the rule of law’ is no longer even a bad joke.

Prepping is a full time occupation. Some people such as Jamie, Snake, and some others are really far ahead of the game. And while I can’t speak for Jamie, I have seen in two instances, where the prepper is overwhelmed with the extent of what needs done. Organization is important, but so is labor. There are things that take time and effort to accomplish: You can’t just get this stuff off amazon and call it good. Food stuffs need rotated, seed stores have a shelf life, planting ground needs conditioned, storage buildings need pest proofed, work shops need maintenance, etc etc etc. These are not things one person can handle completely, and if they do manage to ‘get it all together’ without outside help, you can be certain that when the family arrives looking for a warm welcome, they are going to be in for a shock with the ‘where were you when the sweat was pouring’ attitude. Granted there are some persons in that scenario that this doesn’t apply to, and they are typically military (not able to prep with near continuous deployments) or the like. But they bring to the table skills and mindsets that most can’t even comprehend.

A quick example (not whining, just using myself as an example) My days are not idle. Firewood needs tended, fires need tended. Fuel tanks need filled (Genny and Kero heaters) Water may need to be hauled if the stock tanks are frozen. Stocks need to be monitored to insure we don’t run out of anything. Currently, with the winter on us, I am not dealing with gardens or chickens yet, but that time is coming soon. To boot, the dog tends to want to be apart of it all and is not necessarily helpful. (even when Jayne is here, they may have ahunderdsumpin acres to play on but they want to be right there underfoot.) And there are the projects that are lining up even now. I can’t run the forge except during good weather, and that is on hold until the shed can be completed to house those items. I can’t do any casting as yet as we have not setup the riddle bench, nor do I have the flasks built to hold molds. Some projects are on hold until the building is finished and that is being heldup by weather, not labor. There are somethings that need attention around here that are labor issues, others are weather issues, and some is just dependent upon factors outside of our control. Much of it is for lack of sufficient numbers of hands.

Using that example, when things go all third world on this continent, labor is going to be the prime currency. Best get that into your prepper mind now. There is a reason that farmers of old were up before the sun, and worked until the light was too weak to see, then worked on inside factors if they needed. It was a full day, not just 8 hours then kick it back. Those days are going to be coming at us soon, and it will be worse if you aren’t set up in some way in advance. Just having a plot of land to run to is NOT enough. There are levels of preparation that need to happen to make it functional for when you arrive. Being there to do that or assist those that are there to do that will pay dividends later on, when nothing else is paying squat.

So, where does this lead the article. Do you understand that things are NOT going to get better? That our economy is propped up by NOTHING but a promise and wishful thinking? Do you understand that when “Law” is no longer recognized by the people and TPTB, than the criminals will be the ruling class in the larger populaces?

I certainly hope so.

Things will get much harder, and not preparing for it will make it that much harder. For those looking for a spot, there is cause to recruit people to our area. If you think you are such, and are around the Bloomington Indiana area, shout out for a meetup. This is not a Citadel as such, but for similar reasons. We are looking for good people, hard working people, that want an insurance policy in place for when the inevitable comes about. People that can come out a weekend or two a month to help get things in place for that time. People that are willing to invest what they can into a community looking to survive and thrive in hard times. Farming is doable, other skills are as well. We have a functional machine shop and are working on blacksmithing facilities, foundry and other metal working needs. There is more here, but I can’t go into it all without blowing security: the above is stuff that I have talked about in other posts on this blog. If you are interested, contact my email and we can make arrangements for the vetting process. Yes, there IS a vetting process: don’t take it personal, as there are similar arrangements in all the other groups as well. Even the Citadel project has a vetting process in place (though I think that one is more monetary in nature.) Fair warning, we are not looking at setting a militia. We are looking for fighters, but not to go out and ‘pick a fight’, only to defend those points that need defending. We ARE looking for people that want to work, to be free, and work at being free. We are also trying to keep a low profile to keep off the radar as long as possible and the reason I haven’t reached out stronger before.)

