Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Amused, with a potential disturbed.

No politics, just an observation about our increasingly inept media.

I was cruising through the Drudge when I spotted this article.   Seeing how it mirrors (foggy and blurred mirror mind you) my own situation in the world, I had to see what was being said.

Knowing that there are tent cities all over the country, having seen a few firsthand, I notice that there extremely LITTLE coverage of such information.   LITTLE to the point of being non-existent.

Then we get that whole “unemployment at 8%” crock after they reported how many jobs are being cut or being cut back in hours and yet,

yet,

Every thing is just hunky-dory and you can go back to fighting over that 42″ flatscreen at Wallyworld and have a merry Christmas.

So I sound a tad jaded?   Of course I am, I am aware of the facts.    Like that guy in his canoe, I have made a life decision to simplify my living conditions.   Granted, mine are a whole world more complicated than his as I have mechanical items and the like to deal with.    Even plumbing.   I almost envy his simplicity.    (just a side note, Reading that article, some of the mans statements are not reflective of my ideals.   I know better than ‘wishing self-esteem’ on people.   That is something that needs EARNED through education and experience.  )  But then, my tools are a bit more complicated and require a lot of horsepower to haul around with me.    I could abandon them, IF I were so inclined, but I think I will hang on to them for old times sake (HA!, Like I would abandon my paycheck!?   NOT!!!!)

I keep seeing so many reports of ‘raising taxes’ and fiscal cliff, and all the other hoopla.   All of it is designed to keep  los borregos dentro de un corral.

Sorry, to dump it out on a site I swore would only be about sufficiency.   It just disturbs me that so many are sucked in and I needed to vent a bit.

But I am amused that others are seeing ‘escape in plain sight’ as the only option left.

10 responses

  1. Spud

    Ya , ain’t it strange that they report only 8% unemployment yet there are statistics out there stating that only 56% of working age men are fully employed. Don’t quite add up do it .

    December 6, 2012 at 10:11 pm

    • I fear that the 4th estate of politics is our worst enemy. Seein’ how the media is totally in collusion with TPTwB, getting the truth out is that much harder for such as we.
      Despite the fact that a vast majority are willingly in denial because the truth is just far too painful to accept, the feces is going to slam into that rotary air mover. And then, well, anyone’s guess as to the after effects is probably a good one.

      December 7, 2012 at 3:09 pm

  2. Craig Cavanaugh

    The canoe guy rocks, other than that “self esteem” crap. I have often thought of fitting out Keep It Sailing Stupid with a poly tarp tent…

    December 7, 2012 at 2:10 am

    • And that is essentially what the beast is to me, my escape. And when I finally get around to building, it will be the basis for my ‘shack’ with all the plumbing and appliances including the woodstove. (and that cuts the cost of building, in half or more, right there)

      December 7, 2012 at 3:06 pm

  3. Wildflower

    we live in a dangerous time full of official bullshit in an economy that sucks our lifeblood well
    on the brink of a possible bloody revolution that will lead to a world war

    who needs the mayas?

    December 7, 2012 at 3:24 am

    • Not all of us. As I told the spirits last night, I pay taxes when I purchase stuff, or ‘make my legal dues’ IE, plates and registration.
      I like knowing that, for the most part, what I earn, I keep, until I decide not to keep it anymore. And when I get rid of it, I am gaining something else, either material or fuel(for self or ‘hicles) and all of that gets me a little further down the way.
      Its going to be a painful fall for a huge majority of this country/world. I have set myself up for a quite short fall IF I fall. Easy enough to get back on my feet and keep moving.

      December 7, 2012 at 3:12 pm

  4. Who needs the mayas?

    Sounds like a good title for a new book.

    December 7, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • Maybe the alien can write it. I am not that much on long prose, at least not typing it out.

      December 7, 2012 at 3:15 pm

      • Still… it’s hard to stay in the shop. Ain’t it? Politics are hard to ignore these days.

        December 8, 2012 at 5:45 am

      • Wildflower

        me???????

        December 8, 2012 at 7:47 am

Leave a Reply

