Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Round two, Dio vs Gear

Well, I ended  up back on the gear today anyway.   I tried to break the generator housing free from the engine, but was defeated by engineering and time.    First up, why the hell would you make an engine so that to do ANYTHING inside of it, you have to completely dissassemble the whole thing.    What ever happened to inspection plates, or pans, or, well, you name it: to ease the mechanics job.

OH, thats right, DISPOSABLE SOCIETY!   We aren’t supposed to work on things or fix them, we are just supposed to trash it and buy new, Otherwise, the entire economy would collapse upon itself if anything were made worth a fuck.  (yeah, I get a little bitter about shit like this.)

(breathe)

Alright.   I had to fix my rotary table first.   That was simply cutting a tapered plug and drilling it to accept a 1/4-20 allen screw, and drilling it so that the head of the allen screw would drop in flush.   I then tapped out that metric thread to 1/2-20 (was an M4 so I had plenty of room to ‘grow’) and fixed the danged cheap tool.   Works again.  Nuff said on that.

Here is where I am drilling out those 32 holes.   You can see where I had started drilling yesterday, and you can also see that it wasn’t concentric to the center.  All due to the table walking out of that center and the reason I broke the drill bit.Drillin 1

Ah, Now we’re cooking with wood and charcoal.      While the rotary table is not accurate enough for some of the projects I have in mind, it is plenty accurate enough for what I am doing.    And it was under $100 so I don’t expect it to jump through flaming hoops like I would if I had purchased one of these.

Then it was time to chuck it in the lathe and get to those holes from the side.

I do love a 4 jaw chuck.   More of a pain in the butt, but accuracy is much easier to achieve than with a 3 jaw.   3 jaws are great for quick and dirty stuff where you just need ’round’ or ‘flat’ or both.

Showing where I cut out the blank to the drilled holes IE Gashes to guide the hob while cutting

Showing where I cut out the blank to the drilled holes IE Gashes to guide the hob while cutting

Tomorrow I will part that off the hub I cut it out of.   I may start hobbing it then as well. but I will have to cast the housing for it to attach to the lathe.   Tonight grew too short for the bosses liking.     Damn if that dog doesn’t know exactly what time it is and the squirrels schedules.     And if I forget  or get delayed?   Oh you KNOW something is getting destroyed out of sheer boredom.    He has me trained very well.    Even chasing Jayne around all day in a hormonal (but unloaded) fit doesn’t disturb HIS schedule.   Oh no,   and he will get his walk and squirrel chase, come hell, high water, deep snow, or apocalyptic zombie assault.

 

 

6 responses

  1. Doncha just love working on a machine that was clearly designed by someone who’s never had to scrub grease out from under his/her fingernails?

    I’d like to think that there’s a special place in Hell for them, but I won’t hold my breath.

    January 22, 2013 at 7:57 pm

    • I recall many a conversation in the shops that went along the lines of “If I could get my hands on the designer of this POS, I’d,,,,,,” use your imagination for the rest. LOL

      The thing that really burns me is the recent (10-15 years ) trend of product overhaul. They build something, and you buy it but when you need replacement anything for it, “that product is discontinued, you’ll have to buy the new model” INSTANT reversal of product loyalty. Sadly, it is no longer just a handful of companies but seems to run the entire selection process.
      Maybe there is a special place in hell for them, but I doubt it. They don’t go to hell, they just get recycled. I am thinking that is why we see so much of the good ones going away to never return.

      January 22, 2013 at 8:46 pm

  2. Wildflower

    wait till the day their cars break off a windsheild wiper or blow out a bulb and the only solution is to buy a new car

    more fun on the road to hell

    January 23, 2013 at 2:13 am

  3. Glad to see you’re back on track! New stuff is pretty much junk. My assistant and I were moving a new washer an dryer set up stairs,seems they always go Up stairs Ha ha anyway now on the newest ones the dryer actually weighs more than the washer? Thats a first.Glad your boy is up an at !

    China
    II

    January 23, 2013 at 7:55 am

    • Yeah, some of the newer stuff leaves a lot to be desired in my book.

      January 23, 2013 at 9:56 pm

  4. It’s called “Planned Obsolescence”, and, it’s stupid. My 94 year old father calls it “Modern”.

    January 24, 2013 at 10:05 am

Leave a Reply

