Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Have I told ya how much I hate winter?

Yeah, yeah, I know, I am neglecting my blog.   It’s been something on the order of 5 or 6 days since my last post and I should be flogged for such insolence.   *sigh*

Yeah, winter sucks.   I think we all agree about that little detail.    My week has been spent with a convalescing dog, Bone shattering cold then balmy spring sweeps followed by bone crushing cold.   Makes for a challenging time when you are heating your domicile in such a primitive manner.

During that balmy spring sweep (that lasted all of about 8 hours.  8Hours too short of time) I gathered up some foam insulation sheets to ‘skirt’ the Beast.    It won’t do all to keep the house warm, but it will stop a large amount of air flow under the beast and that (hopefully) will slow or stop the pipe freeze ups I have been dealing with.   Yeah, I could go ahead and tear the back half apart and actually get to the offending pipes and insulate them.    And eventually I will.  It just does not strike me as tactically sane to do so,seeing how tight my living quarters are now.   I don’t want to have sections of wall taking up critical floor space while I go about my business.   When the weather warms up, I can move those sections outdoors under the awning and really get down and dirty with the renovation, without putting myself out of sorts doing so.

Nutshell: I deal with freezing pipes for the season. Blah!

SO? Are ya all enjoying the ping fest coming out of the Mouth of Mordor (the district of criminals)?     The more I am watching the headlines, the more and more I am seeing the pings of tactical recon.   I am also seeing some headlines going the wayside of Economic Currency Wars starting to take place.   Oh, But Dio, that is nothing,  THEY’S COMING FOR THE GUNZ!   Unhuh, They are.   I won’t deny it.  BUT, before or after they collapse the system?   Timing is critical.   Don’t just watch the hands reaching for your guns, you had better watch the tentacles reaching for your wallet and retirement funds as well.  It all is part of THEIR game plan.  The pings we are seeing are just testing the waters to find the best course.(for them obviously)

Road sign: Hard Right and slippery conditions ahead.

I would suggest at least one weekend living without grid power or mainstream comms just as a test of your preparedness.    Shits gonna get heavy and if you don’t have your bugs worked out, they will bite your ass when you least expect it.   (personally, I think one weekend is not enough time, but start there.    Just like getting in shape needs to be done incrementally)   This maybe the time when you find out just how on board or not on board your SigOthers are.   This may be a situation where you need to put a lock on the breaker box to force the issue.   It’s all up to you of course: it always is, and always will be.    I can only offer suggestions.

The reason I suggest that is due to a gut feeling I have.   I don’t think we are going to see a bug out situation perse.   I am thinking this is going to be a bumpy but controlled crash sequence.   The Dems and Cronies don’t want to deal with outright civil explosion; they can deal with unrest, but explosion will fuck up every plan they have.   In the words of Remus,  Stay away from crowds.   If you are in the city, start getting out now because they will be the hot spots.    As for the gun grabbing, I think that will be out in rural areas or lightly populated suburban areas.    The cities will be able to do ‘buy backs’ and will see compliance simply due to people being hungry or cold or sick, and needing the cash.  (and yes, I do believe a majority of those that have been grabbing up the guns and mags recently will be the first to comply.)  The actual successful grabs will be played like fiddles by the MSM’s and the few cases where hard targets go down shooting will be played as well.   Everything to feed the agenda seems to be the name of the game with the MSM’s of late. (side note, I doubt current criminals will comply ever, for obvious reasons.  Besides, they may be dumb in career choices, but they aren’t stupid.  The real criminals know the power of a firearm against unarmed people.    Shows the level of ‘leaders’ we have now doesn’t it?)

Anywhoo’s   I have a Generator sitting in the shop that needs rebuilt before the backup Genny craps out.   And working inside a warm building sure sounds much nicer than sloggin it out with this bitter cold breeze that won’t go away.   Talk ta y’all laters.

11 responses

  1. wonderdawg

    Not been bitter cold here, but has rained since 1st of the year, all the rivers out of banks….today suppose to start clearing for a week or so, lot to catch up after a month of downtime…glad the Voo healing…

    Ready to go dark for a few weeks again, get more done, than worryin about what others are or aren’t doing..all the puffin up and chest thumpin so zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

    January 16, 2013 at 2:12 pm

    • Not going dark here, just busy and keep getting distracted by little projects and learning curves. Been putting at least a couple hours a day in with the lathe; either in learning or cleaning up years of goop that’s gumming up the works.
      Keep the fire burning for Rufus and his new buddy (named yet?)

