Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Book Review time

A brutally honest review of

Getting Home by Alex Smith.

I want to preface this review with a quote from the first chapter.

“This book has been written for the individual who has limited to intermediate knowledge regarding disaster preparedness. It was written in a manner so as to not overwhelm them with unnecessary jargon or lengthy, technical descriptions of items. The goal is for this material to be short, concise and easily understood.”

With that quote in mind, this book hits the mark. There are sections of the book where I disagreed with the author on premise, but not because he is wrong, only that the points no longer apply to my level of experience/training.

One key point that continually comes up in the book is to consult with experts when in doubt. This goes hand in hand with my call to “Practical App”. Book learning is fine, but it can NEVER replace practical experience. Consulting with an expert may not be practical app, but it beats running on blind faith or trusting unguided instinct.

Now, I was contacted last night at the last minute about some typos, that I had found, but were far better than I have found in some books coming off the Amazon press. Nothing that can’t be waded through, and I was told they have been fixed as well. I have to take it on the word from Alex that this is so. Either way, it wasn’t a ‘deal killer’ for a purchase.

Now, I would not suggest this book to a hard core prepper. The information is far too basic; as quoted above, that is the intent of this book. This book is intended for people like those that were caught with their pants down by Hurricane Sandy. Of course, information after the fact is moot. I would recommend getting a couple of dead tree editions to distribute amongst people near you that are becoming aware that things ‘ain’t right’. Like all things of this nature, be prepared for endless questions from those on the receiving end of the gift. Even this book tells them to ask questions. (always good advice) There is enough good information within for someone to struggle through in the learning curve without major stumbling blocks. On that note, the opening paragraph nails it.

All in all, well written, easily read (yeah I read fast, always have, but even a slower reader will find this a comfortable read.) and solid information. There are some points where the author and I diverge, but that is from practical experience in my own world. One of those areas is in ‘cheap knives’. I would suggest, and highly suggest at that; the Mora Knife line as a point of investigation. But I digress.

As for a recommendation on the book: like all tools, it has a place, and that place is in the hands of a novice looking for a panic free insurance policy*. In that regard, I give this book 4 stars.

 

 

*Shameless Personal Plug  Bwahahahaha!

 

 

3 responses

  1. Thanks for the review. I agree with all your points above and there are some great cheap knives. Mora’s punch above their weight, to quote our fearless leader.

    I specifically recommended quality in some instances because I was afraid that some in my target audience might take certain advice (i.e. – do your due diligence on inexpensive products because there are diamonds in the rough) to extremes, and might choose to grab a $1 walmart knife, 25 acp, a mesh jansport backpack and some red bull, and consider themselves disaster proof.

    Dio and his readers probably aren’t learning anything new, but their sister’s, best-friend’s, brother-in-law hopefully will.

    Again – thanks and glad you liked it for what it was!

    February 4, 2013 at 11:09 am

    • No worries. I thought exactly what I wrote. For the record, my EDC is a Mora MG, Swiss Army Ranger (the one with the saw blade) and a Gerber 400 Series. I also carry a scout firesteel with a piece of PVC that holds a PJ soaked cotton ball. And if I go away from the site, I always have my walking stick that I made and that has several tools built into it or attached to it. Each of my jackets hold extra gear as well to include emergency blankets etc.
      I agree, there are too many ways to short change oneself in preparedness and not realize it. I did so with my boots over the last year and I am suffering for it now. Yes, high dollar footwear is worth the extra ducks in the long run. (and I envision the scene in “Book of Eli” where Eli found the Doc’s on that corpse and his dancing a little jig in happiness)

      Oh, and whats this “fearless leader” crap? I lead no one except myself! Keep that up and I will edit this to some fictional account of ,,,,,

      February 4, 2013 at 3:54 pm

      • Alex Smith

        I thought that would rile you up. ; )

        February 5, 2013 at 3:12 pm

Leave a Reply

