Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Into the new year update

Been quiet the last couple of days, not for lack of things to say (HA! Actually, nothing to say that others aren’t already saying) but for busy-ness and lots of cold weather.

We still have quite a bit of snow on the ground here, and will into this weekend where the weather liars are saying that its supposed to warm up for a few days.   God knows, I won’t mind a bit if it does.   I have been warm enough, as has the Voo, but this RV is not intended for sub-freezing weather.    The last couple of days have been challenging with frozen water pipes.    I can usually keep the kitchen sink clear, but that means water sitting at nearly freezing level.  No biggie, cat baths for me, cold water for the dog and coffee doesn’t mind what the starting temp is as it has to be heated to perk level anyway.   It does mean that I have been burning a lot more wood and propane the last few days though.

The problem is simple in thought to correct, but not simple in man power.   IF I go to fix it at this stage,  I am going full bore and rehabbing the rear living quarters of the Beast.     The previous owner (or the one prior to them) damaged the rear wall of the Beast backing into something.   They fixed it by putting a large (and expensive) piece of diamond plate aluminum across the back wall.  Both water pipes (cold feed and hot return) pass right on that wall with no insulation between them and the wall.   I can see them there, but can’t reach them.   I will have to pull all the bathroom apart to get to them and fix the problem.   I could just pull that diamond plate off, except for the fact that it is an 8′ X5′ section held on with liquid nails and many many many screws and about 2 tubes of clear silicon sealant.   Much easier to pull stuff out inside (warmer too) and it will give me a chance to turn my shower into one more accommodating  of a 6’2″ person.     Another project will be to move the storage tank (fresh water) inside under the sink and microwave so that it isn’t exposed to these freezing temps either.    So far, I have been lucky on that one though yesterday and today gave me worry I had an 18 gallon icecube.  (I have it thawed out now and made a return to the tank.    I have it dribbling in to keep water moving through the pipes and that is heated up in the hot water tank.   Should be good, as long as the batteries hold up.)

Voodoo had a Vet appointment today.   Other than the wuss’ carsickness issue, he did great.   No Heartworm (a silent concern of mine) and is now up to date on his doggie vaccinations.   And next friday, he loses his boys.   He isn’t aware of this yet, and even on that day, he won’t be aware of it.   Part of me is feeling a tad guilty for doing it to him, but there is that other part that knows his hormones are going to lead him to massive amounts of trouble if we don’t ‘nip’ the issue soon.    Heck, he is already looking for massive amounts of trouble with Jayne.   (Gawd, those would be some ugly pups.  Blue eyed floppy eared G-Shepard mix!)

Not much to add to the fray on all the Fecal Cliff horrors, or DiFi’s intent to make us all humble serf’s, or the Hubris and Hypocrisy of Bo(eh)ner’s ‘acceptance speech’.   All I can say is what is on my mind: The system is beyond broken and a complete overhaul is the only solution.   TPTB can do whatever they want at this stage, but I think a great majority of the U.S. population is going to just ignore them.    I would like to see a major tax revolt this year where EVERYONE ceases paying to the charlatans, but I won’t hold my breath either.    Let ’em pass that gun law snafu, I know I will ignore it, and I believe a good majority of those I have met last year will as well.   Leave the form 4473 as the only paper trail for the BATFuckinsanE troop to search for us newly designated criminals and see how well that works for them.   I would like to think that most rural community cops are on our side.   I doubt central city cops are.

Anywho’s, tomorrow is gonna be a busy one.   Snake and I are heading into the big city to pick up an 800+lb anchor of a tool.    I may put up pics of it AFTER it is installed in the shop.   Time for me to bone up on some skills that I have not had a chance to work with to date.   More on all of that later though.   I hope everyone’s new year has started out as boring, or more so, as mine has.

6 responses

  1. Wildflower

    sounds like another rebuilding job on the van

    if the pipes are good you might try spray filling foam

    as for the pup when it adds 2 +2 it might go and take out yours

    January 5, 2013 at 4:52 am

    • Yup, lots of spray foam and injected insulation going to be taking place back there. And a little shuffling of stuff to make it easier for my lanky frame to utilize. (that shower with my head cocked to one side gets kinda old.)
      Voo will get over the loss of the boys. He may want to take it out on me, but I am bigger than he and he has found, unpredictable and fast! He knows who the alpha is in the house and it ain’t him.

      January 5, 2013 at 9:47 am

  2. You won’t be bored for long. I think that everyone is starting to focus in on a March date, if nothing else takes place between now and then. Just too much shit to keep it from happening this time. That date is starting to look more realistic by the day. Ask the vet if you can take ’em home. You can then bronze them. Of course, you better also get ready for some snide stares from your house guest. BTW, he hasn’t learned how to use a knife yet has he? Maybe, on second thought, that isn’t such a good idea…

    January 5, 2013 at 2:55 pm

    • Nope, not able to use a knife yet, but those dew claws are wicked tools enough. Not sure I want to keep something like that around, even in jest.

      March sounds like just about enough time for the fools to get all the pawns in place (and riled up and hungry) You may have a good time line. I was thinking July with the heat and the drought to exacerbate the issues at hand. No matter what, I think we have until Jan 20 before we see anything even start to kick off. I am sure ‘the one’ doesn’t want his coronation, I mean inauguration, to be spoiled by such silly things as the pol’s taking it into their heads they can revolt or anything.

      January 5, 2013 at 4:35 pm

      • Soffitrat

        I agree with the inauguration thing alright. The Kenyan is quite a fella. No? I could expand, but someone might not like it.

        January 8, 2013 at 12:20 am

      • Wha?!?!,, You worrying about someone not liking something you have to say? Oh, shocked I am, Shocked I say.

        January 9, 2013 at 9:06 pm

Leave a Reply