      January 16, 2013 at 6:43 pm

  2. 55six

    Reposted some of this brother. Keep warm and hug that dog for me.

    January 16, 2013 at 2:46 pm

    • Cool Hope it leads to some outside the box thinking by some.

      January 16, 2013 at 6:40 pm

  3. Wildflower

    in six montha be summer again

    why you settled there if you hate winter is a wonder

    but then you are only human…..

    January 16, 2013 at 4:54 pm

    • Well, seeing how Joel at UATK’s is suffering even colder clime than here, anywhere in CONUS would be similar. (Exceptin’ Floriduh, but they has other weathers that are even more despicable, like needing rebreathing gear in the height of summer due to 180% humidity and mosquito swarms)
      and yeah, Only human: we bitch about a good time if it isn’t perfect in our minds eye. LOL

      January 16, 2013 at 6:40 pm

  4. Dio I hear you we have bouncing on 0degrees overnight and up into the teens during the day and my heater seems to be going just about all the time. I’m going to grab my propane mr. heater and turn down the big heater to try and save some money on my power bill.

    January 16, 2013 at 6:42 pm

    • Can’t say I miss my power bills. I still have them, but on a more personal level: I highly recommend it. Heat is a thing where if I get lazy, I get cold. Something of a paradox but being more responsible for my own needs, not relying on an outside source, has made me far more self conscious of what my needs are. And I find I really don’t need as much as I was used to having. I have also found that by reducing my living space footprint, simple things like lighting and heat are easier to scale down as well. Heck, other than the computer and a couple of small fans for circulation of heated air (one is a computer fan blowing warm air into my ducts for the water pipes.) and my water pump (on demand so low cycle rate) I use very little energy. I heat with wood, light with kerosene (which also provides some heat and a gallon of kerosene keeps me in lights for over a month) and I don’t stay up ‘Too’ late so my time in need of light is pretty slim. (and I don’t need it all when on the ‘puter) Last month, I supplemented my heating by using the stove top a few times and even so, 15lbs of propane lasted me two months. (much cheaper to run a 15lb tank than 15 1lb tanks and its refillable) Sadly, my freezing problem is just that, a problem, and one that I can’t fix easily due to the nature of how the pipes are routed in the Beast. That is subject to change and come better weather, a plan is in place. I will also make the Beast more livable for me in the process (no more crick in my neck taking a shower) even though I am going to kill any resale value of it. Not like I am going to resell it anyway. The appliances are slated to go into my shack when I finally build it.
      I know you have issues that force you to rely on outside sources, Jamie; I am not trying to give you a rough way of it. I truly wish better for you; you have been a big help for many others stuck in that rut of ‘its too much to prep (both monetarily and physically)’ and deserve a break.

      January 16, 2013 at 11:50 pm

      • No worries dio, I’m quite aware of my disability. Why do you think I work so hard to have stuff and skills for trade. I know what I am and what I can offer a tribe and why I am working slowly on my own tribe. I am an average looking chubby little white girl at first glance. I take solace that Audie Murphy wasn’t all that much to look at at first glance in early 1942. It’s not the size of the dog in fight that matters, it’s size of the fight in the dog. Trust me when I say I can be one of the meanest bitches in the fight.
        Who gives a crap about fair. I could piss and bitch and moan that I got disabled in the military and couldn’t make 20 years. Or can whine about getting an incredibly rare disease and lost nearly everything because I couldn’t work for over 8 months and SS doesn’t start until 6 months of disability have passed. Or I can be thankful I survived. My parent’s floated me loans for my basics and I have almost paid them back. Or while it doesn’t say much about my basic intelligence. I did wake up and got busy when I was forced to wake up.
        I doubt very few folk could have accomplished as much as I have in the last few years with my budget. That’s not arrogance I hear them all the time about they just don’t have enough money or because I’m disabled it’s easier for me…? Huh. I used to mow my lawn in an hour now it takes me two days. I’m not whining, but I doubt things are easier for me physically compared most non-disabled people.
        My handicap is my physical body and a bit inconvient with a few needed work arounds and time I get by. Their handicap is their minds and spirit, I suppose in away they are right they have made themselves slaves and serfs. I am a free person endowed by my creator with the liberty and freedom.

        January 18, 2013 at 12:53 am

  5. wonderdawg

    Buddy, Rufus’ new buddy,lol…seems I’m always callin him that anyway or obscenities,lol…

    January 16, 2013 at 7:27 pm

Leave a Reply