Now, I just read the WRSA conference (though I am not willing to wade into 217 comments just yet) and while it is in-line with this article, it is not the basis of it. I leave my opinion on the whole constitutional this that or the other thing on hold until such time as I might find to discuss it without distraction. What I do know, is that this government is AT WAR with us as you read this. I have no illusions of that anymore. And if you are honest about it, you don’t either. One need look at the blatant dismantling of the Constitution to understand that we mean jack except as revenue providers (IE Slaves). There is only one solution to that: Escape. Get away from the system that would suck your lifeblood out of you and set up outside of it. Not everyone can do that, I understand, but you can prepare your liberty train all while ‘getting along’ so that when the time to bolt does come, you can, and without fear of rejection on the receiving end. The real question you should ask yourself is; “How much time do we have before it comes apart at the seams?” No one knows that answer, not even those setting the game table up for when this war goes hot. They just don’t know, and its obvious by the fact that they are willingly trampling over all rights and duties to hobble the people as much as they can. Whether that hobbling is by taking the guns or taking all of our income through clandestine theft (obammy care ‘penalties’) or just driving our work environments to extinction, their actions show a level of desperation; they know the time is growing short.

So, do you want to take the risk of not having a safety net in place when the plane finally hits dirt?

Give me a shout and lets meet up to talk.

12 responses

  1. Dio, you give some of us much to ponder upon.

    Reposted.

    February 7, 2013 at 6:25 am

    • Gotta think outside the box we build for ourselves or we will likely miss options. Ponder away, but then act.

      February 7, 2013 at 5:15 pm

  2. Dio, I kind of approached preparing differently than most because I knew with my handicap I would need help. So I had to up my “value” in order to stand a chance at survival. I then had another shift in attitude when I started becoming self-reliant and getting tools adding water collection, solar enegy, garden and working on a green house.
    I would prefer to bug in if possible but I’m also getting the RV ready if I need to bugout. Being adaptable with your plans is very important and if one thing doesn’t work out you go to work on the next goal. Jan. and Feb. this year I had planned to get stuff for reloading but since the guns and ammo panic I just shifted to my 7 year food plan and getting rain barrels and a greenhouse. You can’t afford to panic or get tunnel vision. Just take a breath and see what your big goal is and keep working on it.

    February 7, 2013 at 2:54 pm

    • Adaptability is key to my preps, and being mobile has been a big factor in it. Considering one of my tools weighs in at over 500#, that mobility can be elusive, so my plans have to be able to adapt as needed.
      The point of the article was focused on people that see what they need to do, but get overwhelmed but it all. That whole “how do you eat an elephant” analogy zooms right by them, so they end up doing nothing. I am extending the offer out with the blessing of other members up this way. I know that you aren’t anywhere near where you could join up: but there are some near here that could. I would like to disclose more, but for security reasons,,,,, That kind of information would be made available after and during the vetting process as needed. Its not like we are building anything illegal, but there are just some things that don’t need to be made public either.

      February 7, 2013 at 5:25 pm

      • I was very lucky where I settled here in Idaho. I live in a great little neighborhod with several gardeners, folks that brew beer and have chickens. While some of my family are sheep I think they can be trained. Idaho is very old school and a bit odd with a high religous as well as Libertarian population. I can drive about five miles and I’m in farm land. About the biggest problem is a lack of Petroleum refineries or producers but we are really well off for Hydro-power and geo-thermal in the southern part of the state. It’s not a perfect place but overall it’s not a bad place either. Last year we had the EBT system be about 16 hours late on paying. Idaho doesn’t stagger filling the EBT cards. My Mom went shopping at the local megamart on that day and had no problems with people freaking out even though they were a little annoyed they were still polite overall and no riots, pushing, shoving or trampling of people.

