Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it – no matter if I have said it! – except it agree with your own reason and your own common sense.” – Siddhartha Gautama, a.k.a. the Buddha

Tooling around

Tooling up, tooling out, and just havin’ a good time figurin’ and scraping.
Neighbor of Snake’s brought over an ol New England Firearm’s Pardner 12ga single shot break barrel over with a sheared firing pin; basically wondering if it were worth playing with.
Hey, I am always up for a challenge.
Well, Firing pin is out, and its a dinky lil’ thing but shouldn’t be an issue in makin a new one. Sacrifice of an old drill bit for the rod to cut it from (after removing any temper in a slow fire in my cool ass wood stove overnight) and I will get busy shapin a new one.
The question I had was “what would have caused it to shear off like that, besides age and wear and tear?”.
ah, that was the trick question of the week. there is a lot of play in the forward hinge and that extractor was kicking out and riding the face of the lower receiver. I will see what I can to do reduce that slop in the hinge and hopefully the extractor will start behaving itself. I would really hate to have make another pin soon after ‘fixing’ the gun.

Side note: This shotgun is pretty neat, but I can tell, just by handling it, it is a recoil BEAST! My lil’ Henry lever action weighs more than this shotgun. Plus, it is chambered for 3″ shells and straight bore for slugs. WHOMPF! My shoulder already aches just thinking about it.

Just for those curious, yes, I will retemper the pin after I get it ‘carved out’. I will only be doing one machining operation to make it and that will be turning the pin itself. Everything else is going to be done with grinding stones in a dremel. Once done, tempering it is pretty straight up, heat to cherry, quench then polish and temper to straw color. After all is said and done, blue it and install, test. (and that is where I am gonna feel the shoulder again.) Funny, recoil from a rifle doesn’t phase me or even intimidate me. I guess my run in with my Dad’s ol’ riverside, side by side when I was a wee-one, lingers in my memory hole. Remember kids, two triggers on a gun, pull the rear one first, or you are gonna have a fun time riding that gun to the ground.

6 responses

  1. Wildflower

    might sugest two firing pins be made so one has a future “spare”

    December 1, 2012 at 2:56 am

  2. Was my first question were ya gonna retemper it? Ok carry on.

    China
    III

    December 1, 2012 at 3:37 am

  3. Ben C

    I’ve got one of those H&Rs with a moderately short barrel, and a 3.5″ chamber and interchangeable chokes. It weighs about 4 pounds, so the factory put a steel bar in the stock to heavy it up a little. It is under the recoil pad, in the hole bored for the stock screw. It runs the full length and fits snugly between the stock screw face and the recoil pad so that the bar does not shift around under recoil and build additional momentum. Something like that may take some of the sharpness out of the gun.

    December 1, 2012 at 4:58 am

    • Don’t want to modify the gun, just repair it. IF I were going to own it, that would be an option but the guy that owns this one really likes it the way it is, minus the broken parts, so it stays.

      December 1, 2012 at 12:33 pm

  4. Spud

    Finally got around to getting that Williams Sight for the Marlin, also got the Fiber Optic front sight to go with it. Sweet !

    Have an old Stevens 22/410 over and under. It will not fire. The firing pin indents the primer on both 22 and 410 but does not fire ! Could it possibly be the hammer spring or what do ya think O master of the gun smith tech….Nice old gun in mint condition , would like to see it run.

    December 2, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    • Can’t go wrong with the Williams site. I have had both the Williams and the Tang mounted flip up (can’t remember the name on those.) I prefer the latter but the Williams is less likely to get bent or knocked out of adjustment.
      As for the Stevens, find a gunsmith. If it is similar in function to my late brother in laws Stevens, that firing pin cracks and gets all sort of play in it. Same thing happened on his and would give a good indention but no bangy bangy.
      But of course, be prepared to pay and make sure you get the old part back to verify that there was actual replacement of parts. Saw a few guys screwed that way so the gunsmith could talk them out of fine rifles.

      December 2, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