        I somtimes got a bit scared at times perhaps a bit of panic over what the PTBs might do or wishing I had more time and money to prepare but I don’t think I felt overwhelmed since I started my goals for the year list. I have no idea how bad things may get or how long bad times may last. I figure keep working on it and that extra bag of beans, rice, grains or can of soup might make all the difference. You won’t explode and die on the 91st day if you have stored 3 months of food. At 6 months I saw a big difference on how I could shop and take advantage of bargains/sales and the next 6 months of prepping became not just cheaper but a lot easier and that gets you to one year of prepping all basic needs.

        I’m going really long term 7 years of stored food. For 1 person I’m just adding another four 55 gallon drums and I have already bought the first “drum” at the local farm store for $23.00 and over 200 pounds of grain for about $80.00. Sure I’m going cheap and I will have to clean and grind the grain myself, but I get to eat for another year for less than $100.00 out of pocket today. Divide the year that is grain for 3 months for a family of 4 for $80.00. I’m not a parent but if I could store food and keep my families little critters fed for 3 months on an average cost of less than $20,00 per month. Damn skippy I’ll spend the money even if the parents won’t for whatever reason they have in mind. I don’t want to see a kid starve just cause the parents are morons or sheep.

        February 7, 2013 at 10:13 pm

  3. Wildflower

    it is difficult when living amoungst a population of idiot zombies to build a co- op or collective of survivors to make a surviviable community thrive in uncertain times

    but approach it as a buisness where you temp hire somebody and find them willing to stay and do more, one can create a tribe of doers and makers

    in the long run you will have to develop many vectors to fill supply and demand for the group, be it for internal use or outside barter trade; so running your group of gilligans as a buisness collective makes better profit for all those involved..

    February 7, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    • I swear at times that you have probes stuck in Voodoo somewhere! Yes, there are certain ventures in the works to generate income now and for the future when all of this world goes to the crapper, but nothing I can discuss at this time. Some ideas never took off due to Labor intensiveness or materials needed, but others are growing as this blog moves along. This is NOT just about a retreat, but growing community and commerce for when all else fails.

      February 7, 2013 at 9:40 pm

  4. Some of the stuff is borderline illegal. I don’t sell my beer but I make good beer I trade for work. I suppose I’m a bit of a loose nut and the PTBs can come after me and try to make an example of me if they wish. But I’m damn low on the economic food chain and if they snatch me up they will have to deal with my Mom first and then my Dad. That’s all the back up I need. Hell we all got to die someplace, I may have to use my walker or wheelchair but I’ll go out heads up and putting rounds down range.

    February 8, 2013 at 12:09 am

    • With all the regs and rules, many of which are departmental in the FedAgencies, I think that most people are borderline illegal on a daily basis. I don’t believe there is any way that one person can know all of the laws to abide by, and even if they did, they would be locked up the loonie bin just for trying.
      I figure, I will keep a low profile and do what is needed, and then similar to you, if it comes to it, go out fighting, kickin’ and screamin’ the whole way. Not a ‘cold dead hands’ type, but not far off the mark either.

      February 8, 2013 at 8:41 am

  5. Wildflower

    probes in poor voodoo? that be sick…

    besides easier to stick one up a human and from various sources you got over serveral million microprobes in you

    you didn’t think am the only alien around, did you?

    besides voodoo likes to keep tabs on his pet, go bark boy….

    February 8, 2013 at 12:30 pm

  6. wonderdawg

    Dio, if you don’t mind I’d also like to do a reachout for liked minded individuals in the MS/La border area near Hattisburg or Columbia area, you can put them in touch if you don’t mind….you know me and what/who I’m looking for….1st requirement, must love dogs.LOL..had a beagle join my flock of flea catchers last evening and has made himself at home,lol..

    February 9, 2013 at 9:53 pm

    • No worries, I haven’t had any responses yet, but I will send some your way if they are in that area.

      Another flea catcher? I have been lucky with only having the one, but he is quite a handful as is.

      Your comment has me thinking about something, but its not gelled up yet. I will mail you with something here soon to see what you think.

      February 10, 2013 at 12:41 am

Leave a Reply

